Film Reviews by TF

Welcome to TF's film reviews page. TF has written 14 reviews and rated 20 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Roma

Great - watch this film!

(Edit) 17/05/2020

A compelling portrait of society in 70a Mexico through the life of a young woman servant. All the relationships and characters are lovingly shown as individuals.

The film quietly but powerfully dissects issues of class, power, gender and religion without losing any of its humanity and complexity.

Brilliant! I loved this film!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Galaxy Quest

Highly recommend watching

(Edit) 17/05/2020

Be patient, it takes a while to get into but this film is great fun, a warmhearted and thoughtful send up of the star trek genre. Sigourney Weaver really has the right to star and I loved this film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Boyhood

Rounded, understated

(Edit) 13/04/2020

Yes this film is different in that it follows one person's development over a long time frame, rather than having a traditional plot. As a result you get a well rounded, detailed picture of him, that is sympathetic and revealing. An excellent if low-key film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

24 Hour Party People

a bit pointless but entertaining.

(Edit) 13/04/2020

I didnt get on very well with this film, I couldnt see what it was "about". Maybe the pointlessness Was the Point, but it was lost on me.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hornblower: Duty

Doesnt do the books justice

(Edit) 13/04/2020

I am a great fan of the Hornblower series of books, covering in depth the different aspects of life in the British Navy when it was supreme. This film didnt convey the depths or cover the more serious issues that the books tackle so adeptly. Maybe it was aimed at a teenage audience?

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Judy

Sympathetic portrayal imaginatively presented

(Edit) 13/04/2020

Yes I liked this film, and would recommend it, the costumes and sets were very evocative, all the actors well cast.

It portrayed the particular problems for female solo artists and the wrenchingly unfair choices that had to be made.

The singing was great, though I would have liked more - maybe that's the point - to encourage us to listen to her music.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Surprisingly darkly funny

(Edit) 04/11/2019

I thought this was going to be a depressing, worthy film that I 'ought' to watch.

I was wrong. It Was bleak, but it was also really funny in parts, particularly the firebombing incident.

The acting was completely compelling, and I loved the ending.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Argo

Worth watching

(Edit) 26/09/2019

Making a film about an event or period of trouble and suffering, while still making it pleasant to watch, is difficult. You have to simplify complex things, create empathy, we have to identify with the protagonist to care what happens. All of which this film does.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Justified: Series 1

I love this series

(Edit) 26/09/2019

I love Elmore Leonard and I love this series, it has strong, convincingcharacters, tons of plot, complexity.

Watch it!!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Private War

Witness

(Edit) 15/08/2019

This film is excellent at what it does, which is to convey a sense of the person she was and what motivated her, the need to be witness.

It isn't an analysis of the conflicts she covered, but a good film nonetheless.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Snowden

Excellent

(Edit) 22/07/2019

Perhaps that should be Excellent but not Brilliant!

Seen through the prism of 2019, with Cambridge Analytica, Russian manipulation of US and possibly UK democratic processes, Fake news etc, this film seems terribly dated, and innocent in its belief that exposing truth is always a good thing.

Still, Snowden shocked us into beginning to think more carefully about uses and abuses of information, so is worth marking.

I agree that the film fails rather to capture the high drama of the events that followed the leak, or the bravery of those bringing it to light.

A good, honest film

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Human Flow

Hard to watch

(Edit) 16/07/2019

This film conveys the frustration and irrationality of the migration and asylum process for those desperate people experiencing it, and is uncomfortable to watch in the comfort of my sofa. The Geneva Convention is inadequate for our very complicated world and needs updating for this century. This v ok illustrates that.

That said, I didn't think the film did much else. It didn't give any testimony or backstory that would help understand why so many fled and Asylum was left wanting to hear people talk in their own words.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Midnight Special

Weirdly great

(Edit) 16/07/2019

This is a weird film. It starts as if it is already part way through, with you wondering whether the way the two adults are behaving towards the child in their cafe is abuse of abduction. But it becomes clear he is a vulnerable child with weird unearthly powers.

It is convincing and compelling. Great stuff!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

BlacKkKlansman

Relevant and entertaining

(Edit) 05/05/2019

This is a funny, enjoyable and visually exciting film which conveyed the issues of the time well.I

Ok, it is tough to make fun of the injustice and ugliness of the then prevailing white attitudes, but ridicule is a potent weapon, particularly when juxtaposed with the empathetic black characters.

A refreshing change to see so many black characters.

My only minor criticism is that the lead character's body double was to me obviously Jewish...

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month