Film Reviews by AA

Welcome to AA's film reviews page. AA has written 56 reviews and rated 58 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Third

DULL THIRD

(Edit) 14/12/2019

From reading the synopsis I expected so much from this film and was disappointed in that the story line was patchy and as the lead characters seemed to have a drink problem I was not sure if I was watching actual events or what they thought through a drunken stupor was happening.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Orde Wingate

Barry Foster Tour de Force performance

(Edit) 11/12/2019

Interesting episodes covering the career of Orde Wingate an Allied commander during WW2, best known for his handling of the Chindit campaign in Burma during WW2.  Born into a religious and military family, with Lawrence of Arabia a distant family member covering his exploits in Eithiopia, his view that the concept of a homeland for Jews within the British Empire was something I was not aware of.   

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Tenth Man

Rather slow Graham Greene

(Edit) 08/12/2019

Rather slow film, to get into and the story line slowly builds up to the denouement.  Great opportunity for the lead actors to get into their parts and they succeeded.  For me it missed that special moment that I have grown to associate with Graham Greene books and the films of them.  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Jonathan Agassi: Saved My Life

Rise and Fall

(Edit) 04/12/2019

Interesting film about the life of Jonathon Agassi who's stratospheric rise to be one of the leading porn stars of his generation, but it did come at cost, and his downfall was equally as fast to the point where today he is no longer in the industry.  Watchable to a point but towards the end I did find myself wandering and thinking about other things!  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Robert the Bruce

Never Give Up Hope

(Edit) 01/12/2019

Interesting film covering a period in the life of Robert the Bruce after losing a crucial battle against the English, injured finds refuge in a croft on land owned by Scots who have sworn allegiance to England.  Taken and cared for by the widowed peasant her son, niece and nephew, they bring him back to health and assist him in claiming his rightful place as the King of Scotland.  Excellent performances from Angus Macfadyen as Robert and Anna Hutchinson as the widow.    

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mr. Leather

A Look at the Leather Scene in Sao Paulo

(Edit) 01/12/2019

An interesting film for about the 1st hour, but then for me it got bogged down and was grateful for the end.  Centred around the 2018 Mr Leather competition, showing how the scene in Sao Paulo had evolved, but towards the finale it sagged as they interviewed the 4 contestants competing for Mr Leather 2018! Not a film I can recommend!  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Resistance Fighter

The Battle for Poland from Polish Eyes

(Edit) 27/11/2019

Interesting film about the Jan Nowak, an emissary between Poland's Home Army in Poland and the Polish Government in exile in London and the skulduggery that was going on behind the scenes to keep Stalin on board to defeat Hitler.  A very marked man by the AXIS powers and hunted relentlessly the film captures a period of his life when he was focused on liberating Poland to be a sovereign state and not become as it did a satellite of Stalin's USSR!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Kursk: The Last Mission

Life is Cheap

(Edit) 27/11/2019

A interesting film covering what is a documented disaster in the Barents Sea off the USSR Oscar class submarine KURSK sank during the first major USSR naval exercise in ten years, on the 12th August 2000.  After failed attempts to rescue the crew they Russian Navy had to turn too late to the Royal Navy to assist them but after all the prevarication and false information being fed to the families of the crew.  A thought provoking film and could it happen again?

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Out of Blue

Waste of a Rental

(Edit) 23/11/2019

Agree with the previous reviewers, this is a film to rent if you are out of options, and I am amazed that BBC Films put there support for it! 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Birdcatcher

Another View of WW2

(Edit) 21/11/2019

Interesting film covering what life was like for locals in Norway during the war and in particular a Jewish girl trying to escape and the pitfalls that she had to overcome.  Not an outstanding film but it did highlight some of the issues current at the time in Norway.  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Revenge

Must have been a Joy to the Fake Blood Producers

(Edit) 21/11/2019

A woeful film about the mistreatment of a lady visitor to a lad retreat in the desert and who did not realise she was there to entertain.  It goes wrong and a blood bath follows as she gets her own back.  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Adonis

Sub Titles would have Helped

(Edit) 19/11/2019

Strange film, good to look at, but sub titles would have helped understand where the film was going and why scenes kept happening!  If you understand spoken Chinese this would be a big help if you choose to watch the film!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Night Watch

The Time Just Flew By

(Edit) 19/11/2019

An absolutely fabulous film, covering the interwoven stories for four characters starting in 1947 and how they are adjusting to life after the war and looking back to their experiences during the war.  The production was excellent and a lot of care must have been given to get the sets etc so perfect, which was matched by a series of stellar performances from the cast who in their own way were excellent.  The BBC at their finest!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Crypto

Interesting Thriller

(Edit) 14/11/2019

This was a slow burner to start with, but it built up to a very satisfying ending which I did not see coming.  

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Yesterday

Beatles Memorabilia

(Edit) 14/11/2019

Interesting film about a struggling musician who after a global power surge blackout becomes the only person in the world to remember the classic songs written and sung by the Beatles, and capitalises on it.  Got slightly bogged down for me at about 3/4 mark of the film but redeemed itself for a fabulous joyful ending .  Great performances from the lead actors and a host of well known actors in cameo roles which were perfect for them!  

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.
1234

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month