Film Reviews by Brummie

Welcome to Brummie's film reviews page. Brummie has written 12 reviews and rated 16 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

I, Tonya

WOWED BY TONYA.......

(Edit) 28/09/2020

SNOOZE RATING:- ZERO! Definitely a 6.0 from my wife and it’s a 6.0 from me. Loved it, starts kind of slowly, but after that it completely nails it. What a life that woman had following her dream. If you watch one film this year, DO watch this one. On the one hand it is insane what her Mother, her husband and his friends do to this woman and she is no angel either, but it makes one hell of a story, plus it’s based (perhaps loosely??) on true events. None the less it is wonderful! Never found the language that awful to be honest and in any case it fits in with the story. If it was all ‘pleases’ and ‘thank you’s’ it just wouldn’t be believable!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Joker

Masterfully acted and produced

(Edit) 17/09/2020

Entertaining, grips your attention and a shame to see it end. No snoozing in this film! A pleasure to watch although rather a dark film. Certainly not ‘The Joker’ one recalls from watching when the Batman series aired on the TV.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

First Man

Highly snoozable...

(Edit) 17/09/2020

Dreary, slow, interminably boring. Maybe just not my type of film, but let’s just say, I think watching paint dry might be more entertaining than this!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Green Book

Uplifting

(Edit) 17/09/2020

A thoroughly heart warming film. Wasn’t sure if I was going to enjoy it at first, but I did. Excellently cast, very thought provoking and highly entertaining.  You will have to have a heart of stone not to be moved by this film. I have started to rate films by whether they hold my attention enough to stop me going to sleep when watching them and I am glad to say that I kept fully awake when watching this one and so on that basis, it gets 5 stars from me and 5 stars from my partner as she didn’t have to poke me in the ribs once when this was on! 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Through Lotte's Lens

Don’t mention the war....

(Edit) 28/03/2020

In view of the lockdown we are currently experiencing, this makes one realise how hard some people's lives have been through no fault of their own and how to survive and ultimately ‘grow’ as a result. A gem. 

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Tunnel

Bruce Willis eat your heart out!

(Edit) 28/03/2020

Despite the subtitles this is an excellent and gripping film. The main character is a dead ringer for Bruce Willis. Thrills come quick and the end is as nail bitting as the exit from Stalag Luft 3!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hannah Arendt

A slow starter

(Edit) Updated 29/03/2020

At first I struggled to enjoy the film, I have to admit. For me the best bit of the film was towards the end when Hannah gives her lecture and explains about the banality of evil. I rewatched that part several times to really understand her thinking. I enjoyed Barbara Sukowa’s portrayal of Hannah, as she really captured the “ballsy” way this woman reacted to her critics. Very thought provoking and like the previous reviewer, I will read more about this woman.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Downton Abbey

Not a patch on the tv series!

(Edit) 28/03/2020

I tried my best to like it, but once again, it is very much a ‘snooze’ film. It starts well, but slowly runs out of steam and so did my concentration and ability to stay awake. I really do believe it would have been better for Dowton Abbey to have been remembered for the good TV series and not to have produced this film. Shame. Having said all that, my wife liked this film, so perhaps it’s a film that appeals more to the fairer sex rather than men, where we expect a bit more to keep our attention rather than the slow pace that this one ambles along at. Because my wife like it, I have given the film 3 stars.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

78/52

A homage to Hitchcock...

(Edit) 11/02/2020

If you have any doubts about Hitchcock been a truly great film director/ producer then you MUST watch this! Yes at times it can seem a bit tedious as the various talking heads give their analysis of the film Psycho, but at the same time it is perhaps deserved that a film as good as Psycho should have this amount of time devoted to it. The film also devotes a lot of time to shower scene particularly as that is ultimately the best part of Psycho. After watching this film you will marvel at Hitchcock’s devotion to detail and yes, you will want to watch the original film again - just so that you can see what the talking heads were getting so worked up about! If ever you wanted proof of films being an art form in the correct hands, then this film must surely answer that question. You will most likely also want to watch a lot of the films mentioned in this film - I will!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Red Joan

A “snooze” masterpiece....

(Edit) 21/01/2020

I have only one word for this film - BORING! Don’t bother with it! It has superb acting by Judi Dench and Ben Miles but apart from that I am just so so glad we didn’t go to the cinema to watch it. I fell asleep after half an hour and woke to see the best bit which is when Joan is interviewed outside her house, by the press. Sorry if that spoils it for other people but it is just so not worth watching.

1 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Resistance

They survived to tell the story

(Edit) 19/12/2019

I found the film fascinating, so if you have an interest in this period of history, I don’t think you will be disappointed. You can tell that the film has been made on a budget with the use of recorded film instead of recreating some of the scenes, but all in all a good film that held my interest. The acting is very good and certainly helped draw me into the characters.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Christopher Robin

If you enjoy Norman Wisdom you may enjoy this!

(Edit) 19/12/2019

Okay it’s not a Disney classic, but it had me laughing at some of Pooh’s antics. In a way I don’t think it’s a film for young children as I don’t feel they’d understand what is meant in some of the dialogue - I think it would go over their heads. I am 65 and have been to the hundred acre wood portrayed in the film with my children, and I have to say I enjoyed the film. Nice not to have violence. It’s not overly long so I didn’t find it boring. May be one to watch at Christmas as it features children.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month