Film Reviews by RS

Welcome to RS's film reviews page. RS has written 8 reviews and rated 12 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Last Christmas

Dreadful script and too much PC wokeness

(Edit) 21/06/2020

I never forgave Paul Feig for mangling the Ghostbusters film and watching this was me giving him one more chance. I ended up turning it off. Utterly dreadful, clunky script. Fox's character really isn't likeable, she's the friend who always has drama and stress surrounding her that you end up just wanting out of your life. And good grief so much wokeness. Immigration, Brexit, homeless people in wheelchairs, and a gay couple who is also mixed race. Don't waste your time.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Pacific Rim: Uprising

Uninspiring

(Edit) 21/11/2018

Scott Eastwood should be doing higher calibre movies than this. The director just thinks that if he can do bigger and bigger robots then the movie will be a success. Nope. And there's jus tno way on earth any sort of robot can punch, kick, and throw around another robot without immediate catastrophic damage, not to mention the two pilots inside being thrown around like rag dolls. It was just annoying!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Solo: A Star Wars Story

Did nothing for me

(Edit) 21/11/2018

I'm a lifelong Star Wars fan and a costumer with the 501st Legion. I was hoping this film would capture the glorious retro-ness of the original trilogy like Rogue One did, and I hoped that Alden would capture some of the spirit of Han Solo. But nope. He could have been any other scruffy pilot flying round the galaxy. He didn't embody any of who Han Solo was. I wasn't expecting a blow by blow imitation of Solo but some mannerisms and gestures would have been good. The cockiness and arrogance just wasn't there for me. I was uninspired by the entire film. I will always wonder if Anthony Ingruber would have made a better Solo, he was amazing as Young Harrison in "Age of Adaline". I can see me falling out of love with Star Wars as Disney advance the franchise into new characters, new trilogies and leave behind the original stories.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mission to Mars

Utterly dire

(Edit) 07/11/2018

With such a stellar cast and Brian De Palma directing plus a score by Ennio Morricone this had blockbuster stamped all over it, but we turned it off after 20 minutes. From the get go the script is clunky and stilted and the storyline plodding. It got to a point where the actors were delivering their lines with such boredom it was as if they had a gun to their heads. I can't remember whey I clicked on it to rent it, I'm amazed I didn't notice the RT rating. One of the reviews said that things get a bit cool and scary later on in the film but we were just not bothered enough so hit the EJECT button.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Secondhand Lions

Brilliant film

(Edit) 07/11/2018

I can't understand the low rating for this film, I loved it. Cain and Duvall are two screen legends that work well together, and Osment is suitably confused as the wimpy little kid who finally grows a pair. The scene in the bar and Duvall's speech is worth playing over and over. Ignore the ratings, rent it!!!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Five-Year Engagement

Utter bilge

(Edit) 29/10/2018

I cannot understand how this got 63% on RT. One of the most rubbish films I've had to sit through (my other half was enjoying it). The script was stilted and the whole film was just DULL and boring. Seriously - they whinged about how they can't get married but they really want to get married so just GO TO VEGAS and do it, stop putting it off. I love Emily Blunt in most things but this was just dire. Never again. My crochet kept me from losing my sanity for the duration.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Tomb Raider

Not a patch on Angie

(Edit) 29/10/2018

Dull, dull, dull, dull. Alicia has none of the sass or sexiness of Angie. Tepid storyline, plodding film, impressive special effects but please - only Angie can be Lara!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Non-Transferable

I was just too old for this film

(Edit) 18/04/2018

My friend recommended this movie and within the first 5 minutes I knew I'd not be loving it. It's a film for the Instagram generation of tweens who no doubt will love it but ugh, so much millennial speak and a predictable storyline. I'm 46, I should have known better. Back to Meryl Streep movies for me :D

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.