Film Reviews by SG

Welcome to SG's film reviews page. SG has written 14 reviews and rated 187 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Midnight Sky

What are you doing, George?

(Edit) 27/12/2020

Why did George Clooney make this film?

He directed, produced and starred in this futuristic sci-fi which has not had the best reviews - the plot is as big a mystery as the reason why he made it. It doesn't really get going at all, the first 10 minutes and indeed the next half-hour don't really tell you much about what is going on - so it's hard to invest in the characters. He's lonely and something has happened on earth for him to be on his own, although this is only hinted at throughout the film. Some things in the film are just so obvious you have to wonder why they happened. I had to jump bits of the movie in the second half to get to the ending and see what happened because it was too slow to watch. I'm surprised such a high quality actor and director has released this movie, it just doesn't seem 'finished'.

If you want George Clooney in a tight thriller, look no further than 'Michael Clayton' which is excellent.

Overall 5/10 - very wide of the mark

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

WWII: The Long Road Home

Not very good unfortunately, not worth watching at all

(Edit) 02/12/2020

This film has been hyped up - but it does not match up to expectations at all. Good first director effort but acting, dialogue and sound quality all poor. Even the costume and props look unreal and anachronistic. Shame really as I was expecting great things from this as I've read loads of hype on it. Not much of a WW2 story either, it needs a huge budget injection to keep it afloat.

Watch FURY with Mr B.Pitt instead.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Manchurian Candidate

A superb cat-and-mouse psychological thriller

(Edit) 23/11/2020

Released in 1962, this political thriller really gets under your skin. One year on from this film's opening, JFK died and its leading actor, Frank Sinatra, bought the rights to this picture and took it out of circulation - you will see why when you watch the ending. This movie was then not released until nearly 30 years later - only then was it shown in all its black and white glory. Laurence Harvey is excellent as the disturbed Korean war hero who can't understand why everyone loves him as he knows deep down they hate him. Soon enough, his whole platoon start having flashback nightmares from their tour of duty and it's up to Frank Sinatra's character to work out why. Throw into the mix a scheming conniving mother (Angela Lansbury) who wants unadulterated political power and you have yourself a conspiracy theory. Even Janet Leigh, fresh from Psycho two years earlier, is excellent as the girlfriend of ol' blue eyes.

This is an outstanding film. Just don't even think about playing Solitaire…

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Bay of Silence

This is not the film for you

(Edit) 18/11/2020

Definitely not what I was expecting given that Brian Cox stars in this film. Olga Kurylenko is good (as always) and Mr Cox is outstanding because he always is. But other actors let the film down severely. It races from London to France and back again with a very corny ending - the dialogue of which channels a Disney movie. If you were thinking of great entertainment during Lockdown 2… think again, it’s more frustrating than frightening. The Bay Of Silence needs more pace, a sharper script and more verve to get things going; each scene looked very staged and incongruous to me. 3/10

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Come as You Are

Rip roaring adventure of a different kind

(Edit) 23/09/2020

this film surprised me. it turned into a road trip like no other film i have seen - and with snappy dialogue too. i love films based on a true story and this one is unique in that it is a 'brothel-mission' with a difference. the 3 lads and their driver all gel well after a 'settling in' period and go off to enjoy themselves. the lead, Scotty, is also an MC and is often spitting bars to anyone who will hear it. its a bit slow in the middle but overall a rip roaring ride into hedonism. the real character that this film is based on is also in the film - Asta Philpot - and you can see him in the end credits where he laughs his head off. the jokes are crude and intense...just how they are in real life. give this a whirl and see how they all lived for themselves just for one weekend...

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Madness in the Method

Disturbingly bad

(Edit) 06/08/2020

Not even worth watching for 90mins. This has no real plot and is so lame it is painful. Paint your lounge wall, get a chair and then watch it dry, this would be far more exciting to see. I think Poltergeist 2, Dumb and Dumberer and the inimitable Jaws 4 are better than this one.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Brightburn

Interesting new genre - Superhero Horror

(Edit) 28/11/2019

Mark Kermode said this was good so I tried it out - I wasn't going to watch it otherwise - and i can confirm it's a goodun! It has the usual child Superhero traits ...ie he finds himself and shows himself, but in essence its about the parents and nature v nurture rather than the superhero infant. I didn't even use the FFWD option so that says it all - it's a gripping film that gets under your skin. You root for him but also you don't root for him, if you get my drift. Elizabeth Banks is (always) excellent as his mum and the child actor is quite disturbing. BTW Michael Rooker is only in it for a few seconds, unfortunately (who can ever forget Henry: Portrait of a Serial Killer). Its a dark and brooding B movie well worth your time.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Domino

About as gripping a another Brexit debate

(Edit) 30/09/2019

Poor stuff Mr de Palma. After 'Untouchables' this film simply is a non starter. Weak acting, poor action sequences and Guy Pearce phoning in his performance all really make this a lame flick. Go to B&Q, get some paint and watch it dry for a more immersive experience.

PS I didn't like this movie.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Marathon Man

Chilling masterpeice

(Edit) 01/05/2019

This film is an absolute classic.

Laurence Olivier is unbelievable as the Nazi on the run. Dustin Hoffman is superb as the student who is way out of his depth in this government conspiracy thriller.

You don't get better than the first few minutes of this film - a couple of pensioners arguing in cars in 1976 New York. Never seen an introduction film like this before - it starts the pace and panic very quickly. Every scene has tension and the dialogue contains the outrageously intense three words - IS IT SAFE?

This is one of the best films of the 1970s - you must see it for your collection. Marthe Keller is a great supporting actress as the girlfriend who has a secret to hide. This is a brutal and nasty thriller, watch it!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Juliet, Naked

Uplifting Rom-Com

(Edit) 06/03/2019

I was not expecting too much but was very pleasantly surprised by this one. Chris O’Dowd, Rose Byrne and Ethan Hawke all create a chemistry which really works in this romantic comedy. It’s clearly a modern day love triangle with more step brothers and step sisters than you can count!

It has great dialogue, a toe tapping soundtrack and excellent locations - I knew it was different and waited until the final credits to see it was written by Nick Hornby. This is an uplifting mid-week DVD classic!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hotel Artemis

avoid at all costs

(Edit) 28/11/2018

what was Jodie Foster thinking?

this film is a lame attempt to copy Luc Besson, with dire results. Even Jeff Goldblum can't save it - it's that bad. OTT violence and turgid dialogue make this definitely a straight-to-dvd movie. it's 2028 and the world has gone mad with violence on every street (deja vu?). amongst this chaos is Hotel Artemis - a sanctuary for criminals to be treated for their gunshot wounds. yes - that. is it. the sum of the plot with some classic vinyl 60s tunes. and Dave Bautista being a hardman. again. if i was you i would watch Jaws 3 instead.. ahem

5 out of 7 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Terminal

Terrible

(Edit) 30/08/2018

Margot Robbie, Simon Pegg, Dexter Fletcher & Mike Myers are all good actors - so why be in this film?!

Its weak with a minimal plot and has limited appeal.

its a lame film-noir with snappy dialogue a la Guy Ritchie; don't invest any time on this one folks. its about as interesting as a Brexit debate at 4am on C5.

3 out of 6 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

War for the Planet of the Apes

No more sequels !

(Edit) 29/11/2017

War for planet of the apes is better than number two but not as good as the original

At two hours 15, it’s far too long and simply cannot sustain its running time with such a meagre plot. Woody Harrelson is as good as ever and so is Caesar as the main character. However, some of the CGI is questionable and far too many explosions for me, I thought it was a Michael Bay film at one point.

They should have stopped at the original but Hollywood is unable to do that ??

5/10

Lame..

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Alien: Covenant

Ridley Scott slightly misses the target

(Edit) 13/11/2017

I loved Prometheus and this film fills the timeline between that and Alien.

Alien: Covenant is the ultimate story of 'where did the Xenomorph come from?' Michael Fassbender is excellent as usual, so is Guy Pearce, of course. Katherine Waterston Is very good as the Ridley Scott main protagonist i.e. Sigourney Weaver's character. This film is a lot more commercial than the usual Alien films, and in my esteemed opinion, it is not as good as it should be. Lots of explosions and gory scenes drive the narrative along and answer some serious questions about the Alien series of films.

It's definitely worth seeing, just not as good as the others. BTW obviously I am excluding Alien 3 and Alien 4...

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month