Film Reviews by GD

Welcome to GD's film reviews page. GD has written 9 reviews and rated 26 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Omar

The human factor

(Edit) 20/05/2020

What a remarkable depiction of the stresses of the occupation at a human level. Brilliantly evokes the circumstances which diminish the lives of occupier and occupied and gives a real feel for the day to day experience, leaving the watcher to wonder how much tragedy there must be before a solution is found. Some truly fine performances and a lead character with real nobility.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Nobel

Rivetting

(Edit) 20/05/2020

Three episodes in. Lots of sympathetic characters and tension. Obviously seen heavily from the western viewpoint with not much development of the Afghan characters (so far). I can't wait to follow the series to its conclusion. On form Nordic Noir.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Our Little Sister

Lovely film

(Edit) 12/03/2020

Gentle and enjoyable family drama. Interesting glimpse of Japanese society and its values. Good to see a film with strong roles for women who are not defined solely by their relationships with men.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Most Beautiful Island

Disappointing

(Edit) 10/05/2019

The synopsis struck the right chords suggesting a tale of topical concern, the struggle of disadvantaged immigrants in affluent, urban settings. Despite the indie vibe I just found this cliched, uninvolving and exploitative.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Call Me by Your Name

Gentle and alluring

(Edit) 28/01/2019

Beautiful film whose main character, Elio, could have been insufferable but was captivating. Perhaps the house was too perfect, the family too understanding and too liberal. A dissenting edge somewhere would have been welcome. Was I the only viewer to see Oliver as a predatory philanderer?

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Killing of a Sacred Deer

Rosemary's Baby Without the menace

(Edit) 19/09/2018

Strong performances by the children. Utterly implausible plot and lead character. Oddly Colin Farrell seemed intent on reprising his role in Lobster but without humour.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Miss Sloane

Strong performances

(Edit) 19/09/2018

Really good cast kept me interested throughout. A great peek into the murky world of the lobbyist though a bit of a fairy tale.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

120 BPM (Beats Per Minute)

Tour de force

(Edit) 03/08/2018

From the political to the personal all aspects of the appalling treatment of aids and its consequences are movingly portrayed. Courage, anger, humour, love, passion, indifference and bewilderment are all here and all expertly communicated by a young cast. From the brilliant portrayal of activist meetings through the set piece demonstrations to the heart rending portrayal of personal loss we were totally engrossed.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Game of Thrones: Series 7

Great Start

(Edit) 11/04/2018

So far I have watched only the first two discs. Been a while since I watched series six and was beginning to feel a bit of series fatigue. That has been swept away. Nice twists, good character development and battle scenes to rival any. Effects and general production quality remain at the highest level. Fantastic romp.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.