Film Reviews by SD

Welcome to SD's film reviews page. SD has written 9 reviews and rated 62 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Way

Disappointing

(Edit) 19/06/2018

A wasted opportunity.

Disappointing.

Dreary.

Lack of character development.

Couldn't care less about each individual's back story.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Detectorists: Series 1

The best type of gentle British Comedy Drama

(Edit) 21/02/2018

I always enjoy dramas set in and celebrating the landscape. The characters a nicely drawn. You need to give it time and you will be rewarded. Absolutely blissful.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Girl with a Pearl Earring

a favourite

(Edit) 04/01/2018

I have seen this film umpteen times and still enjoy it. Each frame like a painting. The Special features are worth watching.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Joanna Lumley's Japan

Brilliant Joanna

(Edit) 23/10/2017

Fabulous in every way.

I havebeen to Japan and this captured some of the wonderful essence - I want more!!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Into the Wild

Long and slow

(Edit) 30/03/2017

OK - slow and long, with some good photography.

Difficult to know what was fact and what fiction, not sure the message if there was one came across.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Effie Gray

Intelligently beautiful

(Edit) 05/05/2016

Stunning settings, wonderful costumes. Perfect performances. Be sure to listen to Emma Thompson and Dakota Fanning talking about making the film in the extra bits.

First class.

Let's have MORE like this.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Detectorists: Series 2

Brilliant!

(Edit) 27/04/2016

Gentle humour, truly British, wonderful shote of nature, nice character build ups. Would love to see Series 3.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hector and the Search for Happiness

Easy watching with a bit of everything

(Edit) 30/09/2015

Good pace, humour, travel, some tension (but not too much),relationships - and you just gotta love Simon Pegg.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

My Boy Jack

My Boy Jack, disturbing

(Edit) 05/11/2014

I do find any film about War disturbing.

I have just visited Batemans, the home of Rudyard Kipling, and one of the most idyllic, peaceful places I've ever been to - I was keen to soak up a bit more of the life there. It was definitely NOT a good film to watch from that respect and gave a disturbing picture of the family dynamics.

Ok just as a film though.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month