Film Reviews by OP

Welcome to OP's film reviews page. OP has written 68 reviews and rated 69 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Colette

entertaining

(Edit) 08/10/2019

Light weight historical drama but very entertaining with great cast portraying highly charismatic characters

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Green Book

really worth watching

(Edit) 08/10/2019

It beats me that anyone could not enjoy the film. Based on a real story, historically informative, excellent characters, great story, and really well filmed. Will definitely watch again

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Juliet, Naked

very enjoyable

(Edit) 30/08/2019

Like the other reviewers I really enjoyed this adaptation of Nick Hornby's book. Superbly cast with gentle humour, Nick Hornby style. Great film to chill out to

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Madame

fantastic clever funny film

(Edit) 03/07/2019

I really loved this film.  stunningly shot, great cast and very well acted. It is very humorous (in a black way) clever and witty and the ending is not what might be expected or even wanted, but its absolutely a great way to finish. Can't recommend this film enough!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Seagull

Only if you like Chekhov

(Edit) 03/07/2019

This is basically a film about a bunch of rich Russian people with huge flaws who, despite this, are presented with some sympathy and affection . Even the worst character appears to have a 'soft' moment at the end of the film, suggesting there may be more to her. While it is beautifully shot and  individual performances are superb, the finished product is a wee bit uninspiring. Adapting the play, which is such a subtle affair, to the big screen is very ambitious- because some of the nuances are inevitably lost. Also my advice is if you don't like Chekhov, this film isn't for you.  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Cold War

well filmed but implausible

(Edit) 20/05/2019

lovely filmed romantic plot, but unbelievably convoluted and wholly unbelievable- especially the second half and the ending

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Quiet Place

good idea but disappointing

(Edit) 20/05/2019

May be this film worked better on the big screen. I'm afraid it reminded me too much of Tremors and Kevin Bacon to be taken seriously.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Leave No Trace

wonderful film

(Edit) 09/05/2019

What's there not to like about this film? Its very gentle and thought promoting, brilliantly acted and such a change from the routine cinema we get most of the time

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

First Reformed

not up to expectations

(Edit) 09/05/2019

Despite the great acting and acclaimed reviews, this film did not live up to expectations and I found the plot line rather too incredulous. Like a previous reviewer I found it difficult to watch and was happy when it finished

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Lucky

delightful film

(Edit) 01/05/2019

Whether or not you are a fan, as I am, of HDS this film is an absolutely wonderful portrayal of older age. All the characters are captivating and the leisurely pace of the film is brilliant.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mission: Impossible: Fallout

to be expected

(Edit) 01/05/2019

This is a fast action watchable film, made to the same formulaic structure, and containing the ridiculous feats, that we expect from the Mission Impossible franchise. To that extent its highly entertaining (and really a load of tosh)

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

In the Fade

harrowingly plausible

(Edit) 08/04/2019

Diane Kruger's performance is amazing, and the story is compelling right from the start, although the courtroom drama is rather truncated and less plausible. The conclusion of the film is particularly harrowing. In essence the story is wholly plausible, although the first half is more credible than the latter half of the film.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Let the Sunshine In

terrible

(Edit) 18/03/2019

I agree with all the other reviewers, who have rubbished this film, that this is truly dismal, and one which completely wastes JBs talents. It also has the most misleading title of any film I have ever seen- it is such a miserable thing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Book Club

quite enjoyable

(Edit) 18/03/2019

Excellent cast but rather let down by the script. But apart from that I quite enjoyed it and found it humorous in parts and quite entertaining. I think its worth watching (if mainly for the cast) but don't expect too much!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Normal

sensitive issue handled well

(Edit) 01/03/2019

Before watching this film I thought , given the topic, that it would be rather hard going and heavy. However, I was totally wrong. Its well shot with a strong cast and the acting is brilliant. Its great mixture of sadness, dilemma and humour, and I think it has, for such an emotionally difficult issue, been handled very sensitively.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12345

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month