Film Reviews by KF

Welcome to KF's film reviews page. KF has written 68 reviews and rated 86 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Chamber

They don't make 'em like this any more!

(Edit) 08/02/2020

A refreshing change. No pandering to mindless teenagers, no tiresome special effects, an actual story being told, no romcom nonsense, proper acting, not a drug in sight and no American street language to decipher. This is what films were like twenty years ago! Compelling and engaging

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Bait

What a swizz

(Edit) 03/02/2020

I'd really like the brainless luvvies behind this film would explain to me why they thought filming in black and white would be acceptable to film goers. In my opinion - I must be a philistine - the monochrome hugely detracted from what ever arty qualities it had. I feel cheated.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Long Shot

It's rubbish!

(Edit) 29/01/2020

There's not really much of a storyline and the dialogue isn't funny although it would like you to think how smart the writers are. So no story to hold your attention, dripping with adolescent , low intelligence, unsophisticated humour, where can it go from there? The answer is nowhere. Charlize Theron be ashamed of your self for associating yourself with this really poor cinematic effort. It's rubbish!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Man with the Iron Heart

A mixed bag

(Edit) 27/01/2020

Bit of a mixed bag really. Some authentic looking scenes and some explicit action but it lacked fluency and momentum was repeatedly lost when the film reverted to scenes of little direct relevance. You got the message though, Poland under German occupancy was a frightening place to be for non aryans and for anyone supporting the resistance.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dragged Across Concrete

Keeps losing momentum

(Edit) 09/12/2019

A strange film I thought. Some good action scenes, an adequate plot and good direction, except that the film kept drifting off into nothing scenes and as a result it kept losing its momentum. Still, eminently watchable on the whole.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Gloria Bell

Nothing here to recommend

(Edit) 04/12/2019

I just don't get the point of films like this. How do they get commissioned? The story line is pedestrian, lacking drama, interest or surprise. The witless dialogue must have been written by a computer. Perhaps it has an appeal for undemanding women but the men had best go down the pub instead.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Eaten by Lions

Substandard

(Edit) 15/11/2019

Just not funny, interesting, engaging, dramatic. What's the point? Hard to see why this film would ever have been commissioned for production.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

John Wick 3: Parabellum

Over generous body count!

(Edit) 15/11/2019

Unashamedly focused on the action and there's a lot, I mean a lot, of action. So, if action films with no plot and no dialogue worth listening to are your thing you'll possibly enjoy this effort even if Keanu Reeves insists on sporting the most irritating hair style on cinema.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Us

Effective thriller

(Edit) 24/10/2019

Not a special effect in sight, not needed, effective enough without them. Well put together but perhaps the story could have done with a few nuances as it was in danger of becoming repetitive. The film deserved a better ending too. No cinematic glory here but entertaining all the same.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fisherman's Friends

Ignore the mean spirited reviews

(Edit) 01/10/2019

This feel-good film was a delight to watch on a grey, wet, gloomy afternoon. Ok, it wasn't stunning, no manufactured drama and some of the dialogue was a bit hackneyed but it stayed true to itself in a refreshingly unpretentious manner and was all the better for being based on a true story. Not cinematically ambitious but very enjoyable.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Front Runner

Unappealing

(Edit) 29/09/2019

What an unpleasant and grubby little film this is. Perhaps times and attitudes have changed since the 1980's but to make such capital out of Gary Hart's regretted infidelity is just scraping a barrel. It led to America losing a likely President, hypocrites rule!

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Pet Sematary

Hope you like Stephen King

(Edit) 16/09/2019

Low budget (no special effects, thank God) but very effective little horror story. Great acting, especially by young Jeté Laurence, and competent directing. A Stephen King story so you know what to expect. I enjoyed it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Steel Country

What's to like?

(Edit) 28/08/2019

Unattractive, inarticulate lead, utterly banal dialogue, stodgy direction. What's to like? Not a lot! But some satisfaction perhaps in the ending

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Mule

Still got it

(Edit) 10/08/2019

Well, Clint may be into his 80's now but he's still got a charisma. The film however is very one dimensional and linear, mostly the one same repetitive theme throughout except for the scene with his ill wife which I thought was out of place and just padding to add some extra minutes to the film.

Three stars however just to see Clint Eastwood's unique screen presence.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Favourite

Luvvie nonsense

(Edit) 12/07/2019

Oh the luvvies love to dress up and ham it up in a period drama don't they. It's well shot, well acted but I thought Olivia Colman's role was undemanding and was played very one dimensionally, why all the accolades I wonder. Strange film really, no memorable moments, the lesbian scenes (yawn) were halfhearted, no action, gave the audience very little to take away.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12345

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month