Film Reviews by PhilipC

Welcome to PhilipC's film reviews page. PhilipC has written 12 reviews and rated 23 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The County

It's a Hard Life on an Icelandic Dairy Farm

(Edit) 08/09/2020

There have been some great films coming out of Iceland recently (Rams, Woman at War, and now The County). This portrays a very tough life in real detail. No glamour, but a very real depth of feeling. I loved this film and could really believe in the characters, especially Inga. It really does draw you in and is very though provoking. Definitely one to watch.

4 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sultry and Sexy Trilogy

Not worth watching

(Edit) 19/08/2020

This so called "erotic celebration" is poorly made and not even slighlty erotic! Do not waste your time.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Good Liar

A Good Watch

(Edit) 19/08/2020

I was not sure what to expect from this film. I was looking forward to seeing Helen Mirren and Ian McKellan on screen together (unbelievably for the first time) and I was not disappointed. They were both terrific. I was really drawn into the film and very much enjoyed it. It has several very unexpected twists. Brilliant!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hustlers

Disappointing

(Edit) 24/07/2020

The film is very well made and with some very good performances, but somehow it felt disappointing. There was too much repetition and it just did not seem to go anywhere.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sansho Dayu

An exceptional film

(Edit) 11/06/2020

This was a new discovery for me. It is really so beautifully made. The images are so clear and simple, yet telling a complicated story. Stunning camera work. It is also emotionally wrenching, but really draws you in. I loved it. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Witch

Compelling Horror

(Edit) 21/04/2020

This is not really my sort of film, but I wanted to watch it to see what the Director Robert Eggers (Director of The Lighthouse) had done before - then I missed seeing The Lighthouse before lockdown!

So though I am not sure I liked it (it is not that sort of film), it was a good watch. Catches the fevered atmosphere of religious zealots in early American settlers well, and it draws you in. Beautifully filmed and good performances.

Now looking forward to seeing The Lighthouse even more when I can. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ace in the Hole

The Big Carnival

(Edit) 18/04/2020

Kirk Douglas is excellent as the cynical reporter, manipulating events and people to get his big story. It is a tragic story, and no-one comes out well, but it grips and appals you all at the same time. The Big Carnival was an alternative title when they tried to re-release it after an initial flop, but it is definitely worth a watch.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Quirky tragicomedy

(Edit) 25/03/2020

I loved this film. Very well made and good acting. Frances McDormand is just superb, probably her best role since Margie in Fargo. She really gets under the skin of grieving mother Mildred, and you feel her pain. I lived in the Mid West (Ohio) for a couple of years and the film captures the feel of small town America. Good to see it again.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Nightingale

Powerful Film

(Edit) 11/02/2020

This is not an easy watch. The film is as brutal as the period that is being portrayed, but it is definitely one to watch. Jennifer Kent has made a powerful film, telling an important story.

10 out of 10 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

In the Mood for Love

Be in the mood

(Edit) 20/01/2020

This is a lovely film, and certainly beautifully filmed. It draws you in, but you definitely have to be in the right mood.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

BlacKkKlansman

Hard hitting

(Edit) 20/01/2020

I thought that this was an excellent film. Not an easy watch and disturbing at times, but so relevant. An important film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Not for me

(Edit) 20/01/2020

I had to force myself to carry on watching this. The first half was just so self indulgent and self congratulatory. I am glad I did finish it, but I find it hard to understand why it is up for so many awards. I would not give it any.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.