Film Reviews by SM

Welcome to SM's film reviews page. SM has written 8 reviews and rated 9 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Born Yesterday

Terrific movie!

(Edit) 15/02/2021

I laughed so much during this film...a sterling performance by Judy Holliday.....so skilled in her portrayal of a 'dumb blond'!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

It Started with Eve

Terrific movie!

(Edit) 14/10/2020

We loved this film,the characters were well drawn and the acting slapstick but terrifically funny.The leads had a great rapport and their comic timing was superlative!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Shadow

O dear.....

(Edit) 02/10/2019

Not the best of choices!

I firmly believe that this film was simply trying too hard to be a 'Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon' type of show.

It failed miserably!

We watched an hour of this and finally gave up as the action was poorly directed and the actors themselves were struggling!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Isle of Dogs

Wonder filled!

(Edit) 22/08/2018

Loved this movie so much I will buy my own copy!!

The stop-go animation was so touching...the fur of the dogs and the shine in their eyes at moments of sadness....the marvellous actors' whose voice talents were so wisely chosen and the story that was impressive...needless to say I love this movie!!

THANK YOU Wes Anderson!

3 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Secret Beyond the Door

Recommended.... a great show!

(Edit) 26/06/2018

What an interesting movie.......weird and wonderful roles played by actors at the top of their game!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets

Good Interesting original movie

(Edit) 13/04/2018

We really enjoyed this movie...it seemed really fresh and original....the young supermodel was excellent and proved herself worthy of the name actress!Exciting and well worth the two hours viewing time.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Man Called Ove

Just as marvellous as the book

(Edit) 11/02/2018

I sat down to watch this with real trepidation as I was sure it would not be as terrific as the book.However I was delighted to find that it was every bit as good!The performances were moving and sincere and I was reduced to a quivering sobbing wreck.

A wonderful film.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Chase

What a story!

(Edit) 31/01/2018

I thought this great black & white classic was tremendous!

I have been a fan of older movies for years and thought I had pretty much seen most of the DVD's that were worth watching ,

I was wrong though....ok the quality of this one was a tad grainy and the sound was in parts poor but the story was worth these minor issues!

I never saw the ending coming and enjoyed this movie ....on these grounds I would recommend 'The Chase' as a terrific show!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.