Film Reviews by KF

Welcome to KF's film reviews page. KF has written 59 reviews and rated 74 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fisherman's Friends

Ignore the mean spirited reviews

(Edit) 01/10/2019

This feel-good film was a delight to watch on a grey, wet, gloomy afternoon. Ok, it wasn't stunning, no manufactured drama and some of the dialogue was a bit hackneyed but it stayed true to itself in a refreshingly unpretentious manner and was all the better for being based on a true story. Not cinematically ambitious but very enjoyable.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Front Runner

Unappealing

(Edit) 29/09/2019

What an unpleasant and grubby little film this is. Perhaps times and attitudes have changed since the 1980's but to make such capital out of Gary Hart's regretted infidelity is just scraping a barrel. It led to America losing a likely President, hypocrites rule!

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Pet Sematary

Hope you like Stephen King

(Edit) 16/09/2019

Low budget (no special effects, thank God) but very effective little horror story. Great acting, especially by young Jeté Laurence, and competent directing. A Stephen King story so you know what to expect. I enjoyed it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Steel Country

What's to like?

(Edit) 28/08/2019

Unattractive, inarticulate lead, utterly banal dialogue, stodgy direction. What's to like? Not a lot! But some satisfaction perhaps in the ending

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Mule

Still got it

(Edit) 10/08/2019

Well, Clint may be into his 80's now but he's still got a charisma. The film however is very one dimensional and linear, mostly the one same repetitive theme throughout except for the scene with his ill wife which I thought was out of place and just padding to add some extra minutes to the film.

Three stars however just to see Clint Eastwood's unique screen presence.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Favourite

Luvvie nonsense

(Edit) 12/07/2019

Oh the luvvies love to dress up and ham it up in a period drama don't they. It's well shot, well acted but I thought Olivia Colman's role was undemanding and was played very one dimensionally, why all the accolades I wonder. Strange film really, no memorable moments, the lesbian scenes (yawn) were halfhearted, no action, gave the audience very little to take away.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mortal Engines

Entertaining

(Edit) 06/07/2019

London, a predator city on wheels. Who would have thought it! Utterly fantastical, extravagant CGI, fastmoving action filled plot. Not for the purists maybe but for the rest of us, good entertainment.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Bookshop

Marmite

(Edit) 02/07/2019

You'll probably either love it or hate this traditional 1950's style film. not the strongest script and the pace of the film is very one paced but I enjoyed the acting, the cinematography, the characterisations and the profanity free language.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Old Man and the Gun

Undemanding

(Edit) 15/06/2019

The film trundles along one directionally and soon becomes repetitive. The dialogue is amiable enough without ever being sharp or witty. Likely to have appeal for an older generation I think.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hunter Killer

Routine actioner

(Edit) 15/06/2019

There's not much wrong with this film. It's fast paced, well acted and watchable. it's just that submarine warfare, nuclear threats, cold war, macho heroics etc is all, well, a bit passé. It needed some twists and some imagination to raise it a level.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Occupation

Ridiculous

(Edit) 01/06/2019

Utterly ridiculous from start to finish, wholly unconvincing. It was more like a soap drama with an action scifi movie tacked on to it as an afterthought. The dialogue was hackneyed low quality pap and the situations were poorly judged. Australia can do much better than this.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Children Act

Opportunity lost

(Edit) 03/05/2019

I'm afraid my opinion of Emma Thompson is that of a self regarding, brainless, lippy luvvie but there's no doubting her acting ability. She's very good. As far as the film is concerned, however, what started of as a promising exploration of moral dilemmas quickly submerged into an emotional quagmire, leaving me feel disappointed. It could have been so much better.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Bohemian Rhapsody

Briliant performance by Rami Malek

(Edit) 03/05/2019

A special talent which was, predictably , destined to end in tragedy. Freddy Mercury's journey from outwardly heterosexual, to bisexual to overtly homosexual was hard viewing at times but his unique persona was played brilliantly by Rami Malek. I was a young man when Queen were at their height and I was not a fan then but if Queen came around today I might be this time! Great film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Leave No Trace

Soporific

(Edit) 03/05/2019

Really, a film about next to nothing played by unengaging characters. The dramatic moments, such as they were, spluttered and fizzled out.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mile 22

Dismal

(Edit) 03/05/2019

Dismal script, dismal direction, dismal Mark Wahlberg performance who seemed to be bored with the whole thing. I hope he's not following the same path as Bruce Willis and Nicholas Cage, acting by numbers to supplement his pension.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
1234

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month