Film Reviews by SoniaGee

Welcome to SoniaGee's film reviews page. SoniaGee has written 10 reviews and rated 17 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Conformist

I rented more than once

(Edit) 01/09/2019

This film is visually beautiful. The sets and period were created perfectly.

The acting is so seducing I was gripped, second time of renting.

There is much variety in the scenes, in both Italy and France.

I would be surprised if I didn't rent it again..............such a brilliant work.

I believe it is far superior to most films made.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Come and See

Vital viewing for adults.

(Edit) 18/06/2019

Although largely acted, you will believe all you see.

This shows how war is.

And you will be disgusted by how some people become inhuman.

My star rating is purely on this astonishing film-making

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Westwood: Punk, Icon, Activist

Tremendous!

(Edit) 20/05/2019

Vivienne Westwood is so creative, not sticking to any pre-conceived fashion attitude and therefore disliked by people who must have then tried-and-tested way. Her tweeking (of what starts out like looking awful) becomes stunning! She is a modern wonder.

She is completely how she has always been. Direct, blunt, kind, honest and surprising, to encounter, the first time.

She stays independent so limiting her business growth, doing this to control the style that is her own. Without watering down.

Anyone at all interested in fashion must find this DVD fascinating.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Missouri law-keepers

(Edit) 22/09/2018

This film had me completely gripped all the way through, being totally enveloping for drama.

The main character, Frances McDormand acts brilliantly, as a mother who has lost her daughter, to a rapist.

Missouri is known as a redneck State, and the law-keepers sometimes do, sometimes don't, do their jobs as they ought.

I recommend it wholeheartedly.

Unless you like films with lace--and flowers growing in gardens in your films.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ballad of a Soldier

A beautiful film

(Edit) 13/06/2018

I seldom write a review, but this film was (to me) beautiful. B+W, 1949--it was made, still with

some footage of war, and the aftermath of it.

The personal relationships in it, were most moving.

Yes--perhaps done for the Communist dogma, but lovely , for all that.

I was gripped throughout..........and recommend.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Run and Jump

So delightful and charming

(Edit) 06/09/2017

This film is made mainly by Maxine Peake. She is absolutely natural in the part of a wife living with her husband , a stroke casualty.

Her children are so natural too. Totally charming. The story is credible and I was enraptured totally by the end of it.

Do see it.........you will not regret.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

White Countess

A film with great style and class, in China 1936.

(Edit) 09/07/2017

This film moved me very much. The sets, the costumes, the Chinese scene, and largely the wonderful acting by Natasha Richardson and Ralph Fiennes. It has an authenticity showing human nature, selfish side, and their unselfish sides.I found Natasha Richardson completely credible as a Russian Countess. Fiennes never disappoints.

So sad she that was later was involved in a tragic accident, so early in life.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Lover

Not often does one see such beauty, in a film

(Edit) 21/03/2017

The film was unlike any other I had ever seen, the far East, wonderful acting and cinematography.

A feeling of happiness is still with me.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Army of Shadows

Accuracy and menace

(Edit) 06/02/2017

I watched this film, and was gripped by the cold way the characters were. Both the occupying enemy and the patriots........I felt during it, that it must be exactly how people are during occupation of one's country. Ruthlessness, on both sides. Prime acting, scenery, mood.

Made a few years back when real events were still in memories. One of the best films I have ever seen.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Taste of Others

Initially, a depressing view of people's behaviour

(Edit) 14/01/2017

I will not give any detail here, but this film has much within to make it an outstanding achievement.

I recommend wholeheartedly.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.