Film Reviews by JS

Welcome to JS's film reviews page. JS has written 14 reviews and rated 1016 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Casa de Lava

watching paint dry

(Edit) 08/10/2018

Costa's films are just sooooooo bloody dull. There are some beautiful shots of the Cape Verde landscape but how difficult is it hold a camera up for a few minutes here and there really. Long aimless depressing overdramatic and unbelievable.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Venom

Waste

(Edit) 04/10/2018

Huge let down as venom is a great character and Hardy seemed a great choice to play Brock. why try and deadpool this up and make it funny? Super generic, a waste of time, money and cast. i'm sure this will make a lot of money and they will churn out a sequel that's even worse...sigh. Go watch Under the skin instead.

3 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Francesca

Decent freaky throwback

(Edit) 02/10/2018

An ode to the giallo genre, the scenes from the killers perspective are off the chain and the soundtrack is dynamite. The storyline is a little lacking however and the (presumably deliberate) dubbing seems unnecessary, still well worth watching, good stuff.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Adam and Paul

Average buddy film

(Edit) 02/10/2018

Its OK but nothing special and that I haven't seen before, the main characters voices are relentlessly whiny. The scene with the Bulgarian man is brilliant, there are some gritty bleakly amusing bits.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Joshua Oppenheimer: 12 Early Works

Art? Journalism? Cinema

(Edit) 24/09/2018

Some truly majestic and deep moments amongst this collection of short films from the director of "the act of killing". a few are quite Art school but still high high quality- a great selection of subjects , archived footage and sound clips. Political, experimental, intriguing and revealing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Claim

Pretty vacant

(Edit) 10/09/2018

As always Mullan is superb but even he can't save this. There's just nothing here, the film is as much a cold slog for the viewer as for the frontiersmen in the (nonexistent) story. I'll admit i'm not interested in the history of the gold rush/ American pioneers and I've never been a fan of the western so if anyone is this is probably worth watching.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Boss of it All

Vintage von Trier

(Edit) 10/09/2018

I wish von Trier stuck to making films like this, Satirises and ponders the nature of a small business and film-making brilliantly. So fkn smart, funny and original- the structure, the techniques, the writing, the settings all brilliant. Top stuff.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

All White in Barking / Men of the City

This is London

(Edit) 02/09/2018

Fascinating couple of filmsfrom the master documentarian Mark Isaacs. All White in Barking captures moments that are funny, heartbreaking and frustrating relating to immigration in an East London borough. Still relevant a decade after release especially when considering the subsequent disappearance of the BNP and rise of UKIP. Isaacs says the most intriguing question regarding this division is are we tribal by nature? The question for me is why so often the working class are against the working class, propagated by filthy rags like the express and the mail. This leads on to Men of the City which focuses on the workplace and the men behind their occupations filmed in the city during the 2008 financial crisis. A well pitched character study, Isaacs has a great touch proven by invoking (slight) empathy for a trader from this viewer, that aint easy.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Martyrs

Hostel goes a bit artsy grows a brain and takes it to the max

(Edit) 03/09/2018

Wow absolutely BRUTAL film. Well edited and structured, utterly chilling, rough, hard to watch and very much ott but a must for any horror fan. Sinister.Sick.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Men and Chicken

quirky mystery with taxidermy slapstick

(Edit) 29/08/2018

I wasn't really entirely "with it" as a comedy but the production design, costumes, make up and CG are quality, and it's got some neat concepts and direction, worth a watch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Student

old testament vs modern Russia wrapped in Serebrennikov's conceit

(Edit) 29/08/2018

Difficult to watch adapted play that is a thinly veiled attack on the Kremlin. Very Intense. It is well acted however. Bring your glasses if you don't speak Russian as the subtitles on the DVD are quite small.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Festival

Uncerebral b*******

(Edit) 16/08/2018

Sad times we live in when this film is given a wide release and so many wonderful auteurs are struggling for their art. Whoever wrote this needs to be dropped in the pit at download -maybe they will grow a brain there. Perhaps it deserves one star as it is indicative of commercialised festivals? Wouldn't know I'd rather sit in crying and listening to Max Richter obs. Ticket fee better spent at the pub. P.S yes I am a film snob that's why I'm on cinemaparadiso

3 out of 6 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Upgrade

Swish stylish revenge best served cold

(Edit) 17/08/2018

Whilst not overly original this is an extremely well done film, especially considering it's low budget. Great soundtrack, the action sequences are intense and choreographed nicely, builds up to a pretty chilling finale. Good stuff.

5 out of 6 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Burden

Quality fine art doc

(Edit) 17/08/2018

What a true legend of the game Burden was. This film offers a well rounded critical insight into his life and work. The stories surrounding him and his pieces are funny, thoughtful and well captured. His 70s-80s work remains groundbreaking and terrifying. Thoroughly fitting testament.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.