Film Reviews by None

Welcome to None's film reviews page. None has written 16 reviews and rated 102 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Lost in Translation

Shallow, Unsympathetic Characters?

(Edit) 18/05/2008

This really is a "love it or hate it" film. The concept was promising but for me, Bill Murray and Scarlett Johansson failed to convey any depth or inspire any sympathy for their characters. I feel dishonest awarding even one whole star for this film.

2 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Terminal

Slow, Dull, Shallow

(Edit) 17/05/2008

I can see how people enjoy this film, but it lacks depth to the point of narcolepsy. Pointless, but still a must see for die-hard Tom Hanks fans.

2 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Butterfly Effect

Darker, and Better than Expected

(Edit) 17/05/2008

Who would have guessed that Ashton Kutcher could act? Well, he did and this film is a lot more powerful than could be expected. Eric Bress and J. Mackye Gruber direct well, and make a good job of maintaining tension.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fried Green Tomatoes

A Long, Worthwhile Journey Through Friendship

(Edit) 18/05/2008

This is a film with too many sub-plots to mention. Kathy Bates and Jessica Tandy weave truly three-dimensional characters with their "present day" friendship, while Tandy's storytelling leads the viewer effortlessly into the deep 1920s Alabama. If anything, it feels longer than than its two hour length, yet the story and the performances are so engaging that the film is a joy to watch.

3 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Aviator

Well Made, But Slow

(Edit) 18/05/2008

DiCaprio acts well, and the cinematography is generally good. The film, however, is just too slow to be truly enjoyable.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Million Dollar Baby

Beautifully Made

(Edit) 18/05/2008

Not for the faint-hearted, Million Dollar Baby is less a boxing movie, and more a superbly weaved story of ambition, emotional scars, and regret.

Again, Clint Eastwood creates a beautifully put together film, where almost every frame is an example of tip-top cinematic photography. The score works well, and the performances are as good as you'd expect from such a heavyweight line-up.

4 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mystic River

Excellent Performances

(Edit) 18/05/2008

Sean Penn and Tim Robbins soundly deserved their Oscars for their roles in this long, compelling story of childhood demons resurfacing in adulthood. Clint Eastwood directs this film with typical attention to detail, creating a strong sense of reality that at times can be hard to bear.

4 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Layer Cake

Good, Solid, British Entertainment

(Edit) 18/05/2008

Layer Cake/L4YER CAK3 is a gangster movie, where the gangsters are credible as real people. It is slick, intelligent, fast moving, well put together, and most of all fun. It is less comic than Lock Stock or Snatch, but no less entertaining.

6 out of 6 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Crimson Tide

Tense, Chilling, Superb

(Edit) 18/05/2008

Gene Hackman as the Captain ("I'm Captain of this boat. NOW SHUT THE **** UP!") and Denzel Washington as XO ("In my humble opinion, in the nuclear world, the true enemy is war itself") play off each other with an electric energy throughout this film. With real tension throughout, this film is worth watching again and again.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Matrix

There is no spoon.

(Edit) 18/05/2008

This stylish thriller, set in a virtual world, is largely held together by superb effects and action sequences. However, that's not all there is to The Matrix. Both the plot, and Keanu Reeves' performance as Neo, work well enough to make this a good film.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Matrix Reloaded

"Everything begins with choice."

(Edit) 18/05/2008

Although slow at first, "Reloaded" extends the Matrix theme and throws up plenty more questions to be answered (or not) in the final instalment of the trilogy. Not worth watching unless you've seen "The Matrix".

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Matrix Revolutions

"Everything that has a beginning has an end."

(Edit) 18/05/2008

Probably the weakest of the Matrix trilogy, Revolutions tries to tie up the loose ends from the previous two instalments. While the effects are at least as good as the original, the story weakens and overall the film is less satisfying.

It is not worth watching unless you've seen both The Matrix and The Matrix Reloaded.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mission Impossible

"This tape will self-destruct in five seconds."

(Edit) 18/05/2008

Action packed and with a complex plot, Mission Impossible is a slick, glossy spy thriller with good performances from Tom Cruise and Emmanuelle Béart. Watch out for the large shattering fish tank in Prague.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Under Suspicion

Strong Performances With Intelligent Plot and Dialogue

(Edit) 18/05/2008

Sharp dialogue, along with superb performances from Gene Hackman and Morgan Freeman make this film (based around a series of interrogations following the murder of two children) electrifying. It is one of the most intelligently presented crime dramas of all time, but won't please viewers who need action sequences or a fast-paced plot.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hard Rain

Reasonable Thriller

(Edit) 18/05/2008

Hard Rain is a fairly entertaining, fast paced thriller with Morgan Freeman in one of his weaker roles. The plot flows along quite nicely, but the characters are not developed well.

3 out of 4 members found this review helpful.