Film Reviews by AA

Welcome to AA's film reviews page. AA has written 92 reviews and rated 98 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Farewell

The Matriarch

(Edit) 26/03/2020

Interesting film about the final days of the family matriarch who is terminally ill and how the family try to manipulate things to keep he happy in what they believe are her final days.  Add to the mix an organised wedding, the arrival of a son and wife who emigrated to the United States and their daughter who believes she should be told how ill she is and the ensuing machinations keep the film moving along.  I enjoyed it as it reminded of the time I spent living and working in Singapore. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Men of Hard Skin

Coming of Age

(Edit) 18/03/2020

The film centres around Ariel and the awakening of his sexual desires which had been activated by his local priest, and his journey into wider sexual dalliances which impact his family. Interesting and good performances from the actors, but the film left underwhelmed!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Picking Up the Pieces

SO OUT DATED OVER THE TOP PERFORMANCES!

(Edit) 14/03/2020

Woody Allen, David Swimmer, Kiefer Sutherland and Sharon Stone must have been desperate for work when they signed up for this comedy! SI-FI fantasy that all these years later is so dull there are hardly any laughs and for me became at times embarrassing!  If there is a star it was the little dog!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Judy

Curates Egg of a Film

(Edit) 14/03/2020

Very Good in parts, but at other times stretching it to fill the film out.  Cast very good with a tour de force performance from Renee Zellweger, wonderfully support by Jessie Buckley in particular!  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Windermere Children

Life After WW2 ended

(Edit) 12/03/2020

A thought provoking film covering a group of child survivors from the Holocaust, who were brought to UK to start a new life.  This group were sent to a facility on the shores of Lake Windermere, where a group of volunteer therapists are there to help them come to terms with what has happened to them and at the same time be prepared to be assimilated into life their new life in the UK.  Thought provoking but at the same time covering the issues the children were having and the cautious looks etc they were getting from the local population.   

The most interesting part for me was the final credits and you are shown some of the children who were at the facility and what became of them!  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Deadline Gallipoli

Australian View of GALLIPOLI

(Edit) 29/02/2020

Interesting series viewed from the Australian perspective of what happened during the landings and impasse that followed until the withdrawal. Add to that the interlinked story of four newspaper correspondents and how they viewed the offensive and reported it.  What the series did not cover was the fact the Australian forces were escorted from Singapore by a squadron of the Imperial Japanese Navy.   

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Leave It to Levi

A Film of Two Halves

(Edit) 28/02/2020

Interesting film about Levi Carter, a well known leading light in the Gay Scene of New York.   The film then focuses on his transition into a trans artist and how he breaks the news to his mother!  Watchable but the towards the end my mind was wandering as it became rather repetitive!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Official Secrets

Dirty Tricks

(Edit) 25/02/2020

My type of film, based on a true story, and the skullduggery that a government is prepared to go to, to keep the truth away from the public and media.  The cast of very well known actors all played their roles to perfection and like all things in life there are light moments to defuse what could have been a very seriously heavy film.  

6 out of 6 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Operative

NOT SURE IF I WAS THE AUDIENCE IT WAS INTENDED FOR

(Edit) 24/02/2020

Strange film about a MOSSAD agent who somehow becomes a rogue in the eyes of the organisation and the attempts to bring her back under control!  Long winded for my taste and the story line for me was getting thinner as the film progressed.  Credit to the actors for keeping one interested by their performances but the structure of the film was not strong enough to grip my whole attention! 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Kanarie

Good Film that could do with a further edit

(Edit) 20/02/2020

Interesting film about life for conscripts who are posted to South African Defence Force Choir and tour the country giving concerts and meeting the Afrikaans in the main, who attend their concerts and socialise afterwards.  Interesting the interplay from within the group and the fact that their superiors are men of the cloth gives an added twist to the story.  As the film evolves relationships begin, grow and end?  But also how the individual members also evolve over the course of the year.  Personally I think there are about 20-25 minutes of what I class as surplus material that could be culled and provide a much more cohesive narrative!  

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Goldfinch

Have not read the book and unaware of what was to come

(Edit) 19/02/2020

Interesting film, with some excellent acting performances, but a story line that kept jumping back and forth in time that  for me detracted from the cohesion of the storyline.  Excellent performances from the lead actors, but felt that some were being curtailed to keep the film down to a manageable length.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Scarborough

DIRE

(Edit) 16/02/2020

Was so disappointed with this four hander, the acting was limited by the script and at times I felt they were going through the motions and sad to see Scarborough looking so run down from the times I used to visit regularly when I lived in Beverley and Hull!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Cakemaker

What a Gem this is!

(Edit) 16/02/2020

My partner and I absolutely loved this film, with its humour, passion, pathos, and so expertly created by the actors who performances were 5 star.  The story line was perfect and the director and crew got the atmosphere so perfect that the time just flew bye.  This is the must see film of 2020 if you have not already seen it!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hotel Mumbai

Was living in Singapore at the time and people visiting the hotel for a conference died!

(Edit) 13/02/2020

Interesting film highlighting the tragedy of the raid on the Hotel Oberoi and the shock waves it sent around the world at the time.  I had to travel to Tokyo and Hong Kong shortly after and  security in the hotels I stayed in was very tight compared to previous visits such was the impact of the attack.  Not a film for the faint-hearted!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

By the Grace of God

Breaking the Code of Silence

(Edit) 11/02/2020

A very thoughtful film covering the breaking of the code of silence that had shrouded the Catholic Church for years with regard to illegal sex with under aged boys.  Very thoughtfully told, but at the same getting the message across of what actually was happening, and how a group of victims got together to expose the scandal and rock the Catholic Church. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
1234567

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month