Film Reviews by SP

Welcome to SP's film reviews page. SP has written 7 reviews and rated 9 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ghost in the Shell

totally confusing

(Edit) 26/11/2020

Seemed to be more an exercise in possible scenarios of the near future than anything else. We understood less of this than in the non-anime version. Just could not follow it much at all, and there seemed to be no purpose in the story other than making artificial intelligence that wanted to reproduce and all being controlled by greedy corporations. Quite boring really, stuck with it but would have done better just to shut it off early.

One of the rare occasions I was not interested in the making - of extras.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Swades: We, the People

Interesting attempt to point out the problems with old traditions on modern people

(Edit) 13/08/2020

Went quite well, although I still do not know what SWADES means - an acronymn perhaps? The NASA stuff was laughable, real gobbldedgook science speak and obviously not real. Some actors like the American in charge at the initial conference were dreadful performers. I am sure a lot of the village cast - it seemed very populous for such a small place, were locals, and they did well, especially the children. Some good pointers were brought out, the unfair caste system, young men expecting their wives to give up their careers, children married off young and no point seen to be educating girls and so on. These are important of course, but some bits were not thought out, when Mohan returns to India there is no indication as to whether he got work with NASA there nor if he actually married, but the sentiments were good. I imagine if the locals made their own electricity the government would have something to say about that, and this was made before the advent of mobile phones and solar panels it would appear, yet for all the failings of electricity people seemed to be able to run laptops and have lights switched on. The oddest thing was the English subtitles - they do tend to be Americanised sadly, but strangely they were also in archaic English, whether this was due to some songs being traditional religious ones or not I don't know, but if so they were not correct, for example using 'dearth' instead of 'doth'. It was strange to see the text full of thees and thous.

Entertaining and thought provoking nevertheless.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Red Dwarf: The Promised Land

Hilariously funny

(Edit) 08/07/2020

Loved this. Great story and still in keeping with the older series. The gang were great and it was lovely to see the original Holly back again. Good to see a follow up of the felis sapiens cats, though I didn't like the hair styles. One of them looked more like a tamarind monkey and the others were too scruffy and un-catlike, with no tails. The gags like scratch posts and cat flap were good though, as was the giant floppy disk and the lovely Speccy loading sounds. Here and there I did get the feeling that their acting was not quite up to scratch, but as one of them was ill during shooting that might have been the reason as they had to re-do some scenes. Perhaps too many American accents thrown in as well. Worth seeing the deleted scenes included too, as they had even more cat gags in them. I look forward to the next one, which they fully intend to make. Haven't laughed so much in ages. Really cheered us up.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Her

Boring, tedious, overly rude.

(Edit) 04/06/2019

I got this to watch, of course, because I love Joaquin's acting, and watching a dedicated Vegan in action helps too. He acted as well as ever, and it must have been pretty difficult as most of the film is taken up with him alone. The sexual aural and proxy porn was embarrassing, vile, and illogical. A personality developed on a supercomputer would surely have better things to interest it than that! The film was disturbing in that so many people were choosing to have relationships with the computer - and it was essentially only one they all shared, no surprise there - instead of working hard to develop normal human relationships and take note of their surroundings. Even when Joaquin's character meets his nearly-ex-wife, he cannot communicate with her enough to express his real feelings yet can with a piece of electronic machinery! Daft. The end was very predictable and showed that humans had learned nothing from the pointless experience of having a 'relationship' with a non-physical entity. This film was so dull and silly that my husband and I took a break halfway through, did more interesting things like sit in the garden watching the breeze in the trees and the birds feeding and then went back to it after a couple of hours. Definitely not a good film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dark Portal

slow and confusing with no clear ending

(Edit) 22/07/2018
Spoiler Alert

I have to say that the setting for this film was in the darkest, most dismal and ugly home imaginable. Long dark corridors, equally dark rooms, most with dark doors with an almost invisible chinese-style pattern on. These doors hid kitchen cupboards and room entrances, which were so narrow they were barely wide enough for a person to walk through, where the doors themselves were almost invisible. The rest was in wide open glassed areas that seemed to stretch in columns against an unidentified hillside with no signs of human habitation. Despite this, the film is not really horror, but science-fiction.

There was no explanation as to what had happened to the girl's arm nor to her mother, and no explanation about whether her dog was speaking telepathically or carrying the gadget which contained her mother which spoke to her. What time was it set in and where did the cube come from?

Even if you get some gist of time-travel it takes a long time of wading through the slow chapters of the film (each labelled), before you have any guesses as to what is going on. There is also some extreme violence which is over-the-top even though the reason for it is explained - the Trojan horse idea, get an injured girl to be taken into the house to enable a crime to take place, but the 'fake' set-up violence is totally over-done.

Another irritation is that a very large amount of the film is acted out long-distance. You feel you are in a theatre in the rearmost seats trying to work out what is going on on-stage, as it is so far away it is difficult to make out which characters you are watching. I see no point in this as it is less 'arty' and more frustrating than anything.

Next the acting. I don't like subtitles in films as they detract from the film itself (unless it is a foreign-language film or American, where I need the subtitles because their diction is so bad), but in this one they spoke so quietly, in mostly English accents, though one might have been Australian, that it was really hard to make out what they said, each of us going 'what?' at many points in the film. But in a really rare situation, there were no subtitles available! In this film you most certainly need subtitles. The actual acting varied up and down througout from very poor or totally over-the-top histrionic.

Many of the actions were bizarre and a day later we are still trying to work out why they were there. For example on bringing an injured girl into the house why was she immediately submerged in a water bath that seemed to be at the end of a corridor? Why was a bath of water even there when you might fall into it at any point?

There was no clear ending, just an intimation of what had probably occurred and was going to occur and you were left wondering, right through the credits as it focussed on the cube, we were expecting something to happen after the credits rolled as so often does in films now

(and this is a 2017 film) but it didn't, the cube stayed the cube and that was it.

So in all I would say that unless you really want to punish yourself for some masochistic reason I would say give this odd film a miss.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Strike: Career of Evil

started well ended badly

(Edit) 21/04/2018

I was really looking forward to see Strike again with his interesting relationship with Robin. The detective part of it was OK, but it was totally disappointing that she went back to her possessive drip of a boyfriend. You were kept on tenterhooks until the end and I was so put out by the dreadful ending the programme was quite ruined.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Drona

OK story, great effects but missing something

(Edit) 10/02/2018

Drona is a mythological story written in the Indian style of gods and the tasks they give humans. It is nice in that it is not yet another re-hash of the traditional stories, Indian TV I find gets awfully bogged down in these, rarely adding new stories which is a shame. So this one is an interesting tale, if a bit weak here and there. The Drona line - all the firstborn males are called that, but there is no indication they ever have more than the one child, are tasked with protecting the nectar of the gods. Why they cannot look after it themselves and why they cannot make the human caretaker immortal so he can always look after it beats me, but that's the story. The film starts with the usual sob story of the motherless little boy ill-treated by the saas, but there is a twist to that as he is there for his protection. However when discovered by the wicked demon all his neighbouring protectors who come to his aid seem to be very easily killed, and only one continues with him, his 'shadow', Sonia.

The fight scenes and effects are good here, but the plot gets lost by previously having a hugely long song and dance scene which in my opinion comes too early in the film. It also inexplicably has him dancing with a little found dog as a companion which is sweet, but then the dog is forgotten and one wonders what became of it, did he just abandon it? The film seems to be set in Prague, yet the accent some people speak is Cockney London - what the? A little continuity or correct scene setting would have been better here.

The rest of the tale transports you more to the medieval past with the palace, shrines to the dead and mythical city, he seems out of place with his modern western gear - where are these lands where it looks like 500 years ago?

Despite these issues the story rolls along well enough, the effects are very good, I especially liked the clever but creepy faces of his ancestors in the sand presumably giving him advice, and the comic book sections of back story.

It was great that both Sonia and Drona did most of their own fighting and stunts and it was good to see an actress doing a bit more than just looking pretty. Other characters apart from the demon tended to be a bit sidelined, the queen stood bemused in the path of evil magic flying towards her where normal people would have jumped out of the way, especially if they knew how wicked their enemy was which she did. The demon killed his clone yet this was puzzling too as he turned out to have hundreds of them already so why kill that one without any good reason, not letting it develop?

That apart, the music was pleasant and the puzzles and challenges quite impressive, with the later implied threat indicating perhaps a sequel or perhaps them not being as successful as they thought. So yes I enjoyed it, but it did lack something.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month