Film Reviews by AS

Welcome to AS's film reviews page. AS has written 9 reviews and rated 86 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Last Christmas

A modern take on "It's a Wonderful life"

(Edit) 14/11/2020

Not a bad film for Christmas - in the theme of "It's a Wonderful Life" - except with a ghost, instead of an angel.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

From the Land of the Moon

Just read the book

(Edit) 22/03/2020

The book was excellent, but does not translate very well to film. I found the film slow and confusing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Yesterday

Excellent Film

(Edit) 07/12/2019

This is a very funny an intelligent film - don't overthink it - just watch it. A fun, feel-good film.

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Away

Depressing

(Edit) 22/09/2018

Depressing - the only high point was when half of the cast died! i'm not sure why they bothered making it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Lady Macbeth

Low Budget Porn Film

(Edit) 12/05/2018

The best thing about this film was the cat. Don't bother! Slow and boring - the sex scenes might be of interest if you are in the habit of sitting in the cinema in a dirty old mac - but not for anyone else.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Tommy's Honour

Better than I expected

(Edit) 25/03/2018

The accents were a bit dubious, and I thought that young Tom looked a bit like he was trying to play the part of Frank Spencer, but overall it was a good film - although I'm not a golf fan, I thought the history behind the film was interesting.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Manchester by the Sea

Slow and dull

(Edit) 13/01/2018

The story line would be ok, if it weren't for the poor acting - as it was it, this film is painful to watch! I would give it less tha n 1 star if possible.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hidden Figures

Entertaining

(Edit) 24/12/2017

A good film, well-acted and entertaining. Films are generally for entertainment, if you are looking for historical accuracy, then I would suggest watching a documentary or reading a history book. I would no more expect complete historical accuracy from a film, than I would expect to get a lesson in British History from Shakespeare. A good film to watch on a Saturday night though.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Youth

Total Garbage

(Edit) 08/12/2017

I only gave this one star because you can't give 0. I can only assume that the big names in this film, ie, Michael Caine and Harvey Keitel have massive tax bills to pay and are trading on their names! Do not watch this, unless you are already on drugs.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.