Film Reviews by MM

Welcome to MM's film reviews page. MM has written 12 reviews and rated 13 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

MLK/FBI

A 'Must-See' documentary film

(Edit) 19/05/2021

Growing up in the 1950's I was taught about the American Declaration of Independence 'all men are created equal' - Enlightenment values etc. I later spent a lot of time trying to get my head around the fact that the American south had a slave economy. (The architecture of Washington was based on ancient Roman/?Greek styles - also slave economies.) Slavery was (is) brutal and an unspeakable injustice, the effects of which are still being felt by many black people in the USA (and elsewhere). This film really does highlight the legacy of slavery - as MLK said - 'how can you expect people to pull themselves up by their bootstraps, when they don't have boots' - people left with nothing materially, but often a fighting spirit, worthy of great respect, well highlighted in this film.

Still can't get my head around it!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

3 Faces

Mesmerising

(Edit) 07/05/2021

A totally engaging and serious film, set in Iran - a perfect, slow film, with excellent acting and cinematography - transporting you to the people, the landscapes, with subtle and not-so-subtle insights into the culture, particularly the lives of women - but also the men - very highly recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Il Postino

A real gem

(Edit) 12/04/2021

Don't miss this lovely film - a moving story, beautifully acted with wonderful Italian scenery - a 'slow' movie of authentic human interest.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Leviathan

Engrossing Film

(Edit) 31/03/2021

Well worth watching - in fact the acting is gripping. The story looks under the skin of appearances, to the way power is really wielded, nearly always advantaging those in control. Set in Russia - but in fact universal. Would be fascinating to see a film which so powerfully illustrates the corruption of privilege, set perhaps in Britain today......(not the Downtown Abbey variety!).

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Mystery of Picasso

Fascinating

(Edit) 17/03/2021

A slow start, but then got increasingly interesting - an insight into the magical creative process of Picasso. Most people interested in art would probably enjoy it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

My Brilliant Friend: Series 2

Unmissable

(Edit) 22/02/2021

Superbly acted and directed, with brilliant cinematography and haunting music. I will not reprise the storyline, which is available elsewhere.

The story, told through time, profoundly explores the human condition and the lives of several families and individuals, especially the experiences of the two women who are at the heart of the story. Very unusually, the Ferrante books lose nothing in translation to the screen (the author was involved in the film scripts), but remain just as compelling and powerful - perhaps even more so. Slow cinema at its best and for me, never a single dull moment - simply mesmerising.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Widows

Disappointing

(Edit) 08/02/2021

Watched the first 25 minutes, then gave up. One of those crash-bang-wallop type American movies - Ok if you like them - a big mistake for us to order - should have read up on it first! Also the dialogue was not always easy to catch. Disappointing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Happy as Lazzaro

Unusual - hooks you in

(Edit) 01/02/2021

Others have explained more fully their views of this film. I began, after a slow start, to really warm to this excellent film - well acted with intelligent, insightful themes and narratives. A most unusual and quite mesmerising film - definitely recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Moonstone

ABSORBING WATCH

(Edit) 25/01/2021

Acting/direction maybe a bit wooden, but overall enjoyable watch of an old classic novel. Worth seeing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Harriet

Highly recommended gripping film

(Edit) 21/12/2020

Harriet Tubman - this film illustrates what an unbelievably courageous and all round amazing woman this lady was. Throws into relief the bitter cruelty of slavery as an embedded institution in the southern states of America - how this ever co-existed alongside the Declaration of Independance has always astonished me. A highly recommended film.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Knives Out

Entertaining

(Edit) 02/12/2020

Got better as it went along - an enjoyable jolly romp except for Daniel Craig's grating accent - a pity - otherwise well worth 4 stars

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Parasite

Highly recommended

(Edit) 26/11/2020

Other viewers have already outlined the story, which I found to be original - both funny and tragic - with excellent acting and brilliant direction - making the film well worth watching.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.