Film Reviews by KF

Welcome to KF's film reviews page. KF has written 80 reviews and rated 103 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Battery

Tiresome American movie

(Edit) 17/09/2020

"Labelled as one of the greatest zombie films in years" Who's the copywriter? Jeremy Gardner's mother? It's dismal, utterly dismal. No zombie frighteners, no humour , certainly no sophistication, and most annoyingly, no plot! Los of effing this and effing that though which for young Americans seems to pass for dialogue these days. American film making is clearly in decline.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Gentlemen

Entertaining

(Edit) 10/09/2020

A great cast led by Matthew McConaughey. Good fast moving story, with no dead spots. If I have any reservations it was that it was just a bit too theatrical to be taken even half seriously.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Lighthouse

Sack the director!

(Edit) 10/09/2020

Black and white. what a tired old yesteryear luvvie trick to try and inject some atmosphere. And why not wide screen? The pity is is that it could have been more than half decent (if not still rather grim and dark) without the misplaced directorial decisions.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

We Hunt Together

Budget TV..and it shows

(Edit) 26/08/2020

Won't want the second disc. It's below par, rubbish dialogue, unconvincing story lines. The cast does its best with the poor material they're given though..

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Grand Isle

As expected!

(Edit) 04/06/2020

Well, compared to some of Nicholas Cage's recent offerings it wasn't that bad - watchable but still below par. All at bit contrived and some unconvincing OTT moments. Kelsey Grammar was completely wasted in a non role. Low budget was reflected in the poor script and dialogue -a real problem for American films these days it seems.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Official Secrets

Principled or unprincipled?

(Edit) 06/05/2020

Really enjoyed this film, very well produced and acted and all without breaking the bank. Lots of issues raised and lots of points to discuss afterwards. Neither Bush's government nor Blair's government come out if this well. Katherine Gunn was lucky to escape a prison sentence but then so was Blair lucky to escape indictment. The Crown Prosecution Service were their usual incompetent selves. Altogether a shabby business.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Joker

Grim

(Edit) 10/04/2020

A powerful film but beset by too many inconsequential slow moving scenes. This is certainly no feel good film as it oozes human misery and tragedy. No wonder the luvvie critics liked it so much! Once again the dialogue is lacking quality but, nevertheless, the film does leave an impression on you.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Good Liar

Engaging

(Edit) 07/04/2020

Top class performances from the ever reliable Helen Mirren and from Ian McKellen, a story line in place of special effects (are you listening Hollywood?) and none of the pointless padding you seem to get in films these days. True the plot was somewhat contrived and got worse as it unfolded but it moved at a steady pace and was always engaging. My sort of film!

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Doctor Sleep

The best Stephen King film since The Shining

(Edit) 07/04/2020

Stephen King is a masterful writer. Some of his books transfer well to the cinema and some less successfully. This book was crying out to be made a film. Ewan McGregor did a good job but for me the star was Rebecca Ferguson. She oozed menace. Great entertainment and compares well with The Shining. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Alan Partridge's Scissored Isle

Doesn't work

(Edit) 07/04/2020

A half hearted attempt to reprise the Alan Partridge character but it doesn't work. Steve Coogan just doesn't put the same energy into the character that he once did and the dialogue and situations are plainly lacking. It'll bore you.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Angel Has Fallen

Franchise re-run

(Edit) 13/03/2020

A rather lazy and complacent repetition of the earlier films in this franchise. Gerard Butler and an aging Morgan Freeman did their stuff and some of the action scenes were well up to standard. The storyline, however, was tired and stale, no twists or surprises, no fresh ideas and away from the action nothing to engage the viewer.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Swimming with Men

Just doesn't work

(Edit) 22/02/2020

What a strange film. Obviously not meant to be taken seriously but I didn't find it comedic. Dialogue humour was lacking and the situation comedy was uninspired. Not helped by discovering Rob Bryden has a previously unsuspected flair for portraying melancholy. Angst ridden tedium.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Chamber

They don't make 'em like this any more!

(Edit) 08/02/2020

A refreshing change. No pandering to mindless teenagers, no tiresome special effects, an actual story being told, no romcom nonsense, proper acting, not a drug in sight and no American street language to decipher. This is what films were like twenty years ago! Compelling and engaging

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Bait

What a swizz

(Edit) 03/02/2020

I'd really like the brainless luvvies behind this film would explain to me why they thought filming in black and white would be acceptable to film goers. In my opinion - I must be a philistine - the monochrome hugely detracted from what ever arty qualities it had. I feel cheated.

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Long Shot

It's rubbish!

(Edit) 29/01/2020

There's not really much of a storyline and the dialogue isn't funny although it would like you to think how smart the writers are. So no story to hold your attention, dripping with adolescent , low intelligence, unsophisticated humour, where can it go from there? The answer is nowhere. Charlize Theron be ashamed of your self for associating yourself with this really poor cinematic effort. It's rubbish!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
123456

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month