Film Reviews by HH

Welcome to HH's film reviews page. HH has written 47 reviews and rated 60 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wind River

Loved it!

(Edit) 02/09/2019

*SPOILER ALERT*

Jeremy Renner at his best in this gripping story of murder and retribution.  The snowy landscape and bleakness of the scenery all add to the tension, and this is a good straight-forward story.  Would strongly recommend.  As for the audio being bad, we've given up trying to hear all the dialogue in films, as it's so indistinct sometimes that you can't follow the plot, and we now put the subtitles on to make sure we don't miss anything.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Autopsy of Jane Doe

Could have been so good.

(Edit) 02/09/2019

I enjoyed the first half hour or so of this film, and the acting was really good, but as the story unfolded I found myself getting bored and the ending was very poor.  Didn't scare me at all.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Happy Death Day 2U

Entertaining sequel

(Edit) 30/08/2019

I thought this film might be "more of the same" but it managed to be different enough to be really entertaining.  Recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Orphan Black: Series 1

Different and very enjoyable

(Edit) 30/08/2019

I really enjoyed this film and the premise behind it. and can't wait to get the next few instalments.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Black Mirror: Series 1

Rubbish

(Edit) 15/08/2019

Don't waste a rental, none of the 3 stories is worth watching - very boring and not a new idea in sight.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Freak Show

Good film

(Edit) 14/08/2019

I really enjoyed this film.  I'd half expected it to be a bit "preachy" on the gender fluid issue, but in fact it was really entertaining and showed how to get a point across without beating you over the head with it.  Alex Lawther (Billy) is excellent and I loved the dry humour, and his determination not to be a victim, but to be himself and "glitter" - no matter what the consequences.  The costumes were great too.  Recommended.  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Line of Duty: Series 1

A fabulous series

(Edit) 19/07/2019

Riveting as always - can't wait for the next episodes.  Best thing on tv.  We only started to watch this at the 4th series, so are now watching the earlier series.  Highly recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Beast

Good story and satisfying ending.

(Edit) 08/07/2019

I didn't realise Jessie Buckley was Irish - her English accent was perfect.  A good story of a mixed up, possibly mentally ill girl, trying to keep it together despite a difficult home life and a new boyfriend who could be a serial killer.  Nice clear dialogue for a change, and I thought the ending wrapped the film up satisfactorily and it was well acted by all the cast.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Bad Times at the El Royale

Strange but enjoyable

(Edit) 30/06/2019

This film didn't go where I expected but was an interesting watch.  I thought it might be, because Jeff Bridges is a great actor and I'm sure he can pick and choose his parts.  He doesn't disappoint in this.  The soundtrack is terrific but the film's overlong, and I got a bit bored towards the end - not sure what Chris Hemsworth added in the final part of the story, but as always he was nice to watch!  Recommended, but pay attention to all the flashbacks.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wild Tales

Very entertaining!

(Edit) 11/06/2019

A good collection of four films, the last of which is hysterical - like the main character.  I laughed out loud.  Recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Phantom Thread

Beautiful cinematography

(Edit) 11/06/2019

Basically a film about dependence, set in the 1950s.  Daniel Day Lewis is, as always, terrific and really inhabits his part of the dress-designer head of a fashion house who seems to have been a mummy's boy and still fixates on her death.  The film didn't go where I expected it to, but that made it more interesting, and the sumptuous gowns on show were fabulous. Not a cheery story though, but I enjoyed it for the skill of the actors and it's slow pace.  A fascinating tale.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Avengers: Infinity War

Entertaining

(Edit) 22/05/2019

Well, I liked it.  A great way to spend a couple of hours plus.  Nice to see Captain America looking a bit more mature with the beard and deeper voice, and Chris Hemsworth is always worth a view i.m.h.o.  He always looks as if he's about to corpse.  Great to see all then actors together, although I was a bit confused about what the red guy did??

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Upgrade

Great low budget film

(Edit) 22/05/2019

I really enjoyed this.  The story was entertaining and the acting was good.  Something a bit different and a good ending.  Recommended.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ghost Stories

Not bad

(Edit) 08/05/2019

The ending linking the stories together wasn't very satisfactory, but this film was watchable if only to see what exactly was happening. Not sure I would recommend though, as it's not frightening in any way.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Christopher Robin

Well, I enjoyed it!

(Edit) 08/05/2019

A lovely gentle film, and I didn't feel preached to, nor did I recognise the political correctness (I usually do). I didn't find Ewan MacGregor miscast, but I hated the voices of Winnie the Pooh and friends - American.......Noooooo! As someone who read the stories as a child, the Disney version of the animals is so wrong. However, I would recommend this when you want something pleasant to watch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
1234

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month