Film Reviews by PE

Welcome to PE's film reviews page. PE has written 39 reviews and rated 34 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Hunt

Innocent until proven

(Edit) 30/10/2015

Extremely disturbing, powerfully emotional, touching and challenging this film is a must see for any adult with children of their own or not. Tribal judgemental humanity at it's worst.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Pioneer

Decent thriller with a fresh storyline

(Edit) 30/10/2015

Aksel Hennie puts in a terrific performance as the determined, obstinate brother looking for the answers behing his brothers tragic death n a diving incident. It needed a few more edge of the seat moments to bring it up to the standard of some of the other Nordic thrillers but a number of sub plots kept the interest throughout.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Killers

Early Lancaster Outing Shows Promise

(Edit) 13/10/2015

I didn't realise it at the time but this was Burt Lancaster's first senior acting role and you can see , even in this early outing his potential. He oozes charisma and the sexual chemistry with Ava Gardner is potent. I didn't find the film itself particuarly engaging, it lacked the tension that you would hope to find in a movie of this genre but it is nevertheless a decent plot and moves along at a decent pace.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Hunters

Quality Nordic Crime Thriller

(Edit) 07/10/2015

Another well made Swedish crime thriller with an interesting plot that provides a gentle starting point for the rather shocking developments and uncomfortable scenes that follow. Solid performances from Rolf Lassgård and Lennart Jähkel as the Bäckström brothers and Tomas Norström puts in a great turn as Ove, the reluctant murder witness. If you have enjoyed the other Nordic crime feasts, you will like this too.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Under the Skin

Indulgent dross

(Edit) 28/09/2015

I wish I had read SW's review and the others here because it was spot on. So disappointing and can't understand why Scarlett Johansson took it on unless she saw it as an opportunity for some easy money.

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Klown

Humour at odds

(Edit) 28/09/2015

In my humble opinion 'Klown' is NOT hilarious. It certainly "pushes the boundaries" but not of comedy but of the definition of comedy. Frank's friends relationship advice... "give her a pearl necklace". Frank, "what from Tiffany's?".. huge amounts of laughter.. "no you ejaculate on her neck".

Sorry, that is not comedy.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Blackhat

Justified poor reviews

(Edit) 24/09/2015

It's a shame because this script has plenty of potential as is the case with some of the characters presented to you in the first 30 minutes but it is like a flightless bird that never gets off the ground and your left feeling unfulfilled.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Jackpot

Fun journey all the way

(Edit) 17/09/2015

CC's review is spot on, I rented this having seen the trailer on another DVD and wasn't disappointed. Every one of the characters play their part and the storyline is quality all the way, enjoy!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Jordskott: Series 1

Innovative if a little wierd

(Edit) 17/09/2015

Another quality Nordic crime thriller but this time with a big dose of fantasy which you need to be open too particularly if your hoping to see another Bridge or The Killing. The series unfolds at a steady pace with each episode confounding any theories that you may have come up with in the previous one and rather like Broadchurch still leaves you guessing even in the final minutes. Solid performances from all the cast although I didn't warm to Eva Thörnblad and was constantly frustrated by her somewhat bizarre decisions. Conversely Göran Ragnerstam as Wass is a guy I would definitely go for a beer with, just love his expressions.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Inherent Vice

What, who, where, when and more importantly why?

(Edit) 31/08/2015

I'm impressed with Count Otto Black's review as he obviously took time out of his life to actually watch this fim to the end and attempt to understand it, I however allowed it about 20 minutes after which I said, "no, I have more important things to do in my life than subject my brain to total clap trap."

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Falling

Disappointed

(Edit) 31/08/2015

The review posted by WS is spot on so I have little to add other than to say that thought that Maisie Williams put in an excellent, mature performance in the lead role and if that was her real voice, Florence Pugh is multi-talented.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Best Man

Class apart

(Edit) 26/08/2015

By modern standards the storyline and plot of this film might be regarded as simplistic but it oozes class in terms of acting with everyone on screen superlative in their roles. I have always liked Henry Fonda but he is almost overshadowed by Cliff Robertson who plays the politician who will stop at nothing to get to the top.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Into the Woods

Just too long Messrs Disney

(Edit) 26/08/2015

As modern musicals go, and let's face it nothing compares to Rogers and Hammerstein this is a good effort but why oh why didn't it finish at the 'happy ending' point? Instead Disney decided to add a completely unnecessary 30 odd minutes on to the film which puts a total dampener on things. Watch, enjoy and stop and eject at the marriage scene and you will have a lovely family fun movie.,

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Duke of Burgundy

Indulgent nonsense

(Edit) 17/08/2015

I really don't know what all the fuss is about this film. Yes it has some clever camera work and is filmed in a nice location which means that there are some landscapes, nature shots etc. but hey, I can go to an art museum if that's what i'm looking for. As to the 'story'... er, two middle aged lesbians one with particularly weird sexual needs and the other very accommodating YAWN!

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Most Violent Year

Definately Not "gripping" but classy

(Edit) 17/08/2015

I liked this movie and I think if you are a fan of films from a similar genre you will too. It's not all action or particularly violent but it feels 'real' and Oscar Isaac and Jessica Chastain play their roles to perfection. The end came all too quickly for me and it left me feeling unsatisfied, almost as though I half expected a commentator to add during the credits, "tune in next week for part 2". In fact it did have a HBO TV Series feel to it so who knows...?

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
123

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month