Film Reviews by rh

Welcome to rh's film reviews page. rh has written 35 reviews and rated 72 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Revenge

Gave up

(Edit) 12/09/2019

Nothing wrong with predictable plot. But all the stupid camera shots of people staring at each other, eating chocolate, bleeding and panting made this a bore. I wanted to shout "just get on with it!" Started fast forwarding then gave up.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Bad Times at the El Royale

Decentralised characters, good ot

(Edit) 01/09/2019

Bad Times has high production values. Set, apart from the somewhat flashbacks, in the remote motel on the California - Nevada border, the sets and acting are so believable. There characters were kept very tight so that no one actors dominate the screen. Chris Hemsworth played against type and was frightening a hell. The feel of realism was enhanced by by accident and unintended consequences.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Captain Marvel

Mildly entertaining nonsense

(Edit) 01/09/2019

This is is blockbuster trash. Marvel has shoehorned every background element of the MCU into this film and created a porridge off two dimensional characters and a nonsensical plot. Jude Law is great given the limited. Arterial. Graphics are good. Mildly entertaining. Wait for TV.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

One Cut of the Dead

Boring and unfulfilled promise

(Edit) 29/08/2019

I love foreign subtitled films. Some of the gentle Japanese movies like Departures are entrancing.

I found One Cut boring and uninteresting. OK so it has a long take. Have a cookie. But the content was not gripping. As for the idea, put forward by some reviews, that if you wait long enough there is a pleasant susprise. Nope. Not there. Just another film that fails to deliver to it audience.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mary Poppins Returns

Gave up after twenty minutes

(Edit) 24/08/2019

It was so boring. The songs were forgettable. This was emphasised when Mary appears to the now grown upgrade Banks. A reprise of the original music is a leitmotif and shines like gold amongst the dross of the new music.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sorry to Bother You

Just not interesting. Overlong

(Edit) 24/08/2019

This was just not interesting. Possibly it would have made a 45min TV show, like Inside Number 9. But it felt like every one scene was too long and as a result made the film a bore.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mortal Engines

Average post apocalypse film

(Edit) 18/08/2019

It is obvious why this did not do well at the time of release. Despite some amazing visuals the book was butchered into a scilly story that made little sense.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Finding Your Feet

National treasures in lightweight predictable sctipt

(Edit) 14/07/2019

This might have made a decent TV play. 45 mins or so. But as a film, it is was boring and predictable with an rosy eyed view of poorer British living conditions and even dementia.

The attempt to address Timothy Spall's character as a tragic torn husband whose wife is in a care home with dementia is to be applauded. However, and appreciating it was a side plot, he is torn because his wife does not recognise him and gets agitated when he visits. And so decides not to visit her again. As if that is a clean break. "I've said last goodbye." it just doesn't work like that, emotionally, legally or financially.

The run down housing estate where Imelda Staunton moves to after discovering her husband having an affair with herself best friend, may have appeared rough but had none of the sense of desparation tion that exists every day. There are youth's hanging around near the block, but no one seems to afraid to go out or leavers their car there. Honest, that is just not true.

Why did Staunton not just throwing hubble out? Obviousness answer. Then film was full of kind hearted "poor" people. It was all so not real. But the poor lived in places like Little Venice. Spall's ageing Bedford van said "classic" rather than just managing the handyman who would have drive a transit.

Humour was missing. Almost all as if a Carry One film tried to be a social commentary.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Grand Tours of Scotland's Lochs: Series 1

Actually quite interesting

(Edit) 18/06/2019

Despite thinking this was a mis-spelling of Merton I found Paul Murton's guide to the lochs pretty good. A few places we recognised and yet were still pleasantly surprised to find out interesting new tales. He even mentions the midgies.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Endless

Worth persevering Sci-fi movie

(Edit) 03/10/2018

The producers/writers/actors made a decent job with a small budget. Two brothers return to the camp/cult they escaped from a decade before. It turns out not to be as bad as they remember as young men. After a night some uncanny events come up which everyone else thinks is normal. Soon they encounter some mysteries in which one layer is lifted to reveal another reality. Piece by piece the viewer and protagonists are shown the truth behind the idyllic camp.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Midnight, Texas: Series 1

A bit boring and predictable

(Edit) 15/09/2018

I tried listening to the audio book and just found it filled with clich├ęs. Unfortunately the TV show is actually worse. The script makes wooden actors of a talented cast. Gave up after episode 2

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Whispering Star

Art house style - not much happens

(Edit) 24/09/2018

Having been a fan of Japanese slow burn films like Departures and Shall We Dance I looked forward to Whispering Star. The low budget acclaimed movie was a disappointing drag. Not a lot happens once the novelty of the house shaped cargo spaceship wears off. There is one (good) actress and a childlike computer voice. That's about it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Black Panther

Rubbish plot but good acting and world building

(Edit) 24/09/2018

Firstly I note some of the comments above about stereotyping. But I think that the writers intended that an African nation should show resentment towards previous colonial powers to the extent that they even call Americans "colonisers". So it fitted the world building. The acting was pretty good throughout and the accents felt genuine and refreshing. The African style dress, high rise towers and planes were original. I really liked that.

The plot was silly and left lots of loose ends. It seemed to be lifted from H. Rider Haggard. A bit She, a bit King Solomon's Mines. But put that aside and it was a bit of fun that entertained me.

1 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

I, Tonya

Quite humerous biopic

(Edit) 05/09/2018

A different Margot Robbie in this biopic based on interviews of all the characters in Hardings later skating life. Alison Janney is also convincing as Hardings disturbing mother. This news story had passed me by and so it was all new to me. The fourth wall was often broken by direct lines to the audience. All in all this was a decent film that kept me interested

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Shape of Water

Gave up after ten minutes

(Edit) 08/09/2018

I just did not find the film engaging. A couple of the scientists seemed to be reading their lines from an autocue. It was just not interesting

3 out of 4 members found this review helpful.
123

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month