Film Reviews by sw

Welcome to sw's film reviews page. sw has written 27 reviews and rated 35 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Underwater

didnt know what to expect but was so good!

(Edit) 02/03/2021

if you like disaster or the Abyss, trapped type films im sure you will enjoy this. i hadnt watched any trailers and glad i didn't as i think its better not knowing much.

pretty much non stop tension action and big budget. one of the best films ive seen in ages.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Lasso

Decent unknown film

(Edit) 06/09/2020

I randomly came across Lasso and thought it would be a low budget film but was pleasantly surprised. its a capture, escape chase type film and does it well. lots of action. some of the gore bits wernt great and i fast forwarded some of the start where animals are on screen but thats just my own taste. but it wasn't enough to put me off. the acting was fine for what it is. the filming quality was decent so id recommend watching it if your a horror fan.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Birds of Prey

so disappointed!

(Edit) 30/06/2020
Spoiler Alert

I was really looking forward to watching this as her character is suicide squad was so cool.

but i swear her voice or the way she talks is different in it. the whole film just seems weak.

after half the movie i started forwarding bit by bit trying to get to the end quicker.

i would try and be more helpful on why its bad but i honesty cant pin point anything because i didnt like any of it.

wish id listen to all the bad reviews on imbd that id read.

4 out of 9 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Dead Don't Die

Rubbish!

(Edit) 12/01/2020

casting was good, acting was good. budget seemed big. lots of zombies throughout and effects are good so I really dont understand how this movie is so bad!!!!

so boring and you never get invested in any of it. i didnt laugh or jump or get scared or worried for the cast. i just watched it thinking this should be so good but its rubbish.

honestly if like me you still watch it after reading all the bad reviews, if you dont like it after 20 mins then turn off and save your time because it doesn't get better.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

i read the bad reviews and watched it in fwd mode

(Edit) 15/12/2019

if your expecting pulp fiction or similar then youl be disappointed. most of the film is about great acting, sets and scenery.

im sure its all great if you like that sort of thing but i wanted more like pulp fiction so i fwded though most while stopping at bits to pick up the story and characters. then watched the last part.

watching it the way i did let me really enjoy it without been annoyed like other people. i can see why so many people dont like it. but the end is so cool!!!

1 out of 10 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Leprechaun Returns

Decent if you like the original

(Edit) 17/11/2019

this is better than i expected. a good mix of comedy, violence and gore. doesn't take its self to serious, effects are good too.

this film is pretty much a direct sequel to the original from what ive read. so dismisses the other sequels. if your a fan of these movies then im sure youl like this as its better than the other sequels.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Child's Play

Decent remake

(Edit) 23/10/2019

im a big fan of the original childs play films.

this is a proper remake so you need to try and watch it as a different stand alone film.

i like that fact they didnt copy anything from the original. this is deffinatly an up to date version which should keep the new generation of watches interested. I liked the new take on it.

the new look of chucky took a bit of time getting used to but again was good they didnt use the exact same doll.

im sure any horror fan will like this as long as you dont compare or expect the original.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

I Feel Pretty

it is what it is

(Edit) 30/09/2019

this is your normal rom com,

theres no point over thinking why it was made ,morals or deep meanings.

sure it has some odd bits, but if your looking for an easy to watch funny rom com then im sure youl like this.

id say its simular to big, shallow hal, 50 first dates and those type of films.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mid90s

filmed really well youd think it was made in the 90s

(Edit) 18/09/2019

this is a gritty kind of film that resembles how things were in the 90s. its more so for people who grow up in America as skaters but i could still connect to parts of it growing up in the 90s.

while watching it i had to check when it came out as it looks like any other film from the 90s, the quality and framing makes you think its 20 years old.

films its simular to would be, kids, boys in the hood

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dragged Across Concrete

dark violent film, really well made

(Edit) 11/09/2019

I cant really think of many films its simular to but maybe Heat without the big gun battle.

this film has action spread throughout. its very violent and pretty gory in parts.

its the sort of film you never really know whats going to happen next or whos going to die so it keeps you on your toes watching.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Domino

whats with the weird backing music!

(Edit) 17/08/2019

im only half way though the film and the backing music is sooooo annoying! ive started flicking though now to see the end. script is bad and boring, the cast is good but the acting is bad.

i cant think of any films to compare it too, the backing music reminds me of old black and white murder mystery films.

sorry this review isnt very helpful but i was looking forward to it and very disappointed so had to write something.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Avengement

Great cast and story

(Edit) 31/07/2019

this is a gangsta, prison type film but set in multiple locations out of prison so keeps it interesting.

great cast and acting. the story is different to the usual which is fresh.

lots of really brutal action and fighting which is pretty non stop so you wont get bored.

if you like films simular to lock stock, green street, snatch, death wish, death sentence then im sure youl enjoy this.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Puppet Master: The Littlest Reich

I really wanted to like it but was let down

(Edit) 14/07/2019

Im a massive fan of the puppet master films, or most of them anyway.

This film had so much potential but its just really odd, as if they rushed the script or kept doing rewrites.

Also they have re booted it by changing the back story and made it worse.

The puppets dont have any personality anymore. Its just constant killing.

The death scenes are crazy gory! Loads of blood and guts if you like that sort of thing which im not really a fan of.

If your a fan of puppet master then im sure youl be curious to see it, but dont expect it to be like the original puppet master.

if you like really gory films then give it a watch,

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Happy Death Day 2U

Great sequel

(Edit) 30/06/2019

If your a fan of films like groundhog day and back to the future then im sure you will enjoy this.

I love both the first happy death day and this sequel.

If you haven't seen the first film the definitely watch that before this one as they tie together.

This sequel keeps the same idea but adds more to it to stop it been a copy of the first.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hitman: Redemption

Not part of the hit man series

(Edit) 18/06/2019

Because of the title i thought it was going to be similar to hitman.

I was very wrong. This is more a drama about a hitman. There was only a small amount of action in the part i saw if you could even call it that.

I turned off before the final act as was to bored.

Maybe if I'd been prepared for a drama id of been more excepting

The quality and acting was good which is why i gave a medium score.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month