Film Reviews by RP

Welcome to RP's film reviews page. RP has written 19 reviews and rated 87 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Guilty

Once you start you cant stop watching.

(Edit) 28/07/2019

Although subtitled very easy to follow. The whole film takes place in a Danish '999' call centre with a rather off hand copper handling the calls. One comes in that shakes him out of his lethargy, you never go outside nor see the other characters but the tension is gripping.

Sit back and enjoy how a thriller should be .

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Utøya: July 22

Hard to watch, but gripping

(Edit) 18/05/2019

We probably all know, but will never understand what happened.

We watch the confusion and fear spread as the teenagers think the Police are shooting at them .

Probably the most poignant bit is where these young adults try to phone someone, it's mum.

The film lasts approximately the same time as the actual attack, you realise just how quickly life can be snuffed out.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Human Flow

Count your blessings

(Edit) 09/02/2019

This really puts in perspective how so many people suffer from homelessness and threats to their safety. It also confronts the often perception that we in the UK get most refugees.To see kids living in tents in a muddy field makes you appreciate how lucky we are.

My only gripe, this is a film that relies heavily on subtitles yet they are very small and often impossible to read, white letters on a light background !. Who on earth thought that satisfactory ??

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Samba

How others live

(Edit) 11/01/2019

The film follows two main people, an illegal immigrant from Senegal living in Paris and a high flyer with burnout temporarily helping at an immigrant advice centre. Their paths intertwine, it is interesting to see how those without documentation have to duck and dive to survive and how many people are willing to exploit them.

You need to watch the film to see how it pans out, the ending is perhaps a little contrived, but in the main a film that makes you realise how easy life is when you are 'legal' and how hard if not.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

In Order of Disappearance

Who did the subtitles ??

(Edit) 29/12/2018

Others have reviewed the film, which like them I enjoyed, but being in Norwegian it is subtitled, just wonder who thought white writing will be easy to read against a permanent snow background. Because of this we missed some of the conversations.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Phantom Thread

Bored me to tears

(Edit) 12/10/2018

Really could not be bothered, tried for and hour then gave up, my wife persevered to then end but she was not impressed.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Short Stay in Switzerland

Though provoking, it's our life (or is it??)

(Edit) 06/10/2018

Any film with julie Walters is worth watching. Her performance here as a doctor stricken with a life destroying disease is brilliant. Her deterioration from a confident doctor to an invalid is painful to watch, also her decision to end it all whilst still able. Not a light evening's entertainment nor something to watch if you have just started getting clumsy !!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Alexandra

Gave up half way through.

(Edit) 15/08/2018

Unfortunately the sub titles did not really convey the emotions.

Found it hard to believe that the Soviet military would accept a 'grandma' turning up in a war zone and staying in camp.

Maybe should have persevered.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ladies

Excellent French cinema of a woman's struggle to find herself.

(Edit) 23/06/2018

Lucie a middle aged widow is recovering from breast cancer. Undervalued by both ends of her family, her daughter and her mother, she has no self worth.

A chance meeting in a wig shop leads her to a dance/confidence teacher who runs classes for women and ropes her into a session.

Slowly against a background of a budding romance she blossoms, but it is not until the end, when all of the women a doing a dance routine on stage, you realise just how brave she has become.

So good, I believed in all the characters,

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fanny

90 mins of gentle french cinema

(Edit) 16/06/2018

The plot is simple, a pregnant girl (Fanny) abandoned by her sailor boyfriend is married by an older man to save her reputation. The ambiance of small town France is well captured, his and her family all conspiring to keep her secret. The sub plot is the older man has always wanted a son, which eventually arrives to his delight, so what happens when the boyfriend returns ??

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Stray Dogs

Count your blessings

(Edit) 17/06/2018

A bleak film showing life in Afganistan.

Two children live on the streets as both parents are in prison. The mother's crime, simply that thinking her husband dead she remarried.

Hard to realise that they think their best option is to try to get sent to jail themselves, which they try to do by various ruses.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Pretty Village, Pretty Flame

Hard to follow

(Edit) 15/06/2018

Set in different times zones found it difficult to follow and to realise who was who (boy to man etc)

. Probably would have helped if I was au fait with the different ethnic groups involved in the Yugoslav war

Did not watch to the end as I had lost the plot.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Blackboards

How others live

(Edit) 20/05/2018

You have to watch this just to see how other cultures struggle to obtain the things (education etc) we take for granted.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Girl from Paris

French film making at its best

(Edit) 25/04/2018

A bittersweet story of the city girl who decides to opt out of Paris to become a farmer. She comes up against the previous cantankerous owner during the first hard winter. There are a couple of quite brutal scenes when the harsh reality of how our meat gets on our supermarket shelf are shown.

Great supporting cast especially the farmer friend who leaves his car windscreen wipers on all Summer, because he does not know how to turn them off.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Aquarius

Gave up half way through

(Edit) 18/01/2018

The film is slow and disjointed. We tried hard to stick with it but after about 45 mins we really had lost interest. Maybe we should have persevered but life is too short to be bored.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
12

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month