Film Reviews by JA

Welcome to JA's film reviews page. JA has written 10 reviews and rated 23 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Camino Voyage

The Camino Voyage

(Edit) 16/09/2020

A documentary about a group of friends who travel to Galicia in Spain in the same way as pilgrims hundreds of years ago, by boat. As they are Irish, it is no surprise that they bring along their musical instruments to entertain themselves when they are not rowing. Beautiful music to track this story of a group of friends who are tested by what they come up against on their epic journey.    

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Radioactive

Radioactive

(Edit) 16/09/2020

I have loved this director’s past works but this one seemed rather insipid by comparison. This film showed Marie Curie’s fight to be taken seriously as a female scientist and a foreigner in France. Perhaps there should have been lighter moments to contrast with her struggle. Still a worthwhile film to watch! 

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Emma

Emma

(Edit) 16/09/2020

This version of Emma is the best I have seen as it shows the humour of Jane Austin as I interpreted it in the novel. The acting is first class as is the way the film is shot. No one looks odd in their costumes and I actually forgot it was a costume drama (I usually hate them) as I was so engrossed in the film. 

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Booksmart

Booksmart

(Edit) 26/02/2020

I really could not understand what the characters were saying and the subtitles went too fast.  I could not relate to the characters or the story, and I felt relieved that I had not paid to see this on the big screen. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Parasite

Parasite

(Edit) 15/02/2020

I found Parasite to be highly amusing, even though it treats a serious theme of a group of people who are poor and those who are wealthy. In addition there are scenes of violence. I cannot write more as I do not want to introduce spoilers. 

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Marianne and Leonard: Words of Love

Marianne and Leonard

(Edit) 03/02/2020

This documentary takes us to a Greek Island to describe the relationship of Marianne and Leonard. We see how Leonard rises to fame but never forgets his Norwegian muse. A touching account of their love story while listening to Cohen’s greatest hits: I loved the film!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Star Is Born

Latest A Star is Born

(Edit) 01/03/2019

What struck me most of all when watching this film was the constant use of strong swear words. So immediately I was alienated. Lady Gaga was attractive but the main lead looked old and washed out. The story failed to keep me interested but some of the music was quite pleasant. Not my type of film.

2 out of 6 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Four Flies on Grey Velvet

Four flies on grey velvet

(Edit) 26/09/2018

The humour together with the tension make this a memorable film. The plot and sub plots are intertwined to active the mind. The cinematography can teach today’s film makers a thing or two! A film not to be dismissed!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Summer 1993

Summer 1993

(Edit) 31/08/2018

The story of a child, Frida, who has lost her mother and taken to her aunt and uncle’s home to live with them and their child who is younger than Frida. A delightful account of how Frida comes to terms with her grief, which is not easy for the family as a whole. The film is full of gentle humour and charm. Beautifully acted and filmed.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Restless

Restless by Gus Van Sant

(Edit) 10/08/2018

I loved this film about two people who do not seem to fit into society. They frequent funerals of people they do not know, each for their own reasons. He needs to come to terms with the death of his parents and she needs to face her own demise very soon, owing to she has a terminal illness. As the film progresses, their feelings for one another grow and they learn from each other, so becoming more rounded characters.

It is beautifully filmed and paced. We are not told what to feel but can make up our own minds. The acting is superb. A really great watch! I’d give this film full marks.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.