Film Reviews by CW

Welcome to CW's film reviews page. CW has written 10 reviews and rated 93 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Edie

How - Spoiler Alert!!!

(Edit) 29/05/2019

I found Edie to be enjoyable and entertaining but then I thought about it a bit more. 

The film makers tell us that Sheila Hancock actually climbed Mount Suilven in the making of this movie.

At her age that is a grand achievement in itself but, as a contemporary of hers, what I really want to know is he how on earth she got down again. The going up is so much easier than the coming down, the constant jarring on those four score + knees and then there’s the matter of general balance.    

 Helicopter springs to mind!  

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Walking Out

Grunt

(Edit) 01/12/2018

Loads and loads of noisy grunting and gasping, puffing and panting and mumbled dialogue. Subtitles would have most certainly improved the general entertainment value but there aren’t any and I may have missed quite a lot accordingly!

Left me somewhat cold but 3 stars for the scenery.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Shape of Water

No Way!!!

(Edit) 17/07/2018

Oscar winner, best film 2018....you’re having a laugh. Don’t be so silly.

Apart from Michael Shannon, great performance, and the theme music, perhaps, there’s not a lot to get excited about here.

I’m a big fans of Sally Hawkins, Happy-Go-Lucky, and it’s sad that she made the journey to star in this sorry tale.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Post

C-

(Edit) 23/06/2018

Wow, what a disappointment. Was really looking forward to this but it failed, quite seriously, to live up to all the hype. Fought to maintain my concentration and It wasn’t easy. Familiar story and the kind of movie shown quite frequently on prime time Sky Atlantic. High profile cast and that may have been part of the problem, the stars were bigger than the story.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Molly's Game

Jessica Chastain’ s Breasts

(Edit) 18/06/2018

Apart from a few fairly noteworthy scenes with Idris Elba and Kevin Costner, my one, or should I say two, lasting memories of this quite ordinary movie are in my review title. Some of the verbal exchanges are satisfying but this is a Aaron Sorkin film.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Killing of a Sacred Deer

Un

(Edit) 28/04/2018

Don’t normally find a need to give praise to Nicole Kidman but she’s probably the best thing about this movie!

Became increasingly disturbed the longer I watched and in the end found the whole experience unedifying, uninteresting, unentertaining, unpleasant and quite a few more ’uns’, the list is un...neverending.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Zookeeper's Wife

Deja Vu Light

(Edit) 16/03/2018

Very lightweight and unmoving. Bearing in mind her impressive CV, I find it hard to believe that Jessica Chastain would involve herself in what is no more than a B picture. The real story behind this is quite amazing and this does it no justice at all.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

War for the Planet of the Apes

50/50

(Edit) 12/01/2018

What is good in this 2 and a quarter hours or so is very good and some of it is exceptionally good.

Unfortunately I had to find something else to do for a lot of the time simply because the movie was not grabbing my attention.

Why this director found it necessary to film a lot of action sequences at nightime is difficult to understand or SEE. He’s not alone these days!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Born to Be Blue

Sad, So Sad. A Disgrace In Fact

(Edit) 04/11/2017

If like me you grew up in the 50s listening to Chet Baker, this abysmal film will leave you frustrated and disappointed.

Don’t go near it. Ethan Hawke looks nothing like Chet Baker or a jazz musician.... and as for Miles Davis.

Read ‘Deep In A Dream: The Long Night Of Chet Baker’ and/or watch the 1988 feature ‘Let’s Get Lost’. They both do justice to the phenomenon that was Chet Baker.

This lightweight movie is a travesty.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

John Wick 2

Complete and Asolute Garbage

(Edit) 22/10/2017

This has to be up there with top 5 worst films that I’ve ever seen, ever.

Everything is awful, the story/plot, the acting, the sound, the script and the shooting accuracy most of all.

A lot of people have a quite different opinion to me and the frightening thing is that these same people get to vote on critical national matters. FRIGHTENING

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month