Film Reviews by HH

Welcome to HH's film reviews page. HH has written 75 reviews and rated 95 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Nightbreed

Still a good film

(Edit) 10/07/2020

Yes, the main character has a mullet, but this film still stands up for me. I'm really interested in alien/monster prosthetics and make up and, for it's time, this film delivers in spades, with lots of different creatures.

It's 30 years old, but cut it some slack and it's still fun.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ready or Not

Laughs amongst the gore

(Edit) 05/07/2020

Good film with an unusual storyline. Horrible but funny, and nice to see a woman running away without falling or twisting her ankle for a change.

The acting is good and the setting really adds to the story.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Breaking Bad: Series 1

Must be me!

(Edit) 17/06/2020

I just found this a depressing watch and cringed every time the seriously ill main character coughed. Sorry but I didn't see the humour at all, or found it funny to see an out of condition man in old-fashioned y-fronts - ugh! My husband enjoyed it though. I'm definitely in a minority here.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Freaks

Terrific

(Edit) 18/06/2020

Keeps you guessing about what's really going on, and why the little girl has to stay in the house with her father and never go out. I don't think I've seen Emile Hirsch in a film before, and it struck me how much he looks like a slimmer version of Jack Black. Great acting from all the cast and a really different story. I was glued to the screen till the end. Can't recommend this film enough.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Jumanji: The Next Level

Good fun

(Edit) 02/06/2020

A great film for watching during lockdown. Not quite as good as the original, but very entertaining, with the original cast still doing a good job in this sequel. We now have more characters than in the first film though, which doesn't seem necessary as it complicates matters. I'm not usually a great fan of Jack Black, as to me he's a bit too manic in a lot of roles, but he seems to have dialled it down a notch in this film, and The Rock is always good value. Definitely recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Last Christmas

Awful

(Edit) 02/06/2020

Very thin story, and the lead actress trying to be "cute" was painful. I found my attention wandering all the time. Sorry, I can't think of anything good to say about this.

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Downton Abbey

Worth watching

(Edit) 08/05/2020

An enjoyable easy watch. Beautifully shot and worth seeing for the gorgeous costumes. Imelda Staunton is excellent and holds her own amongst the catty, prying females.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Border

Why was this made?

(Edit) 08/05/2020

* SPOILER ALERT *What a deeply unpleasant film this is. Perhaps it means more to the Scandanavians, but it made no sense to me. Even the main character, Tina, is unpleasant, throwing out her "partner" without warning, and as for her new partner - paedophilia whatever it's practised on is still revolting. He seems to think it's justifiable as a form of revenge on the human race.

The sex scene was hilarious and unpleasant at the same time.

Also who sent her the baby at the end of the film? Her partner drowned?!

Awful, wouldn't recommend to anyone.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Joker

A tour de force by Joaquin

(Edit) 19/04/2020

Great film and fantastic acting by Joaquin Phoenix. He's a man descending into madness, and we discover several things which have affected his mental health. The important thing here, I feel, is that a point is being made about the lack of help for the mentally ill, ie. his talking therapy is cancelled due to lack of funding, and from there it's a downward spiral from which he has no hope of recovery. A hard watch at times, but worth it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Maleficent: Mistress of Evil

Ok

(Edit) 14/04/2020

Not as good as the first film but watchable if you've nothing else to do. Angelina looks too digitised, and the story isn't the best.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon

Not up to standard in my view.

(Edit) 14/04/2020

I much preferred the previous films, especially Wererabbit. I enjoyed this but found my mind wandering a few times. I think this movie is more for children than the others were

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Midnight Special

Unusual

(Edit) 14/04/2020

I thought the main actor, Alton, was great and the story was very involving. Definitely worth a watch. Although a little slow at times, the film slowly explains what's happening tto the boy and the ending is very satisfying.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Knives Out

Entertaining whodunnit

(Edit) 02/04/2020

Very enjoyable, convoluted story. All the actors are great, but who decided to give the detective (Daniel Craig) a southern American accent. He made a real hash of it and it spoiled my enjoyment of the story. It was completely unnecessary, he could have been English for all it mattered to the story. If it doesn't grate on you all the way through, it's a good film.

4 out of 6 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

In Fabric

Strange

(Edit) 29/03/2020

This film had a very eerie quality and

was interesting if not very clear where it was going. I would have iked to see more of the origin of the shop and its assistants, but it left you hanging. Perhaps that was the idea?

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Orville: Series 2

Comedy, science fi?

(Edit) 04/03/2020

Not sure what this series is aiming for. The attempts at comedy don't work and it just seems to be a bad Star Trek impersonation without the good stories. Not recommended.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
12345

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month