Film Reviews by OL

Welcome to OL's film reviews page. OL has written 23 reviews and rated 27 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Enemy at the Door

Good series. Should of made series 3...

(Edit) 26/01/2021

Set in WW2 Guernsey it charts the occupation from collaboration, fraternisation etc which occurs in occupied countries. This is not an action series but a series about the lives of the Islanders.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Essex Boys

Essex Boys - A film on the Rettenden murders

(Edit) Updated 24/11/2020

Essex Boys is a mediocre fictional film based on the Rettendon murders. Script is adequate if you think swearing in every sentence is a requirement. The Bank Job with Jason Statham is far better.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Downton Abbey

Downton Abbey- A missed opportunity

(Edit) Updated 24/11/2020

Watched the series and the film. Felt is was a missed opportunity. The attempted assassination build up could of been better. Too many actors involvement, felt like cameos just to remind you they were in the original series. On the second film, spend more time on the script.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Midway

More action than strategy

(Edit) 06/10/2020

Too much special effects also tried to cram in too much. Tried to include Pearl Harbour - Tora, Tora does it better, the Doolittle Raid is mentioned. Should of included more on on the planning like the 1976 Film. Too much action, not enough background info. Very realistic on details though.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Rebel Without a Cause

Over rated

(Edit) 21/09/2020

Whilst it may of been shocking at the time. It now sees a bit dated. Basically a bunch of teenage delinquents with James Dean trying to stay out of trouble.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Guns of Navarone

The Guns of Navarone -

(Edit) 07/07/2020

British Commandos raid a Greek island to destroy a target stopping an evacuation of Allied troops. The star is Gregory Peck with a supporting cast of David Niven, Anthony Quinn, Anthony Quayle, Stanley Baker and an early role for Richard Harris. Walter Gotell in something apart from James Bond and 1940s war films.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Journey's End

Journeys End -

(Edit) 06/07/2020

If you are looking for an action film this is not it. Cannot compare it to the original play. More about the sacrifice of the soldiers in the front. Was the basis for Aces High.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

On the Waterfront

On the Waterfront - Classic Elia Kazan film about trade union corruption

(Edit) Updated 06/07/2020

A great film with Marlon Brando and Eva Marie Saint in her first film role. Rod Steiger in a supporting role. Lifts a lid on the mob link with the Unions. Onto the film. Perhaps overrated like Marlon Brando.

A bit slow to get into but classic lines more than make for it. Film lovers should watch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hannibal

Hannibal- A disappointment

(Edit) 30/06/2020

The second of Anthony Hopkins Lecter films, this is probably the worst. It seems to exchange plot lines for gore. Gary Oldman's part as the 4th victim was not used properly. His ending- Being pushed to be eaten by pigs was the worst ending for a villain. Jullian Moore replaces Foster. Unfortunately, she seems to confident where as Jodie Foster was a unconfident probationary FBI agent now she is too confident gung ho character which is the opposite of the Silence of the Lambs performance. Ray Liotta inclusion was a bit pointless. A disappointment compared to Silence of the Lambs or Red Dragon.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

The Good, the bad and the Ugly

(Edit) 23/06/2020

The problem with the the Man with no name series is that Leone uses the same actor for multiple characters. Lee Van Cleef is a different character, Leone originally wanted Charles Bronson in Lee Van Cleefs's role. It does not adequately explain it in the film. As much as Lee Van Cleef is a good actor I feel a totally different actor would be better.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

To the Manor Born: Series 1

To The Manor Born

(Edit) 23/06/2020

Probably Penelope Keith's most enduring role. When her old money family loses her home to the nouvea riche Peter Bowles who is in trade. Her worst nightmares come about. Watch past the first episode as it was still finding its feet. Pretty obvious plot but depends if you feel comedies need to be full of swearing to be funny. Think father ted instead of shameless.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Yes Minister

Yes Minister - Best comedy ever

(Edit) 23/06/2020

Yes Minister and Yes Prime Minister are probably the best comedies ever. Paul Eddington as the new minister and Nigel Hawthorne as the Machiavellian Private Secretary. Derek Fowlds as the PPS. Probably the best comedy made. Puts modern comedy to shame.

Anthony Jay and Johnathon Lyn said they did not want to do any extra Yes Prime ministers to keep the quality. However, the quality is so good compared to other comedies a slight decline would be forgiven.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Harry Brown

Great Micheal Caine Film - A British Death Wish

(Edit) 22/06/2020

A British Death Wish- Ex Marine goes vigilante after police failure to find his friend's murderers. Great film, still waiting for sequel?

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Zulu

Zulu - Film of Battle of Rorke's Drift. Watched it before it is banned due to political correctness.

(Edit) Updated 22/06/2020

Zulu - Film of Battle of Rorke's Drift - Unfortunately a film like this will not be made again. A Kipling like story of British Colonialism in 19th Century Africa. The first starring role for Michael Caine, Stanley Baker in main role.

A review on here said the fight scenes are unrealistic. This is the early 60s not the 2000s. Epic photography of Africa, gets into action quickly as well as good explanation of who each character is. Have watched multiple times, probably not for people if they only like Marvel films.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The High Command

High Command

(Edit) Updated 20/06/2020

Late 1930's film with early minor role for James Mason. Shot in British West Africa as it was then. Would of been better if had been longer to allow proper plot development. Too short which meant not enough plot development.

But ok for a one off viewing. Probably a quota quickie.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month