Film Reviews by Laney

Welcome to Laney's film reviews page. Laney has written 36 reviews and rated 40 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Inside Man

Quite Good!

(Edit) 16/04/2007

I thought that overall, this was a good film. Denzel was great as always which made it a better film than it probably would have been otherwise. A clever plot, but not quite as clever as it was hyped up to be! it did keep you guessing till the end, but there were parts of the plot that were important but never explained, which I found frustrating! but apart from that, the film moved quickly and kept me interested all the way through.

Definately worth watching.

1 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Breaking and Entering

Dull!

(Edit) 03/10/2007

Maybe its just me, and that I just don;t like these 'modern' films, but what a snooze fest. Thought Jude Law, (usually lurverly) was sleezy and fake, nothing happened, at the end of the film, I just watched the credits for a bit, thinking maybe I had fallen asleep and missed the main bit of the film, but no, that was all there was!!

Not for me, but maybe I am just showing my old fashionedness!!!!!! (not that old though!)

0 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Them

Suprisingly Creepy!

(Edit) 03/01/2008

When you read the blurb about this film, you may be expecting some kind of monster or alien type them (or at least I did!) but it isn;t anything like that. I won't spoilt it, but it is something that any of us could encounter, and it is scary, with a suprising ending! I left my lights on for a few days!

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Wicker Man

Maybe I should have watched the original?!!!!

(Edit) 17/07/2007

As the title says, have never seen the original and have to say, I imagine it was probably better than this.

I love Cage, but his dry humour just didn't fit with this film, the plot is silly, nothing really happens, and this tends to only work in the classics when they have atmosphere on their side, which this did not! However, I was suprised by the ending, but only for about 30 seconds!

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

30 Days of Night

Suprising!

(Edit) 06/04/2008

This is one of the best vampire films I have seen in a long time!

The action starts very quickly, and in the middle, you start to worry that it has peaked too early, but then it starts again! A suprising ending, with some tense, bloody moments in between!

Definately worth a watch!

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Blades of Glory

Predictable

(Edit) 17/03/2008

If you are expecting a film as funny as Tallegda Nights (excuse spelling), then I'm sorry to say that you will probably be disappointed, even though the films are very, very similar in story line, humour etc.

There are some funny moments, but also a lot of predictable homophobic jokes, cheesy ending etc!

I love Will Ferrell, but after watching this, I couldn't help but think, that maybe he has done one too many of these movies, with the dense, over emotional, main characters.

Sorry for being so down on this film, I was just expecting laugh out loud funny, and not the occasional smirk!!!! Probably if I wasn;t such a huge fan of his other films and watched them a lot, then this may have been received better!!!! It just seemed like the same script but with ice skating instead of cars!!!!

Shutting up now ..............................

2 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Zodiac

Good!

(Edit) 13/11/2007

It was a different film than I expected, the trailer appears as though it is going to be a fast paced race against time job, but it wasn't! However, that did not make it bad. The first half was slow going, but the second much better. Without giving too much away, I was left thinking that it didn't truly explore why Jakes character was so interested, he just floated about for an hour or so and then was the main character??!! You will see what I mean when you watch it!

Overall I enjoyed it, it was long, and probably didn't really need to be, there was lots that could have been cut out! But again, saying that it was a good film, and I would recommend it!

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Band of Brothers

Out of this world!

(Edit) 31/10/2007

This programme, is easily one of the best things I have ever watched. It is eye-opening, beautiful, graphic,and poignant.

The cast are all amazing, regardless of what you thought of them previously, it looks fantastic, the music is brill..... I could go on and on! (I'm not being paid-honest!!!)

Having also read the book, it is factually on the money, which is always a bonus!

Not really sure what else to say, other than watch it-you will not regret it and you will watch it again and again!!!!! Also watch the bonus features on the last disc, I usually don't bother, but there is a short film about the real men of Easy Company and its very emotional!!

3 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Messengers

Scary!

(Edit) 03/10/2007

At the start, I thought oh my god, this looks like its going to be rubbish, but I have to say, that although it is predictable and the effects dont exactely blow your mind, there are some edge of your seat moments, and some scary moments. Worth a watch!

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Return

Boring!

(Edit) 04/09/2007

Think the main problem with this film is that it is packaged and advertised as though it is going to be a scary film and it just isn't!

Took about 30 minutes for me to be even slightly interested, the 'terrifying visions', were not terrifying and there weren't enough of them to make you care about the answers.

It felt as though the film had bits missing.

A bit of a waste of Gellar and the story I thought.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Dark

Pleasantly suprised!

(Edit) 16/04/2007

Added this film to my list, even though after reading the review, it sounded a bit like films you have seen a hundred times before!

However, despite several cliches, wierd guy who ends up knowing everything, main character researching in the library etc! it was not a bad film and even quite creepy in places.

Not bad!

3 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

You, Me and Dupree

A must for Owen Fans!

(Edit) 25/04/2007

If you like Owen Wilson, you will like this film, if you don't ......!

I do like him, and found him very funny in this, the other characters don't really need to be there but hey, they were and they were ok. the other highlight for me was Michael Douglas, he is not in it much, but when he is, his character was great!

3 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

American Haunting

SCARY!

(Edit) 24/05/2007

The film started getting very good, quite quickly I thought. Some bits of it were very scary, others a little repetative!

I didn't guess the ending and it was good to be suprised, although I was a little confused after it had finished, but can't say without giving anything away! (but that could just be me being thick!!!)

Watch it!!!!!!

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

World Trade Center

Not sure!

(Edit) 24/05/2007

This film was not the typical action fest that I thought it would be, it had a more tender side to it! I learnt some things that I didn't already know about what happened and that was interesting, but I can't easily say whether I really liked it or not! Doesn't really help does it!

i am glad I watched though!

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby

Funny!

(Edit) 24/05/2007

I agree with the first review, some very very funny moments, but after you have laughed the first time, it is not quite as funny when the same gag is shown later in the film. If you like Will Ferrell, as I do, then you will love it. My boyfriend doesn't like him, so was less impressed!!!

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
123

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month