Film Reviews by KF

Welcome to KF's film reviews page. KF has written 96 reviews and rated 124 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Agatha and the Midnight Murders

Yesteryear style film

(Edit) 30/04/2021

An Agatha Christie style whodunnit. The plot could have been written by Agatha Christie but the cast and direction just lacked the personality and panache of her better films, it didn't help that all the scenes were shot indoors, mostly in the same room, and with subdued lighting.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Night Hunter

Grim!

(Edit) 13/04/2021

Grim, unpleasant, some uninspired acting/direction. No subtitles, I couldn't follow all of the dialogue. Doesn't anyone monitor the sound on these American B movies?

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Secret: Dare to Dream

Love it or love it not

(Edit) 09/04/2021

Well, if a large dollop of cinematic sugar is your bag you'll like this film. For the rest of us it's slushy beyond words!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Trial by Fire

Absorbing

(Edit) 01/04/2021

Well acted, absorbing true story. Begs so many questions about the American justice system and the integrity of individuals. Makes one feel guilty to learn about the facts while being "entertained".

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Imperial Blue

Not another drug user film!

(Edit) 24/03/2021

Is there anything cinematic interest to be had about an undisciplined, self obsessed, charmless drug user? Good to see Africans getting acting roles and the cinematograph has its (not too frequent ) moments. The story is weak, the dialogue lacks any attention engagement. Nothing to recommend here.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

An American Pickle

Dismal

(Edit) 16/03/2021

How do films this bad even get released? If this film in any way engages your interest, you need therapy!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Unhinged

Cinematic menace

(Edit) 22/02/2021

Well, there's nothing subtle or original about this film but you have to admire Russell Crowe doing what he does best. His portrayal of brooding menace is without equal. The film never slows and the momentum is relentless although the ending is a bit disappointing. It's not a film for the arty types and the snowflakes won't like it but I'm neither and I thought it was great entertainment.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Other Lamb

Is it over yet?

(Edit) 22/02/2021

Not much of a story line, not much to say about the dialogue, uninspiring cinematics, not worth watching I'd say. What I found really tedious was the tendency for the camera to linger excessively over a series of nothing scenes, an indication I suppose that there was really not a lot going on in the film. The film's attempts to create mystery, tension and atmosphere failed dismally I thought and just made the whole affair painfully slow and boring.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Tenet

My head hurts

(Edit) 12/02/2021

You'll need to swot up on temporal pincers to appreciate this film. You'll also need to use sub titles, some of the dialogue delivery is shameful. Also, for a film that likes to think it's cerebral there are too many bog standard action scenes. Still, I enjoyed the challenge of trying to work out what exactly was going on (not that I succeeded!)

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

UFO

Makes a change

(Edit) 06/02/2021

Usually a sci fi film with a relatively young lead means it will show itself to be a shallow as a summer puddle. On the contrary here, it's really quite cerebral although the complete absence of any action scenes might leave some disappointed. For me though, it was interesting and refreshingly different from the usual Hollywood dross.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

You Should Have Left

Watchable (barely)

(Edit) 28/01/2021

Low budget, poor, predictable, unconvincing plot, uninspired acting. Not one of Kevin Bacon's finest. I hope he's not selling himself short when it come to accepting roles.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Bygone

No interest whatsoever.

(Edit) 15/01/2021

Well, another budget movie, so cheaply made you would think they could have afforded a decent script writer....or elocution lessons....or subtitles. The cast seemed as disinterested in the whole affair as I was!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sleepwalkers

Well, it engaged my interest anyway!

(Edit) 13/12/2020

Ho, ho, ho a Stephen King oldie, it shows its age for sure. No subtlelty, no padding out the story line with irrelevancies, no extravagance on special effects, nothing arty about it. It quickly cuts to the chase and if you can allow for its age and low budget B movie style it's thoroughly enjoyable.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sulphur and White

Rubbish

(Edit) 10/12/2020

I wasn't expecting a child abuse film, I wasn't expecting the actors to be unable to deliver their lines articulately, I wasn't expecting to say that their was nothing about this film that I enjoyed. It was, frankly, rubbish!

0 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Storm Boy

Pre-teen schmalz.

(Edit) 09/11/2020

Painfully schmaltzy, tired, predictable plot but the cinematics and wildlife scenes were good. The cast deserved better.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
1234567