Film Reviews by JG

Welcome to JG's film reviews page. JG has written 12 reviews and rated 20 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Kon-Tiki

Awesome

(Edit) 22/06/2020

Everything about a film you need. Class script, filming, acting and all based on a true story. Awesome. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hostiles

Well worth a watch

(Edit) 06/05/2018

Moody and earthy film that depicts the butchery and atrocities of the American West as seen through the eyes of soldier, settler and a native Indian.

Christian Bale gives a tremendous performance as the captain in charge of transporting an ailing Indian chief back to his homeland to die. The film questions brutality on both sides and shows that differences are resolvable but take time and deep understanding. Rosamund Pike plays a settler who’s family is wiped out by comanchees and is the centre of this controversy raised in the film.

Really good use of Indian dialogue. Really good acting. Well worth a watch.

5 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Stronger

A dark, dark film

(Edit) 18/04/2018

A dark, dark film but not so much from the main thrust of the film plot where a spectator’s legs are blown off in the bombing of the Boston marathon, but more from the family of the bomb victim acted by jake Gyllenhaal.

My partner and I found this family relationship quite disturbing and v unsure just how the truth was actually portrayed. ‘Twas rather like watching families fighting on the Jeremy Kyle show. Hot under the collar stuff. If the facts are honest then the whole lot of them accept for the girlfriend of the bomb victim were in need of urgent physiological attention.

Having said that all credit to the films creators to enshrine a cowardly event like this into the annals of history. And for this reason alone it is a dvd worth watching.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Professor Marston and the Wonder Women

A remarkable film

(Edit) 08/04/2018

When films are based on true stories you kinda always wonder how much is artistic license. Even if you halved the true story portrayed in this film it would still be a remarkable tale.

It’s a slow burner to start but what unfolds is really, really fascinating. There are lots of side twists. The acting and directing are spot on. Quite adult content in places we see the evolution of the global phenomena of Wonder-woman develop from an amazing ménage a trois.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Marshall

A gem of a film

(Edit) 24/03/2018

A gem of a film about the civil rights movement in its early days. Based on a true story about a black man accused of raping the woman who employs him , what should have been a foregone conviction is pummelled into touch by the arrival of Marshall, a hot shot black lawyer who unravels exactly what did happen on that night. He teams up with a local white solicitor who is ordered to present the case to the court whether he likes it or not.

It’s good to see truth prevail and the anti black establishment end up hanging onto the ropes with no choice but to admit defeat. It’s even better to watch a film that achieves this mission with a smooth script, moody scenes and leaves you bursting with strong and emotive conclusions.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Breathe

Rent it!

(Edit) 22/03/2018

Great film. Follows a long line of similar films that portray the resilience of folk faced with life threatening illnesses and how they fight back with amazing tenacity.

In Breathe Andrew cavendish contracts polio and is left in a state of permanent paralysis. His wife will not let him give in and anchors him to life. Together they change history by turning conventional medical science of the time upside down. With the help of a friend a wheelchair is built that can carry and deliver oxygen. This wheelchair transforms the lives of many more of these hospital bound polio victims who had more or less been written off.

Along with You before me, The best of men, Brief history of time and Untouchable - Breathe is a deeply moving film that retaliates against big brother, and wins . Highly recommended. Rent it !

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Glass Castle

Powerful stuff

(Edit) 17/03/2018

An amazing film that tracks backwards and forwards into the past and future to tell the tale of a dysfunctional family spearheaded by a father (acted by Woody Harrelson) ) who can be deeply committed to the family one day and a brutal, drunken bully the next.

Films based on truth tend to resonate with a tight and emotional grip, yep it’s a well known fact. The Glass Castle easily achieves this accolade. What’s so gripping is how this real mental brute of a father can suddenly flip his personality, and say and do things that instantly transforms him into a man of believable vision and compassion.

The kids fight back, especially the fathers favourite (acted by Brie Larson). These are kids under pressures most of us can only imagine. How a family stands united faced with adversity. The story rolls and bucks with great acting and directing. Powerful stuff. If you haven’t already done so, add it to your list.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The King's Choice

Well worth the watch

(Edit) 10/03/2018

It’s always fascinating to hear how other European countries reacted to Hitlers plans to change the shape of the planet into that of a Swastica. This is a really nicely done hunk of history, focusing on Norway’s reaction to have none of Hitlers scheming. Churchill was our voice of defiance. In Norway it was the king and his family. Ill prepared for war and vastly outnumbered, Norway’s predicament unfolds in a cat and mouse chase of time. The movie is compelling stuff . Well acted, directed and filmed it is well worth the watch.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mother!

Lost for words

(Edit) 08/03/2018

All for creative films but gave up half way and went to bed. Dreams were way more entertaining. My partner watched it through and filled me in on the half I missed. Thank god - sorry all those who read religion into this film - I went to bed. Films like this are prob more suited to arts cinema where you need to analyse and interpret every frame. Lost for the right words to aptly describe this film but it would go along the lines of a rather painful load of tosh.

3 out of 9 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

King Arthur: Legend of the Sword

Unfair critique

(Edit) 07/03/2018

I put off adding this film to my rental list by the low star ratings, even though my son advised watching the dvd. Sometimes your perceptions can be wrong and for all those out there who want a dark yet imaginative, sorcery experience then this film is well worth the watch. Ok the odd cheesy moments and line - all these kind of films have them don’t they - and I also hear what the Guy Ritchie die hard fans are barking on about not being a typical Ritchie romp but hey, good to see him trying other genres, and both my son, my partner and myself would say good on you mate, you achieved that objective with great aplomb.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Pirates of Somalia

Well worth the watch

(Edit) 24/02/2018

First glance at the dvd cover suggested yet another explosive film the likes of where Tom Hanks acts Captain Phillips whose ship is forcibly hijacked by Somali pirates. Not so. This is a real gem of a story about a lone journalist actually managing to change the way the world views theses so called no go territorial waters of Somalia. First rate acting. Well worth the watch.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mountain

Winter Spectacular

(Edit) 17/02/2018

Spectacular collection of mountain scenery and clips of the jaw numbing sports tackled by the fearless. Willum Defoe narrates with a gravelly purr to the beat of the Australian Chamber Orchestra. Only a wee gripe, and don’t get me wrong, this is an amazing film but the title is a tad misleading. More about winter in the mountains than the rest of the seasons.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.