Film Reviews by None

Welcome to None's film reviews page. None has written 46 reviews and rated 46 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Our Man in Havana

A Cuban tale

(Edit) 07/02/2011

There are the usual fine acting performances that you would expect to see in a British film of this era and the storyline has merit as does the odd injections of humour, but for me it felt short of being a Classic.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Another Year

Character study choice

(Edit) 22/04/2011

I quite enjoyed this film but I can appreciate why people, (including my wife) didn't as it is totally lacking in any excitement and offers only a minor sprinkling of dry wit. It is however full of great characters with Mary and Ronnie of particular interest. Even bearing this in mind it still drags a bit and I was disappointed that they didn't tie up the lose ends.

3 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

I Am Love

So dissapointing

(Edit) 05/05/2011

Why did this film receive so many awards?? Yes there are some good actors and actresses and the location is pretty but it is so boring and I could not connect to any of the characters so that when tragedy strikes I felt "who cares"!

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Winter's Bone

Miserable Winter

(Edit) 22/04/2011

A slow start and the pace doesn't improve greatly throughout but quite an interesting film nevertheless. Quite chilling to think that people could act in the way that they are portrayed in this film or live in such conditions but they probably exist.

3 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Town

Cops and robbers modern style

(Edit) 05/05/2011

I actually found this film quite entertaining although I didn't make much of a connection with any of the characters. It moves along at quite a pace and the romantic sub plot is nicely weaved into the main story without overplaying it. There are moments that are somewhat far fetched and it massively glorifies crime but a decent evenings entertainment.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

London Boulevard

London was never this boring

(Edit) 17/05/2011

After about 20 minutes of watching Colin Firth in the role as Mitchell I couldn't help but wonder how Michael Caine of Get Carter fame would have played the part. I suspect that within that time you would have developed an affinity with the character, something that was still lacking 60 minutes later when I began to fast forward. David Thewlis who played someone called Jordon (didn't work out who he was supposed to be) was the only interest in an otherwise extremely dull movie with a incredibly weak plot that also happened to be extremely confusing.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Prophet

The reality of prison life and crime

(Edit) 07/05/2011

Great film for those who enjoy the gritty reality of true crime. Malik El Djebena (Tahar Rahim)puts in an incredible performance as a adolescent on his first visit to prison who gets a baptism of fire and decides to take 'protection' (not that he gets much choice) with terrible consequences.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sympathy for Mr. Vengeance

Difficult to follow but probably worth the effort

(Edit) 11/07/2011

It took me quite a while to get into this film as, particularly in the beginning, it is difficult to work out what is going on and it seemed a bit weird at times but after the actual kidnap takes place it picks up pace and turns into quite an interesting story with a few twists and turns and also a few shocks. Probably worth the effort but if you happen to speak Korean so much the better.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Mist

Can't see the mistery?

(Edit) 15/02/2009

No this is about as 'tense and terrifying' as the co-op supermarket it is enacted in. We ended up fast forwarding through trying to find the scary bits but were found wanting. Silly ending too.

0 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Season of the Witch

Promising premis but too dated

(Edit) 29/05/2011

Joan Mitchell (Jan White) does quite a good job of playing the frustrated, bored but dutiful housewife with a secret, and the concept of a lady in such a position turning to witchcraft as a way out is not as far fetched as it may seem as woman will turn to religion for fulfilment where it is lacking. This film is just too dated however and is lacking in conviction. At one point Joan tells her boyfriend, "I knew that you would come around when I called you because I had asked the powers to bring it about" Yea, but you had also called him up and asked him around so let's not get too excited!

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Suspicions of Mr Whicher: The Murder at Road Hill House

Well played who dunnit

(Edit) 26/05/2011

Paddy Considine as Inspector Whicher is the making of this drama as he plays the role in a completely unique fashion and thereby brings a whole new approach to the classic who dunnit drama. The fact that the film is based on a true story adds to the interest but it would stand on it's own as it has all the ingredients of an Agatha Christie. I wonder why Paddy didn't get snapped up for a follow up series?

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Monsters

Pro's and con's

(Edit) 25/05/2011

In some ways I thought that this is actually a very well thought out film. Our 'heroes' as it were are placed in a foreign land and are desperately trying to get home. The Mexican setting which is portrayed as a bit shabby and impoverished adds to sense of discomfort that you feel for the characters and the clever use of dusty signs warning of the "infected area" gives a sense of realism to the drama of the situation that they and the people around them are facing. The film could have had a bit more pace to it and I do wish that every romance wasn't at the cost of an existing relationship which so often is the case these days but the chemistry between girl and boy is definitely there. In terms of con's, don't get this thinking you are in for a fright as I'm afraid it is not scary at all. In fact I think this may have been intentional (when you see the final scene, you will know what I mean).

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader

Great family entertainment

(Edit) 22/05/2011

Another impressive film in the CON series with great scenery, and effects and glorious colours. Sturdy performances from all parties with a particularly bright one from Will Poulter as Cousin Eustace, (annoying at first but you soon warm to him). In keeping with the original book, this is a children's story so everything is a little exaggerated but it's in good taste and is great entertainment for a young family.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Virgin Spring

Every parents worst nightmare

(Edit) 14/05/2011

This film is told in a very simple style but does so in a very effective way as it takes you through different aspects of human nature and emotion. Max Von Sydow is excellent as the 'head of house' and serves to increase the tension simply by his massive frame. I was impressed with the way Bergman chose to portray the parents reaction to the news of their daughters loss. It conveys the remarkable way that humans can manage extremely stressful situations with total calm when the need arises.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest

Sting in the tail

(Edit) 14/05/2011

Another great film in this series and very sad that there will be no more, or will there...?

Noomi won't get any nominations for this one, not because she wasn't great but she just doesn't have as much to do. Mikael Blomkvist (Michael Nyqvist) is more prominent this time as he was in the first file, and a great job he does too. Enjoy!

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.