Film Reviews by CM

Welcome to CM's film reviews page. CM has written 26 reviews and rated 1614 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Story of Science

Big budget, low on continuity

(Edit) 26/01/2021

Mosley's medical documentaries have been compelling & well-presented, but this was a bit too patchy to convey enough information - starting 'science' with the European alchemists, without a mention of Greek or Islamic scientists, was a telling omission. In the modern style, it included a lot of scenes of the narrator travelling & dramatic helicopter shots for small returns. The chapter on the experiments made in hunting the electron was the best part, but I didn't bother to rent Disc 2.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Carolina Skeletons

Judicial Murder

(Edit) 04/04/2020

Lou Gossett Jr & Bruce Dern's performances keep the film just above mediocre; what makes it poignant & horrifying is that the judicial murder of the character 'Linus Bragg' is based on what actually happened in South Carolina to George Stinney, Jr, who was exonerated many years later.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dr Tatianas Sex Advice to All Creation

Great costumes & dance, but...

(Edit) 16/11/2019

The actual documentary was awful, neither a proper natural history look at the mating game, nor a real comedy, but a puerile sort of humour, mainly about genitals of the animal kingdom, that falls flat. Being preceded by c. 15 minutes of dreadful trailers, including 'Climate Change Hoax' was a warning of the sort of demographic aimed at. One we didn't bother to finish.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Cathedrals of Culture

The ins & outs of modern buildings

(Edit) 16/11/2019

Really enjoyed this for giving the feel & sound of the spaces portrayed. Some of the buildings are fifty years old, but still look as if they were finished this year. It would be interesting to see more in the same vein from other parts of the world - Africa, Asia, Middle East, S America, Australasia.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Florida Project

Dismaland USA

(Edit) 07/08/2019

An affecting close-up of life for the left-behind of the American Dream, staggering through poor life choices with vision limited by daily struggles to get by with a shred of dignity. The settings are near-surreal in vulgar colours, the performances are superb, especially the kids' delivery as feral brats left to their own devices, & the film runs from showing them as repellent pests to the hotel residents & staff, by way of showing their lack of agency in any aspect of their existence, to leaving a sense of empathy & disquiet at their likely fate.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Stuart Hall Project

Interesting content

(Edit) 19/06/2019

Interesting content, & relevant insights from Stuart Hall, with film & newsreel from the 1970s & before, but only merits two stars - alas! - because the film maker decided that it would be appropriate to play music over Hall's commentary, making parts of it inaudible.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Hateful Eight

Tolerable

(Edit) 14/10/2018

A few minutes in, I realized that it was a Tarantino, & feared more like Django Unchained, but it had the superb Jennifer Jason Leigh & Bruce Dern, so we stuck with it. It lost a lot when Dern left the action, & went down a gear, but we saw it through. If this rating system were more nuanced, I'd give two & a half stars.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Glorious 39

Stellar cast doesn't save this turkey

(Edit) 24/08/2018

Visually lovely, but overlong, lacking dramatic tension, & with a horribly clunky plot that has more holes than a beigel bakery.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hilary and Jackie

First class

(Edit) 24/08/2018

Very well done, & Emily Watson excellent, neither a homage or scandal pic, with credible characters reflecting what's been written on J du Pré, who was a musical prodigy before she had time to start growing up.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dead Again

Atrocious

(Edit) 01/02/2017

A lot of money must have been spent on getting the late 1940s look, but the only way this creaky plot could have worked would have been as a comedy. Laughs are scarce in this waste of time & talent.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Leaves of Grass

Philosophy wannabe

(Edit) 14/12/2016

Certainly ambitious, cleverly constructed, but ends up as Socrates meets the Dukes of Hazzard. Not funny enough to carry the body count.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Sins

Dire

(Edit) 18/10/2016

Neither comedy nor drama, a crime caper full of clichés & Mockney stereotypes - surprisingly bad. We didn't even finish one episode, it was so dull.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Proposition

Great 'Austern'

(Edit) 09/12/2015

An excellent film, where the landscape is a major player. Obligations, family, brutal racism, moral relativism, in this beautifully made tale of the civilising of Australia, with civilisation giving itself unwarranted airs. Brutal & atmospheric; the viewer can almost taste the dust & smell the blood.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Electricity

Good film, but...

(Edit) 22/10/2015

Technical problem: far too quiet, even on maximum volume, to catch all the words, so we may have lost vital parts of the plot.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The New Girlfriend

Stylish, short on substance:

(Edit) 21/09/2015

It all looks lovely, not badly acted, but fails to show any engaging (not necessarily sympathetic) or credible characters, the plot is flimsy as can be, & the baby which should be the lynch-pin of the plot is reduced to a prop in this shallow story.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.
12