Film Reviews by Rubber Ducky

Welcome to Rubber Ducky's film reviews page. Rubber Ducky has written 192 reviews and rated 208 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The New World

Boring

(Edit) 08/12/2006

Had to give up on this I'm afraid. The sets were technically accurate and the backdrops beautiful, but it was just sooo boring. Pace was much too slow and in the end it just got rather irritating that nothing really happened.

1 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Illusionist

Good film with some great acting

(Edit) 06/12/2007

Giamatti is superb as the noble policeman trying to be loyal and Sewell clearly enjoys himself as the nasty bad guy. The main story is about a magician and his rekindled romance with childhood sweetheart Sophie. Some clever illusions which are explained at the end. You will probably guess most of it, but it is nonethless entertaining.

1 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Atonement

Historical drama

(Edit) 04/12/2007

Keira Knightley's society girl falls in love with James McAvoy's intelligent, but working class, character. They have a very brief affair before younger sister, Briony, makes up all sorts of stories about him. The plot continues into the second world war and is quite moving but also brutal at times. The denouement, with Vanessa Redgrave playing an elderly Briony, is absolutely stunning.

4 out of 6 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Starter for 10

Brought back happy memories!

(Edit) 26/09/2007

Enjoyable comedy about a naive working class Essex boy who goes off to Bristol university to study English. As a kid he was obsessed with 'finding answers to questions' and his extensive general knowledge lands him a place on the University Challenge team. I found the soundtrack really enjoyable and the film brought back memories for me, as I was an 80's student. It's not a startling film, but neither is it boring or plotless. One of those to smile along to I think.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The King

Slow, not really engaging

(Edit) 15/11/2006

Didn't like this very much. The story was slow and most of the questions brought up by the plot were left unanswered. The main character appears to be totally amoral and it wasn't particularly enjoyable spending 2 hours in his company.

1 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Pierrepoint

Quietly shocking

(Edit) 28/01/2007

Superbly acted look at the life of Albert Pierrepoint, which tales place between the 1930's and (I think) late 50's. A seemingly morbid tale, it is nonetheless fascinating to see how Pierrpoint goes from 'national hero' to 'immoral butcher' as society's thinking about capital punishment changes. Timothy Spall is absolutely brilliant and the end of the film is shockingly tragic.

2 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Holiday

Lovely romantic comedy

(Edit) 25/04/2007

I really loved this flm, and so did my husband. It revolves around Iris, a journalist who lives in Surry, and Amanda, who owns a company in LA which makes movie trailers. Both are competent, verging on workaholic, and both have unhappy love lives. Iris's story is all about the unrequited love she has for her colleague, played caddishly by Rufus Sewell and in the same vein as Bridget Jones's Daniel Cleaver. Amanda's partner has cheated on her as she is always working and he feels neglected. They meet on the internet and exchange homes for 2 weeks to get away from their current lives. Amanda promptly meets Iris's brother who seems like a drunken playboy/ladies man at first but all is not as it seems! Iris gets involved in the local community and meets a cute, funny colleague of Amanda's. The beauty of this film is the adorable characters, who you just want nice things to happen to. It's gently funny too and a real feel-good movie.

4 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Prestige

Enjoyable thriller

(Edit) 08/05/2007

A story about rival magicians set in Victorian London. There are numerous plot twists and turns to keep you interested and the ending is awesome. Thoroughly enjoyable performances, especially from Jackman and Bale. Bowie plays a batty scientist well too!

7 out of 10 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Crash

Modern classic

(Edit) 02/09/2006

Absolutely stunning. I was totally captivated throughout the entire film by the brilliant performances all round and the gritty realism of the story. Even Brendan Fraser carried off his role well! Essential viewing.

1 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Spider

Pyschological drama

(Edit) 18/03/2007

Powerful perfomances from an excellent cast. The story centres around Ralph Fiennes charcater, Spider, who has been released into the community having spent a long time in care. OK but not excellent, as the story plods at times.

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mr and Mrs Smith

Awful

(Edit) 26/04/2008

We really hated this. We found the 'humorous' approach to domestic violence extremely offensive and would advise people to avoid it at all costs.

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Minority Report

Masterpiece of modern science fiction

(Edit) 13/11/2006

An absolutely brilliant science fiction thriller, with a plot in the here and now. It's the old story of ambitious cop sets up some one in authority, perhaps as a way in to his job, or as a way to save his own. It may be a classic story line, but this has a very modern twist. In the future, people are arrested before they actually commit the murder that they will carry out, as it is foreseen by some psychics (Pre-crime). The use of Technology is fantastic, as are the special effects. Tom Cruise plays the part of the cop who is set up admirably and Colin Farrell does 'nasty' really well. Our teenage children found it as enthralling as we did.

1 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Walk the Line

Entertaining for fans and non-fans alike

(Edit) 13/11/2006

I knew very little about Johnny Cash before watching this film and wouldn't have bothered if it had not been for the recommendation of my 17 year old son! I am so glad I did. I found the whole story absolutely fascinating, from the troubled childhood, with tragedy that haunts him for the rest of his life, to the hey day of his career. It was really interesting to see how his music had an effect on, and was affected by, the politics and societal trends of the time. Reece Witherspoon was outstanding as June Carter, for whom Johnny falls, and Jouqain Phoenix played the man with intensity. Both could also sing well - an added bonus. Even if, like me, you are not a big fan of country music, I am sure you will fnd yourself tapping your foot and singing along to the well known tunes. Definately worth a look.

4 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Brokeback Mountain

Engaging drama but a bit over-hyped

(Edit) 26/04/2008

The two leads are certainly fantastic actors and very convincing in their roles. The sweeping landscapes are spectacular and shot beautifully. It is a fairly uncomfortable film to watch though. The gay sex scenes are quite graphic.

2 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Pan's Labyrinth

Superb film making

(Edit) 15/05/2007

A fairy tale for adults, and it definitely is for adults as there are some scary bits and graphic torture scenes. It is about a young girl called Ophelia who's widowed mother marries a sadistic army captain. She enters an unexpected fantasy world through an abandoned maze/labyrinth in the overgrown garden of her new home. Here she meets Pan, whose motives for befriending her are unclear. There are some good special effects and the writing/directing team's imagination is brilliant. Ultimately it is a tale of standing up for what you believe in and not being bullied by the big guys.

3 out of 4 members found this review helpful.
1234567891013

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month