Film Reviews by None

Welcome to None's film reviews page. None has written 21 reviews and rated 264 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Treasure of the Sierra Madre

Fantasic acting, average film

(Edit) 28/08/2008

I had previously read some spectacular reviews about this film and its accolades include it being ranked number 30 on the AFI greatest American films and it winning 3 Academy awards; I however was not captivated by it.

I do appreciate that the acting and cinematography, in the films time (1948) would have been quite astounding, however nowadays in my opinion it seems quite average. The plot is interesting and there are a few laughs and shocks along the way, but I just never got interested enough. From all the rave reviews I have read I am sure there will be many people disagreeing with me. The one commendation I can make though was the acting, especially Humphrey Bogart who really stood out, especially one scene towards the end. To summarise, the film was average, I recommended it to fans of older films and definitely Humphrey Bogart fans.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sleepy Hollow

Watch your heads!

(Edit) 03/09/2008

Being a massive Tim Burton and Johnny Depp fan, I am quite biased towards their films, however after Ed Wood, this film is one of my favourites. The film begins in 1799 and detective Ichabod Crane (Johnny Depp), who a man of science and is tired of New York’s old fashioned ways of dealing with crime is sent to the remote village of Sleepy Hollow to investigate a decapitating murderer. The film was marketed as a horror film and it has all the makings of one, from the brilliant dark shadowed cinematography to Dannny Elfman’s chilling score. However I would call it a supernatural thriller more than a horror, as I do not find it very frightening but more thrilling. Tim Burton takes the typical elements of a good horror film and puts his own surreal twist on it. Johnny Depp creates another memorable character in this film and as always is a joy to watch. The cast is full of A list stars, Micheal Gambon, Christiphor Lee, Miranda Richersdson and Christopher Walken, who all play their parts very well. The only let down in terms of acting would be Christina Ricci, who in my opinion looked a bit weak compared to all the other actors around her. The film is dark, satirical and thrilling with Tim Burton’s usual beautiful sets and colours. I thoroughly recommend this film, though be warned, there is blood in abundance!

4 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Knocked Up

A pleasant suprise!

(Edit) 01/09/2008

I did not enjoy the 40 Year Old Virgin, all in all, I am not a fan of mainstream comedy, however, this was a pleasant surprise. Although it did contain crude comedy, the film also had a moral and it did not turn into the average idiot teen comedy that it so easily could have done. The actors are all comedy experts who know how to make an audience laugh. I do not recommend this film for someone wanting a simple rom-com as this has more to offer, on the other hand do not expect too much sentimentality or a complex romantic plot, it is a simple and clever comedy. Overall it is a good mix of guys comedy with the added sweetness of female humour all in all add up to an offbeat and interesting blend of humour and emotions.

2 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Ladykillers

Classic Comedy

(Edit) 06/03/2007

A classic from the golden age of cinema the Lady Killers is a very classy comedy. If you enjoy any of the classic Screwball comedies like Bringing Up Baby or Arsenic and Old Lace this is definitely for you. Full of both dark and slapstick humour all the actors give solid performances, especially the menacing Alec Guinness who plays Professor Marcus and the sweet Katie Johnson who plays Mrs. Wilberforce. There are also memorable performances from well known actors Peter Sellers and Herbert Lom

Full of witty humour, suspense, twists, and turns, this is a treasured film, of which nowadays few are made.

7 out of 7 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

In Bruges

Charming, dark and satirical

(Edit) 01/09/2008

The first comment I must make about this film is how much I enjoyed watching Collin Farrell on the screen. Before now I have had little respect for him as an actor, however in this film Collin Farrell delivers a great performance with excellent comic timing and some serious and dark moments as well.

The plot begins slowly, with two men hiding out in Bruges after a botched job, initially the plot centres around the relationship between the two gangsters Ray (Collin Farrell) and Ken (Brendan Gleeson). The chemistry between the two actors is essential to the plot, and Farrell and Gleeson do not disappoint. Their witty banter is funny and their characters are well developed with meaning and depth, they are not just stereotypical gangsters. The plot takes an interesting turn with the introduction of new characters, of who play an essential part in the climax. It is a perfect blend if dark humour and drama to make a very entertaining and well put together film. Some may comment on the slow pace of it, however, this in my opinion adds to the character of the town of Bruges. It is a bit of a marmite film and if you are after a fast paced Hollywood blockbuster this definitely is not for you, however it kept me laughing whilst on the edge of my seat.

9 out of 9 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Little Miss Sunshine

A lovely film

(Edit) 31/08/2008

I really like this film, everything about it is perfect. The dynamic of the family seems so true, due to the great acting and the script, which is both poignant and humorous. Abigail Breslin and Paul Dano are two actors to keep an eye on, as they were fantastic. I must also mention Steve Carrel’s performance, which, unlike his usual characters was very understated, I would like to see him take on more roles like this in the future. This film will definitely last over time and end up being a staple classic to any film lovers collection.

7 out of 7 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Charlie's Angels 2: Full Throttle

Sizzling and explosive

(Edit) 01/09/2008

I love the first Charlie’s Angels film and this one is almost as good as the first, but not quite. First I shall begin with the things I did like: The witty banter from the supporting cast, Jason (Matt le Blanc) and Mr. Munday (John Cleese) Bosley (Bernie Mac) is quite entertaining, the soundtrack, like the first is great and also like the first it is very visually exciting. I do however think that the girls are viewed too voyeuristically at times and the storyline is even more far fetched than the first. However, this is Charlie’s Angels and maybe I am being too picky! Nevertheless I really like this film for what it is, a fun filled action packed chick flick!!

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

For Your Consideration

Satirical and Camp!

(Edit) 18/04/2009

For your Consideration is the first film that I have seen by the acclaimed director Christopher Guest; and after this I am eager to see another.

The plot is based around the superficial lives of people in the acting business and mocks the hype surrounding the Hollywood way of life and the Academy Awards. We are introduced to a crew in production of an overtly emotional period drama and the mediocre lives that the crewmembers lead. This all changes when there is a rumour about several actors being nominated for an Academy Award which ultimately creates a tragicomedy as we see the effects that this rumour has.

As with most Christopher Guest films, the script is mainly improvised, which may put some people off, though I think the dialogue is both droll and entertaining. I give special acclaim to Catherine O Hara who delivered a strong performance as the feeble minded protagonist and Ricky Gervais who makes a cameo and delivers his usual dead-pan humour. The film adopts both a Hollywood style narrative and a mockumentary technique that increases its satirical and witty style.

If you are looking for an epic story with deep characters and a serious undertone this film is definitely not for you, as I feel that there was room for further development in some of the characters, especially considering how short the film is. However this film is funny, easy going with the hint of a moral message as it’s backbone.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Chaplin

Acting at its very best.

(Edit) 01/09/2008

In this biography of Charlie Chaplin’s life, based on his autobiography, Robert Downey Jr. fully embodies Charlie Chaplin and in my opinion he deserves the best actor Oscar (though I have not seen Al Pacino in Scent of a Woman which was the winner in 1993). His slapstick movements and his tramp walk are perfect and he is an utter joy to watch on screen; it is a real pity he was shunned off the Hollywood scene. Not only was Downey’s performance immaculate, but that of all the fabulous supporting cast, full of A list actors; Kevin Kline playing Douglas Fairbanks stood out for me. The music was beautiful and poignant and added to the mellow mood, especially the last scene which bought tears to my eyes. (Though some may argue that it is a little sentimental) I especially enjoyed the mini biographies that appeared before the end credits that let us know what happened to all the characters that we met.

Overall Richard Attenborough delivered his usual top notch high standard of film and pulls of a magnificent tribute to one of the greatest actors and Hollywood pioneers.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Margot at the Wedding

Dark and unsettling

(Edit) 01/09/2008

The story of this somewhat bizarre and neurotic family starts with the arrival of Margot (Nicole Kidman) and her son Claude (Zane Pais) for Margot’s sister’s Pauline (Jennifer Jason Leigh)wedding. From here on in the chaos is unveiled and the family face some tough and uncomfortable situations. This is not a happy film and the director Noah Baumbach strips the family down to reveal its dark undertones and unpleasant dysfunctions. Watching this film can be quite unsettling as the acting, relationships and dialogue is very realistic. To add to the uneasiness and unconventional family is the brilliant use of the hand held camera and the grainy filming. Equally as good as the photography was the acting. Jennifer Jason Leigh was good as always and Nicole Kidman was fantastic, she is back on top of her game in my opinion, it is a shame that this film was not more successful at the box office for her excellent acting skills to be praised again. Jack Black also surprised me. He did not stand out as he does in his normal films; instead he blended in to this quiet film with an understated performance. This film is very intelligent and I failed to understand all the metaphors presented. However, I did enjoy this film (as much as it can be ‘enjoyed’ because it is very dark and not a comfortable or happy film.) Steer away from it if you want to be uplifted or cheered up, but I definitely recommend it if you want to experience raw emotion and uncomfortable family life.

4 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sunset Boulevard

'All right, Mr. DeMille, I'm ready for my close-up'

(Edit) 01/09/2008

I was expecting big things from this picture and it delivered! I instantly loved the direct opening, very film noir. There are some killer scenes, most of which contain Glora Swanson, who commanded every scene she watched, she was incredibly believable and a quote that sums her character up is ‘I am big. It’s the pictures that got small.’ Her character was very complex; I went from despising her to pitying her. The lighting was beautiful and played a key role in making Norma Desmond’s (Glora Swanson) mansion a character in itself. This film is a classic to be watched by film lovers of all ages, I want to watch it again now!

7 out of 8 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Charlie's Angels

The perfect girls-night-in film!

(Edit) 01/09/2008

It can be argued very strongly that this is a trashy Hollywood churned money making film, I however disagree. I understand that this film is not groundbreaking or Oscar worthy. But it is fun, exciting and glamorous, and sometimes that’s all a film need to be! The plot is relatively simple, with a few unexpected twists and turns, with the girls always coming up on top. Visually the film shines, the costumes are beautiful excellently representing the character wearing them and the fighting is extremely stylised. The soundtrack is also excellent and perfectly matches the tone of the film.

It is a very uplifting film and I never fail to smile, no matter how many times I have seen it. It is a definite must for any girls night in!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Break-Up

Inconsistent

(Edit) 06/03/2007

I couldn't decide if I was watching a dramatic film with elements of a comedy, or a comedic drama. I don't think there are enough funny moments for it to be classed as a comedy. The first half hour to forty five minutes where my favourite, I was laughing along and feeling for the characters. However, once it drew to the middle to the end of the film, I was a bit bored. The performances from Jennifer Aniston and Vince Vaughn where average, like the rest of the film I guess!

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Tootsie

A Great All Round Film

(Edit) 06/03/2007

I love this film! It’s one of those rare gems that my whole family will choose to watch together ad everyone will love every minute.

Dustin Hoffman (as does the rest of the cast) delivers a fantastic performance. Its a perfect comedy with elements of romance and drama that come together to create a spell bounding, timeless, hilarious comedy that the whole will treasure.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Last Kiss

Marketed Wrongly

(Edit) 19/03/2007

The problem with this film is that because it stars Zach Braff everyone assumes its a comedy. Also it was marketed as a comedy. By no means is this a comedy, don't even bother to watch it if you want a light hearted film. I found this film moving, and I simply cannot understand the bad reviews its getting. The acting is superb, and I found the characters and situations very real.

Probably the themes are more suited to an older audience who have experienced love, and life crises. I thoroughly enjoyed this film, and I can't wait to see Zach Braff take more roles like this.

4 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month