Film Reviews by AA

Welcome to AA's film reviews page. AA has written 157 reviews and rated 164 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Call to Spy

Insight into the Special Operations Executive

(Edit) 10/12/2020

I enjoyed this film about the social operations executive and the valuable work undertaken by women as spies etc to disrupt the Nazi regime in France.  Had me glued to the screen, the acting from the cast was first rate and I had empathy for the people chosen and traumas they went through to help us win the war.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Monsoon

Return of the place of my birth

(Edit) 30/11/2020

A charming film about a now British subject returning to his birth home and the experiences he has meeting people who knew him and his family and hook ups he had made prior to his journey.  Very watchable film and the story flows a steady pace and gives an insight into the experience of a person returning to their birth place many years later!

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ghosts of War

Very Strange

(Edit) 25/11/2020

War Film?, Science Fiction?, Out of the World Experience?, that is the conundrum of this film, but after the first 20 minutes it became one long drag and I gave up trying to make out what was going on, and the ending came as a relief!  Even the acting of the cast could not save it!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Summer of '44

The End of WW2 from German Eyes

(Edit) 25/11/2020

Interesting film of how a group of youths in the summer of 1944 were enlisted to fight for the fatherland and the subsequent events that occurred in their lives!  Interesting from a Historical view point but as a piece of entertainment one for those really interested in anything to do with WW2!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Little Nothings

A French take on the Department Store

(Edit) 16/11/2020

Very watchable film about the task of trying to save a large Parisian department store and the minutiae details of the staff and the departments that they work in and issues that arise when a new head is brought in to save the store.  Not a classic but watching on a very wet and windy day eased the gloom and did provide some cheer!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Matthias and Maxime

Growing Up

(Edit) 16/11/2020

Interesting film about two childhood friends who share a kiss as a stunt, but which has repercussions going forward!  Whilst watchable I found the story line rather thin and the characterisations of some of the characters dubious.  Not a film I could recommend!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Rifleman

Another Slice of WW1 Horrors

(Edit) 10/11/2020

Centred around the attempted take over of Latvia by the army of the Kaiser as it tries to tale control of Latvia and the privations that the country went through to stave off their take over.  Interesting from the view point of inter woven stores about specific soldiers and their exploits during the conflict.  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Arkansas

A Sub Culture

(Edit) 06/11/2020

in which Kyle and Swim live a secretive life as drug runners apart from their day time employment.  Complex film of how they they descend to become drug runners for a boss they do not know.  The subterfuge continues whilst they maintain their day time jobs, relationships etc.  However they get curious as to who they are working for, misconceptions get in the way leading to a very interesting finale.  Watchable and you are kept wondering just how it will play out, and a film to pass away some of the boredom that COVID19 is bringing during lockdown! 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Acrobat

Was it Love or Lust

(Edit) 05/11/2020

interesting film that for the first 90 minutes flew by, but then as it reaches its denouement it began to sag and the ending I found rather flat.  The acting from the lead actors was excellent and the starkness of the sets added to the mystery!  Well worth a watch but could it have been better?

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Retake

Trying to Relive the Past

(Edit) 03/11/2020

The film centres around a middle aged gay man looking for a youth to help him recreate a journey he had made with a similar person 20+ years earlier.  Interesting as a concept and the actors do their best with the script but I was left feeling that so much more could have been done if the film had concentrated on say three of the memories and gone into more detail!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Last Full Measure

Fighting for the Truth

(Edit) 01/11/2020

Interesting and watchable film about the fight to get Airman William H. Pitsenbarger, Jr. the US nation's highest military honour for his courageous efforts during the Vietnam War and the ongoing effects it still has on the survivors of the war and extended families.  Well told and the mix of flash backs and the power play of the Pentagon and Congress made one feel you were part of the moment!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mortal

Waking up the Gods

(Edit) 18/10/2020

Not sure which came first this movie or the Netflix series Ragnarok, both with central characters with extreme powers, which can do good but which other people either want to harness for their own ends or surpress.  The action scenes are good and the visual effects first class, lost its way at about mid point of the film, but saved itself for a spectacular ending! 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Back Roads

Rural America Lid Lifted Off

(Edit) 18/10/2020

A very gritty dour film about life in the back waters off rural America and the pressures and strains it can put upon people and the impact it has.  Well acted by the cast, this is a film not for the feign hearted as it deals with issues of a sexual nature and the pains of growing up!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

One of Our Aircraft Is Missing

War Time Cinema Classic

(Edit) 10/10/2020

The people associated with this film reads like a who's who's of the British cinema and whilst it may look dated the story line and acting are first class and convey the story line that needed to be got across at the time of its premier! 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Heroes Never Die

Harrowing Tale

(Edit) 04/10/2020

Based on the siege of Donetsk airport and the courage of the Ukrainian soldiers and volunteers to stave of the threat from the Russian armed forces, and the extreme pressure they were under to hold their ground no matter what.  The acting of the ensemble cast was first rate and in the way they got across the pressure and strain of the siege!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
1234567891011