Film Reviews by HH

Welcome to HH's film reviews page. HH has written 69 reviews and rated 91 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Downton Abbey

Worth watching

(Edit) 08/05/2020

An enjoyable easy watch. Beautifully shot and worth seeing for the gorgeous costumes. Imelda Staunton is excellent and holds her own amongst the catty, prying females.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Border

Why was this made?

(Edit) 08/05/2020

* SPOILER ALERT *What a deeply unpleasant film this is. Perhaps it means more to the Scandanavians, but it made no sense to me. Even the main character, Tina, is unpleasant, throwing out her "partner" without warning, and as for her new partner - paedophilia whatever it's practised on is still revolting. He seems to think it's justifiable as a form of revenge on the human race.

The sex scene was hilarious and unpleasant at the same time.

Also who sent her the baby at the end of the film? Her partner drowned?!

Awful, wouldn't recommend to anyone.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Joker

A tour de force by Joaquin

(Edit) 19/04/2020

Great film and fantastic acting by Joaquin Phoenix. He's a man descending into madness, and we discover several things which have affected his mental health. The important thing here, I feel, is that a point is being made about the lack of help for the mentally ill, ie. his talking therapy is cancelled due to lack of funding, and from there it's a downward spiral from which he has no hope of recovery. A hard watch at times, but worth it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Maleficent: Mistress of Evil

Ok

(Edit) 14/04/2020

Not as good as the first film but watchable if you've nothing else to do. Angelina looks too digitised, and the story isn't the best.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon

Not up to standard in my view.

(Edit) 14/04/2020

I much preferred the previous films, especially Wererabbit. I enjoyed this but found my mind wandering a few times. I think this movie is more for children than the others were

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Midnight Special

Unusual

(Edit) 14/04/2020

I thought the main actor, Alton, was great and the story was very involving. Definitely worth a watch. Although a little slow at times, the film slowly explains what's happening tto the boy and the ending is very satisfying.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Knives Out

Entertaining whodunnit

(Edit) 02/04/2020

Very enjoyable, convoluted story. All the actors are great, but who decided to give the detective (Daniel Craig) a southern American accent. He made a real hash of it and it spoiled my enjoyment of the story. It was completely unnecessary, he could have been English for all it mattered to the story. If it doesn't grate on you all the way through, it's a good film.

3 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

In Fabric

Strange

(Edit) 29/03/2020

This film had a very eerie quality and

was interesting if not very clear where it was going. I would have iked to see more of the origin of the shop and its assistants, but it left you hanging. Perhaps that was the idea?

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Orville: Series 2

Comedy, science fi?

(Edit) 04/03/2020

Not sure what this series is aiming for. The attempts at comedy don't work and it just seems to be a bad Star Trek impersonation without the good stories. Not recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Orphan Black: Series 2

Ok

(Edit) 04/03/2020

I loved the first series, but this series doesn't live up to it unfortunately imho. I found myself getting bored halfway through.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Rocketman

Disappointing

(Edit) 21/02/2020

Not very good although Taron Egerton and Jamie Bell were excellent, and of course the songs were good. Much preferred the Freddy Mercury film. Also, apparently his father was misrepresented as being much colder than he actually was. The film was spoiled for me by being a damaged disc which froze twice and flickered here and there.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Haunting of Hill House: Series 1

Quite scary

(Edit) 21/02/2020

I expected this to be a remake of the film of the same name, but it was very different. I'll definitely be watching the next series. Good entertainment.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Yesterday

Very entertaining,

(Edit) 10/02/2020

Good idea as, if nothing else, it's a chance to hear the wonderful songs the Beatles wrote. The story holds up too and it's thoroughly enjoyable on all levels. The acting is great too.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Annihilation

Zzzzzzzzzzz

(Edit) 10/02/2020

Oh, so slow and nothing much happens until the end, but by then you've guessed what it will be. Don't bother.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Possession of Hannah Grace

Nothing new

(Edit) 24/01/2020

Predictable story used in several other better films (Autopsy of Jane Doe). Nothing to be frightened of unless this is the first horror film you've seen. Same old same old. Not recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12345

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month