Film Reviews by MH

Welcome to MH's film reviews page. MH has written 46 reviews and rated 43 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Assistant

Not even worth one star

(Edit) 21/11/2020

I'm with the haters on this one - boring and tedious. I've never seen Julia Garner in anything else, but on the evidence of this film I would say she has no idea how to act. All we saw was the same blank, shut-down expression the whole time, no matter what was going on.

Real waste of time. I wish I could ask for my money back!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Death at a Funeral

Not patch on the 2007 version

(Edit) 11/11/2020

Why would you try to improve on a really funny, excellently acted and directed film (the 2007 version) only 3 years later? I can only suppose because this version is racially diverse and therefore 'woke'. Not to discredit any of the actors, but this is no competition for the original.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Diary of a Nobody

Excellent example of the genre

(Edit) 23/10/2020

If you appreciate this style of entertainment you will love Pooter. The writing is brilliant and Hugh Bonneville delivers a tour de force performance which is, in many ways, superior to any of the Alan Bennett 'Talking Heads' plays - even the first productions, which were vastly better than the recent versions.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wild Rose

Disappointing

(Edit) 23/10/2020

The Scottish accents were so thick that I scarcely understood a word. It might as well have been a foreign language film. Julie Walters seemed to have mastered the accent brilliantly. Boring story about a narcissistic would-be Country music singer who, sadly, couldn't sing. And the songs were sooo boring.

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Murder on the Orient Express

Oh dear oh dear

(Edit) 23/10/2020

I assume the director was aiming for comedy. Sadly he missed. A great cast wasted on a stupid plot and sub-standard direction. But I have always thought Agatha Christie is a vastly over-rated writer, so perhaps it was ultimately her fault. At least Albert Finney was an improvement on the dire David Suchet.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Schitt's Creek: Series 1

Infantile

(Edit) 23/10/2020

I was really looking forward to this as I enjoy American humour and prefer it to British, but it really wasn't funny or witty or in any way worth watching.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Bleak Moments

Not for me

(Edit) 23/10/2020

Sorry, I just didn't get it and found the characters either obnoxious (Hilda) or boring (Sylvia), and when I realised I couldn't care less what happened to them I switched off. Not a fan of Mike Leigh.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Love Liza

Seymour Hoffman is amazing

(Edit) 23/10/2020

What an incredible actor this man is. A brilliant performance in a very bleak and really not worth telling story. I rented it because I always feel he is worth watching, but the plot was just too unremittingly bleak and I had to give up and switch off.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Bound

Give it time

(Edit) 23/10/2020

It took me a while to get into this and see where it was going, but I'm glad I persisted. Convoluted plot that doesn't really come together until right at the end, but it's worth the wait. I nearly watched it a second time, and then realised that knowing what would happen would tend to spoil the experience rather than enhance it. Recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Thomas Crown Affair

Pierce Brosnan is brilliant (and hot)

(Edit) 23/10/2020

A vast improvement on the Steve McQueen/Faye Dunaway version. There's lots of chemistry between the leads and the plot is ingenious.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Blast from the Past

Good harmless fun

(Edit) 23/10/2020

A silly premise but well-handled by the lead actors. Rather slow-paced but altogether an undemanding and enjoyable entertainment.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Razzle Dazzle: A Journey Into Dance

A good try

(Edit) 23/10/2020

Unfortunately it's all been done before, and 'Strictly Ballroom' did it infinitely better. Ben Miller did his best, but wasn't really suited to the part. I wouldn't waste your time on it.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Charles II: The Power and the Passion

Great way to learn the history of the period

(Edit) 23/10/2020

Rufus Sewell is terrific as Charles II and the series is interesting, absorbing and entertaining. As Big Bob says, the history is not too inaccurate and gives a good idea of what actually went on.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Detectorists: Series 1

Dire

(Edit) 23/10/2020

That's all I have to say about it. I recommend you waste neither time nor money on it. I gave it time and was not rewarded.

Why can't I give it no stars?

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sorry We Missed You

Gut wrenching

(Edit) 16/08/2020

You'll never view a delivery driver in the same way again. Or complain about one. This should be compulsory viewing for everyone who orders goods online for home delivery.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.
1234

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month