Film Reviews by PJ

Welcome to PJ's film reviews page. PJ has written 10 reviews and rated 412 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ad Astra

Beautiful but vacuous and poor plot and writing

(Edit) 16/02/2020

Visually this is really impressive and hats off to the DP, art and props/sets depts and especially FX houses. What lets this film down is Brad Pit and the writing and directing. Long verbose monologues (telling rather than showing - I actually think this would have worked better without all the monologues.

The writing is poor - trying to be an exploration into farther son issues/relationships and absent farther etc. It falls short of its other goal of exploration, search for ETs and a viable story. It kind of has the same pretentiousness as interstellar and sometimes the same level of poor physics.

If you want good sci fi watch, Moon, Solaris, or 2001. Fundimentally its boring. The original Russian Solaris is near 3 hours long and is way more engaging. It's a shame because a lot of hard work has gone into this film but its script and direction are lacking.

3 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Pokémon Detective Pikachu

good game to film

(Edit) 03/10/2019

This is very loosely based on the Detective Pokémon game. Overall in a way its like a kids deadpool - the story is ok but the CG is really impressive.

There's plenty of pokemon in this film adaptation and is very funny. I don't think its too hard to work out what's going on but the acting is good. I think the only real let down is the lack of pokemon battles, we have catching them but only one battle which Is over very quickly.

Definitely worth a watch though as it looks amazing. The level of technical work is really impressive both with cinematography and CG.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Silent Voice

Interesting film about bullying

(Edit) 13/03/2018

This is a fairly slow paced Film but it allows both for the development of the characters and story. It is a really interest discussion on bullying, disabilities and mental heath. I would go as far as saying it's the best film about bullying I've seen. It's way better than 13 reasons why and deals with some major topics head on. Well worth watching.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Life

'Death'

(Edit) 30/08/2017

I really wanted to like this film. Ok 1st the positives - first 20 mins are enjoyable and build suspense and set up very well. You can forgive the sheer level of stupidity from a biohazard point of view ( ie containment and exposure of crew) up to this point. Lovely cinematography and effects to be had.

Ok now the rapid come down, Boy is the script and dialogue bad. The actors do the best they can with it but it falls very rapidly into B horror movie area. Also the sheer level of stupidity is overwhelming. These are meant to be highly trained experts and they just behave as if they are stupid along with the space stations unbelievably bad design flaws ( ie lack of containment etc) Also space craft of this nature would have at least triple redundancy making the whole premise laughable unless the space station had been built by Trump.

So I can go with turn your brain off material but this takes itself way to seriously to allow that to happen. Design elements/action/script is borrowed from quite a few films - alien(s), Gravity, species, and a hold host of horror tropes are thrown in making this a very derivative film.

I feel sorry for the VFX team who obviously put a lot of time and effort in - shame the same isn't true about the script or direction. It so very quickly descends into bog standard horror material and not a lot making any real sense. It's more 'morons in space' or should be called 'death'.

You may enjoy this if you can ignore the stupidity of the crew otherwise there are a lot better sci fi horror films out there to be had

6 out of 7 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Spring

Interesting Horror that doesn't go where you expect.

(Edit) 23/06/2016

A young man having lost his mother and father and given up on his university study to look after his dying mother has little to keep him in the US so he fly's to Italy to work and have a break. He meets with a girl in a small town after getting a job working on an olive farm. This film starts out like a lot of low budget horror films but although it mildly hints at where it is going keeps its card close to its chest. In a way its more a love story. Very well written - the start of the film the acting is a bit dodgy but the film starts to find its feet and plays out in an unexpected way. There are some subtle and well done effects and some really good cinematography especially in Italy. Well worth watching and doesn't fall in to the usual horror tropes.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fear the Walking Dead: Series 1

Good start to the spin off series

(Edit) 21/12/2015

If your familiar with the walking dead this new spin off will fill a gap. Same production values it fills that space when it first starts and Rick is as sleep in his coma for the first few weeks of the start of the Apocalypse.

New characters, we follow mainly one dysfunctional family as the characters start to find out the extent of the infection and the rules that you know if you've seen the walking dead. It gives you an insight of how quickly organised society falls apart and those you trust are suddenly not trustworthy.

A good start to the new series with some lovely shots which play with the fact -are the walking dead. If you like walking dead then this is definitely worth watching.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Drop

Not your usual organised crime film

(Edit) 23/07/2015

I wasn't expecting that much from this film. Tom Hardy plays a barman who stumbles upon an animal thrown into a bin after been badly beaten. It's cleverly written and acted. The story/screenplay is by the same writer as shutter island. This is a bit of a slow burner but doesn't go where you expect. Well worth a watch.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Walking Dead: Series 4

excellent series just continues

(Edit) 26/01/2015

After everything that has happened with the governor things calm down at the prison. All is not well though with someone feeding rats to the zombies and other things afoot all is not well. This is an excellent continuation of the series - we get more back story and clever flash backs and interesting turns. In some respects as in previous episodes its more about the characters than the zombies. Survival is the number one thing though as everything is turned upside down and by the end of the series we're left on another cliff hanger. There are plenty along the way with some truly heart felt episodes. Definitely worth watching.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Godzilla

We loved it

(Edit) 10/11/2014

Ok first off this is an interesting film as it seems to divide people. Bring the Gozilla story up to present day the film manages to include quite a few nods to previous Godzilla films (Japanese). Taking the subtext of the first film - that of a commentary on dropping nuclear weapons on Japan and linking it to present day. Bringing new monsters (ironically the name directors first film) in to play. If you've watched any 1950s/60s Science fiction monster films you kind of know where this is heading. There is a lot of nods to various films. It also has some of the most impressive CG I've seen. A lot of shots you don't even notice it. The view point of the camera always tends to be from a realistic point of view often with people in shot to give you sense of scale and scale it gives you. Godzilla is 300ft tall and it is shot to give a really sense of scale.

It does take its time to get to the money shots and even then doesn't rush into them. If your a fan of the original films you will probably enjoy this. If you want instant gratification then look else where.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Raid 2

Amazing action film - watch the raid 1st though

(Edit) 12/09/2014

Who would have thought a welsh director would be directing his 2nd major Indonesian film. Firstly if you've not see the first raid film then go away and watch that first. Ok this and the previous film take action and martial arts to another level. The fight sequences are integral to the plot and also develop and push it forward. The 1st film was quite contained in a tower block. This follows on pursuing the thread of bent cops and 3 major gangs. Following Ramas as he goes undercover first in prison to assist him getting into one of the gangs by protecting the gang leaders son in prison he earns favour.

This film has a more involved plot and perhaps does lose something in being more open. The fight sequences are amazing though. I though you'd struggle to improve on the fights from the 1st film but this takes it to a new level. Very clever camera work with a lot of shots done in camera. The car/fight sequence is truly impressive.

Even if your not a fan of martial arts I would give the first raid film a go and if you like that then this is more and then some. I would say its only real major problem is its a bit too long. A word of warning though it is extremely violent and leaves very little to the imagination.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.