Film Reviews by HH

Welcome to HH's film reviews page. HH has written 74 reviews and rated 95 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Venom

Disappointing

(Edit) 24/03/2019

Not the best Marvel film, and Tom Hardy is not good in it. Bit boring, although it picks up a bit in the second half. Wouldn't recommend though.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Tell No One

Stretches credibility

(Edit) 04/02/2019

A run of the mill thriller, but worth renting as the acting is good, but the story is implausible - it twists and turns too much and gets lost up its own .....! I can never understand why people moan about subtitles - can't they read? I find that when dialogue is mumbled, the subtitles are really useful. If you liked this, can I recommend "Los Secretos en sus Ojos" (The Secret in their Eyes), a fabulous film that's a thriller, love story, comedy and more, with an fantastic ending. Get the Brazilian DVD with subtitles as the English remake is awful (sorry subtitle-haters).

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Insidious: The Last Key

What a waste of time

(Edit) 04/02/2019

I enjoyed the first Insidious, but this is awful. So slow and boring. The only good thing is the new demon - good costume! The main character (the medium) is an awful actress, and her sidekicks' attempted witticisms are painful. Don't bother.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Haunting of Black Wood

A different story

(Edit) 23/01/2019

I really enjoyed this film, and for once it had a good ending. The acting was great, and it really made you want to find out what was going on. I thought it might be yet another slasher horror, but it so much better than those. Recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mission: Impossible: Fallout

Enjoyable if you don't think too deeply about its plot

(Edit) 23/01/2019

I enjoyed this. It was full of action and stunts, and Tom (bless his little cotton socks) does a lot of them- you can't help wincing when you see the bit where he broke his ankle. The story is ok but it's really just an action film - watch it in that frame of mind and I think you'll enjoy it. It's not meant to be serious, as fans of the original Mission Impossible series on TV will know.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Don't Breathe

Good film

(Edit) 06/01/2019

A film that plays with your assumptions and turns them on their head - who are you rooting for and why? Do you think it has the right ending? A good story for discussion when you've seen the movie. Very suspenseful and involving, and excellent acting by the whole cast. Recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Confined

Enjoyable and good acting

(Edit) 30/12/2018

I enjoyed this. The acting, especially the female lead, was excellent and the tension was maintained until the end. I thought this was going to be a similar ending to other films I've seen, but the final twist makes it different. Definitely worth a viewing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hush

Great film

(Edit) 30/12/2018

This film grips you from the start and doesn't let go until the very end. The acting is good and the story is different for a change. Good ending too. Recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dagon

Not what I'd call a Horror film

(Edit) 30/12/2018

I found this film very boring, although I stuck it out until the end to see if it would improve. It didn't and was, frankly, a bit silly. Certainly not a horror film in my book.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Beast of Prey

What?

(Edit) 06/11/2018

I don't know how this film could have an average star rating of 3 and a bit!! It's dreadful a real amateur effort. Awful acting, a story you could write in one sentence and a laughable creature. A horror film - NO. Don't waste your money on this one.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Deadpool 2

Good, but not as good as the first

(Edit) 06/11/2018

I quite enjoyed this, but didn't laugh as much as at the first film. Maybe that's because you know what to expect the second time. I love Reynolds in everything he does, and Deadpool certainly suits his zany, talkative character. Recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Parasyte: Part 1

Worth a watch!

(Edit) 15/10/2018

Very unusual film, although I would class it as a sci-fi comedy rather than a horror, but there is lots of gore if that's your thing. Japanese horrors don't usually appeal to me at all (including The Ring) so I wasn't sure about this film until I'd watched the first 25 mins, but I'm glad I stayed with it as I really enjoyed it. The special effects are great and the story is good. Recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Lights Out

Good straightforward horror

(Edit) 13/10/2018

A good, but not a great horror film, but definitely worth a rent. Lots of "jumpy" bits. Watch in the dark!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Oculus

Poor

(Edit) 13/10/2018

Still not sure what this was about, and a poor ending didn't resolve anything. I was very puzzled as to why the female character would subject her (recently released from a mental institution) brother to any more frights if she cared about him as much as she seemed to. Wouldn't recommend.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Happy Death Day

Great entertainment

(Edit) 13/10/2018

Loved this film. Even though it's a "who dunnit" type horror, there's lots of humour and the acting is really good. Recommended.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
12345

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month