Film Reviews by JB

Welcome to JB's film reviews page. JB has written 14 reviews and rated 14 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Summerland

wonderful and moving

(Edit) 21/04/2021

I really loved this film , the acting was amazing, the story emotional and very moving. I sat riveted from start to finish. i would willingly watch it again. Loved it!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Rainy Day in New York

Not for me

(Edit) 30/12/2020

this film had subtitles which bothered me so much that I abandoned the film in exasperation without watching it!!

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood

lovely

(Edit) 30/12/2020

I really liked this film and enjoyed every moment. Tom Hanks was so believable, it was great to see him play this character. Very enjoyable

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Personal History of David Copperfield

not what i was expecting

(Edit) 04/12/2020

I was very disappointed as was told it was amusing but it didn't even raise a smile in spite of the sterling cast

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Love Sarah

Great

(Edit) 04/12/2020

Loved this film, it was sad, funny and very very worth the watch. I enjoyed every minute! Well worth watching!!

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Playing with Fire

Silly

(Edit) 28/10/2020

starting watching this but got bored after 10 minutes, not worth my time, I wish I hadn't rented it , it was extremely silly

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ride Like a Girl

Great film

(Edit) 28/10/2020

I didn't know this was a true story, loved it! An amazing story and was riveted from the very beginning. Extremely good watch!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mrs. Lowry and Son

Slow

(Edit) 14/02/2020

found this incredibly slow and monotonous. Though gathered that his Mother was a real bitch, how on other did he live with being under her thumb? It was much too slow for me to enjoy, wouldn't recommend it to anyone!

2 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Keeper

wonderful

(Edit) 28/01/2020

loved this film in spite of not being interested in football. great acting and sympathetic characters

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

On Chesil Beach

awful

(Edit) 21/05/2019

slow and boring did not watch it all in the end as I could not be bothered! Would not recommend this film to anybody

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Breadwinner

wonderful

(Edit) 21/05/2019

this film was highly praised by Mark Kermode and he was 100% right. it is so well done and tells a true story , I loved it, wonderful and inspiring!!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Limehouse Golem

Fabulous

(Edit) 23/01/2018

Loved this film, cliff hanger to the end! cast were super and the story riveting. Well worth watching, might want to see it again sometime!

3 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fences

up to expectations

(Edit) 16/01/2018

I had seen a preview of this film on the Film Review with Mark Kermode and though he thought it overlong I did not. At times I found some of the dialogue hard to hear/understand, but in all found it a very moving film. The actors were fabulous especially the heroine, she was amazing.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Viceroy's House

Not for me

(Edit) 16/01/2018

I tried to like this film but couldn't watch the whole thing. I found it too slow and wasn't gripped by it as I had thought I would be. Not at all my kind of film

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.