Film Reviews by LD

Welcome to LD's film reviews page. LD has written 10 reviews and rated 16 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Producers

Too crazed

(Edit) 18/08/2020

Had to switch off after 35mins cos it felt a bit too much like watching a lunatic asylum. I realise that's in many ways the point, but was just a bit too hyper for me

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

That Sinking Feeling

You can tell it's his first film

(Edit) 24/09/2019

I'm a big fan of Local Hero and Gregory's Girl, and didn't even know of this film prior to it being discussed on a Mark Kermode documentary.

I understand the achievements of a young director on a shoestring budget putting this together, but this just felt a bit drawn out.

The surreal humour that I think works really well in Gregory's Girl feels a bit rusty here, a bit laboured.

Maybe the reason I'm only giving it two stars is because Forsyth's later films are so much more finely tuned.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Haunting

A clever and scary film

(Edit) 24/09/2019

Reminded in many ways of Psycho with this film, which I think preceded it, but would say I got much more satisfaction with The Haunting.

Genuinely quite scary with long moments (in a similar way to Susan Hill's The Woman In Black) that build the tension.

The clever thing though is the story running in parallel about the main character battling with their own inner demons and trying to stay strong, which is unwittingly playing into the hands of the demons living inside the house

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Mark

Rightly controversial

(Edit) 24/09/2019

This film would understandably upset a few people, but it does a good job of testing its audience on where society stands after law has done its job and a person has served their time. Reminded me in some ways of The Hunt, but with a rather more negative slant that I don't think many would find acceptable viewing now

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Rififi

Fast paced and edgy

(Edit) 24/09/2019

Such this film is much more gritty than anything the US or the UK would have produced at the time, and feels more in line with the heist movies made in later decades. There are some great scenes, notably the silent scene of the heist itself, and the film has everything you'd get in modern cinema in terms of car chases, violence and a bit of rumpy pumpy!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hoop Dreams

More about life than basketball

(Edit) 08/12/2018

A recommendation for me, and much appreciated. Obviously the premise is basketball, but really your watching a couple of teenagers at that pivotal time in one's life, with the additional harsh reality of living in a place like Detroit.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Tokyo Drifter

Bit abstract but fun

(Edit) 24/10/2018

I get the idea this was a Japanese equivalent of a Sergio Leone/Clint Eastwood film, set in 60s Japan.

Some great fight scenes and good humour. The film was strongly influenced, strongly influential, or both.

It's abstract possibly because alot of characters are introduced quite quickly and I couldn't work out who was on whose side, but that's possibly cos of my own slow brain.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Society

Gory and hilarious

(Edit) 09/10/2018

The cover gave me the idea this was going to be scary, but it was mainly hilarious.

Somewhere between They Live and Bad Taste... but with more boobs

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Verdict

Enjoyable, but a formula subsequently done to death

(Edit) 16/07/2018

If you were subjected to countless John Grisham films in the 90's you might not need to see this.

Highly rated, certainly at the time, but I can't see anything particularly unique about it now.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Onibaba

Pleasant and unnerving at the same time

(Edit) 20/04/2018

Reminded me a bit of Knife In The Water as it shows slightly sinister human behaviour surrounded by very pleasant scenery.

The story itself felt like it had it's roots in some ancient tale, where instinct gets the better of people.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.