Film Reviews by TB

Welcome to TB's film reviews page. TB has written 17 reviews and rated 276 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Face of the Devil

Just don't.

(Edit) 07/09/2020

Really, just don't hire it. It really is, well, something complied in film school.

Why this 'Review' part of Cinema Paradiso requests, no demands, there must be between 100 and 4000 characters, I do not grasp, as this film does not deserve even 100 characters.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Destination: Corsica, Sicily and Sardinia

Simply appalling

(Edit) 18/02/2020

The few reviews I have submitted to Cinema Paradiso have been praiseworthy/complimentary about certain films. However on this occasion I simply have to say this documentary was simply plain awful. It came across as a home-movie that friends would be embarrassed to see. One would think that with a title such as this, the film would show as much as possible of the three islands but alas the narrator/presenter (London/Essex stock) just didn't know how to do this and combined with constant editing, which to me gives the feeling of pace which on islands such as these, in my opinion, is the complete opposite to how it should be. Please Cinema Paradiso, REMOVE this from selection!!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Kingsman: The Golden Circle

Do the washing up instead

(Edit) 31/01/2019

What an appalling piece of garbage. Sorry, that is insulting to those who put so much time and effort in making this movie................but it is endless garbage. Which is a shame as the first movie was quite good in that it was light hearted, had a story base and well played but this just seemed endless gormless violence, a script that quite possibly was written on a fag packet and a budget due to big names that just had to be spent. So, indeed, get up and do the washing up instead :-)

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Long Way from Home

Only view if you have nothing better to do

(Edit) 02/05/2017

Which is an awful title for peoples hard work, I know, but the location, south-east France, with its architecture, light, landscapes, etc, etc is delightful, wonderful. Unfortunately for me the films - great length of 79 minutes - two main characters did not have much character. James Fox, the leading man, does not say much, nor his wife Brenda Fricker whom retire to France, but because of this and the film has no flash backs, the script does not give the two main characters any depth which allows the film to plod along as a plot which I struggled with. When the James Fox character is in the doctor surgery, it is referred he was on anti-depressant, but apart from just one line, there is no other referral as to why his character should be so flat.

Thankfully the film comes partly alive with the introduction of Natalie Dormers character, whom is on holiday for a week with her boyfriend, which as she is young and with lovely natural smiles, James Fox is drawn to. But being the character he is, and old enough to be her grandfather, the film does not venture into an intimate affair, just a simple attraction over that week.

In a way, I was glad it finished but saddened that with such a wonderful location and such a common idea of English folk retiring south, that with a better script and cast, the film could have been enjoyed.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Hundred Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared

Simple and lovely

(Edit) 31/03/2017

I have not read the book so felt 'innocent' to seeing the film, which I prefer to do. Either see the film or read the book otherwise one lands up comparing the two and then work out why the film did not follow the book, etc, etc.

So I found this film lovely. It has quite a simple plot adding characters as the film moves along. I thought the actors did a fine job and the pace of the film was good, slow-ish, as it should be with a hundred year old! The feel of Sweden through buildings and props looked appealing, although I think parts of the film were shot in Hungary and Croatia. However if this had been made in Hollywood, it simply would have been labelled a B rate film as they would not have pulled off the feel that our northern European chums have done.

A previous review mentioned the cockney London villain; I don't know whether that character is in the book but although his dialogue raised the film pace during his part, it might have been better to have had a local villain instead. But never mind! Relax and enjoy it.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Railway Children

Sit down and enjoy...

(Edit) 24/02/2017

.....this wonderful film. And I say that as a middle-aged man! Saw it as a child and parts as a young adult but having heard Bernard Cribbins on the radio, who is the main character in this film for me, looked up which films he had been in and thought, why not, haven't seen that in years! It indeed is not only suitable for families but to those of us with a playful imagination and some good character acting. The General Info tag pretty much has the basic plot so will not repeat it. So go ahead, book it out and light the log fire to watch this great film. Enjoy!!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Absolutely Fabulous: The Movie

What a lot of ****o*ks

(Edit) 18/01/2017

Having just suffered by watching this seldom funny, out-dated crap, can I suggest the BBC stop wasting money on further ventures on these characters. The film lacked humour, intelligence, imagination.............so if you need to kill 90 minutes of your Life with your mouth open, this could be the material to cause that. Mind you, I was not a regular of the tv series but just felt a movie may well generate entertainment. How wrong could I be! Enough.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

To the Wonder

Go for a walk, even in the rain

(Edit) 25/10/2016

I did ask myself after a while, perhaps I was not in the right mood to watch this. Yes its roots appear French style in nature but for the American market. Acting was wooden, un-natural by the leading lady. So after a while and having jumped further into the film to see if it got better, decided to remove the disc and return asap. Sorry to all those involved in making the movie, but would not recommend to someone. Instead, put your coat on and go for a walk!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hiccup

A very imaginative composure

(Edit) 22/12/2015

Unlike the previous review, I watched it sober and thoroughly enjoyed it. The ideas, the camera work, are all part of this well thought out film. Unique. One would think with the camera work that it could be a nature documentary but with great editing and sounds from a rural village (so thereby Life is slower), yes, one should very much sit back, relax, and enjoy this well produced gently amusing imaginative film; without the use of drugs as suggested by the last reviewer who must miss out on other well crafted films.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Paris: An Insider's Guide

Fabulous entertainment

(Edit) 22/10/2015

This BBC three part documentary, each 50 mins long, is wonderfully presented by a very watchable Sandrine Voillet who gives a very knowledgeable and at times personal tour of the city. My only slight complaint is that I found the editing a little too quick. However very enjoyable particularly with a glass of wine and petite bowl of olives :-)

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

OSS 117: Lost in Rio

If you have nothing better to do.............

(Edit) 02/10/2015

In the olde days this would be termed a B-rate movie. How or why such films are made only six years ago leaves me puzzled. However the introduction of Louise Monot helped.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Tales of the Night

Visually a pleasure

(Edit) 15/10/2014

This film is a gem for children, parents and grandparents as it is a joy visually to watch. The plot centres around love, good and bad and contains little chapters explaining this. As autumn is upon us, light the log fire, curl up on the settee and watch this simple little gem!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Margin Call

Top marks

(Edit) 15/10/2014

I found this film a pleasure with its very intelligently written, played and directed script. I will not spoil it here by summarising the plot as that is done in the film description. Written and directed by J C Chandor, the very well thought out script and well chosen players bring the plot alive. Kevin Spacey with a good script is always a joy to watch. I guess for me because the film does not have a general Hollywood bad guy, it makes the story more real and therefore more enjoyable. Human minds assess Life differently and of course we make mistakes; which can be part of Life. But it is how we as individuals cover up or push responsibility onto others to protect ourselves and positions. So I give the film top marks!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Father of My Children

Joy to watch

(Edit) 21/11/2013

The 'Father of My Children' is a pure joy to watch. Unfortunately the films synopsis does not do the film justice. It 'could' be interpreted that this is a dark sombre French film but although the story is based on true events, where a man commits suicide supposedly due to the pressures of his business, it is far from sombre due to the script and direction by Mia Hansen-Love which features five wonderful actors - including two young girls who play the daughters who had not previously acted - who all play their roles so naturally in coping with the loss of their father/husband that it makes the film feel warm and positive. Enjoy it!!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Under the Bombs

Superb story-telling

(Edit) 03/09/2013

What a wonderful way to tell a story of Life....and death in the war torn country of Lebanon. At times an almost documentary feel the story portrays a mother who whilst temporary abroad returns when she looses contact with her young son and sister as Israel bombards their homeland of southern Lebanon. The experience of loss, fear, to blame ones self for not being there, are all wonderfully shown by the leading 'Madam' and supporting cast. This well paced film shows the beauty of the landscape, its architecture and its people and poses the question of why do the stupidity and barbaric ravages of war continue. Superb. Excellente!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12