Film Reviews by OP

Welcome to OP's film reviews page. OP has written 75 reviews and rated 79 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fisherman's Friends

feel good film

(Edit) 16/04/2020

This film lifted my spirits so its worth 5 stars for that!- it's feel good and quirky and, as  another reviewer noted, it may be rather formulaic and predictable,  but its none the less enjoyable!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Late Night

quite watchable

(Edit) 16/04/2020

Although quite watchable not really that enjoyable. The majority of the characters were totally unsympathetic and it was rather predictable and formulaic. There's some very good actors in it and worth watching for that.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Midsommar

a bit tired

(Edit) 09/04/2020

This film is so dated - Just another version on the Wicker Man, and doubtlessly misrepresenting and upsetting those with a genuine interest in paganism. All that sexist rubbish in it was positively boring and I'm not sure why I even gave it one star!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Good Liar

suspenseful

(Edit) 09/04/2020

Really great acting as you might expect and poignant topic which I thought was handled really well. I realise that other reviewers have said the plot is unbelievable (and the film could have stood up really well without the war connection), but when you look at real life romance fraud out there, its right on the money.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sometimes Always Never

! liked it

(Edit) 07/01/2020

I don't know why the other reviewers have taken against this film. I really liked it. Its gentle and captivating, and could have been written for Bill Nighy. I found it sad and funny and well acted.  A little off-beat, but that's what really makes it.

6 out of 7 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Frantz

captivating film

(Edit) 07/01/2020

Wonderful story with lots of twists and turns and very French! I loved the shifting from monotone to colour and courageousness of the the lead female. All the characters were superb and it is so well acted. Highly recommended!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Mule

well worth watching

(Edit) 06/11/2019

Clint Eastwood in a fantastic actor, and a brilliant director.  This is a lovely film, full of gentle dark humour, very well cast, wonderfully acted and of course brilliantly directed 

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Colette

entertaining

(Edit) 08/10/2019

Light weight historical drama but very entertaining with great cast portraying highly charismatic characters

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Green Book

really worth watching

(Edit) 08/10/2019

It beats me that anyone could not enjoy the film. Based on a real story, historically informative, excellent characters, great story, and really well filmed. Will definitely watch again

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Juliet, Naked

very enjoyable

(Edit) 30/08/2019

Like the other reviewers I really enjoyed this adaptation of Nick Hornby's book. Superbly cast with gentle humour, Nick Hornby style. Great film to chill out to

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Madame

fantastic clever funny film

(Edit) 03/07/2019

I really loved this film.  stunningly shot, great cast and very well acted. It is very humorous (in a black way) clever and witty and the ending is not what might be expected or even wanted, but its absolutely a great way to finish. Can't recommend this film enough!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Seagull

Only if you like Chekhov

(Edit) 03/07/2019

This is basically a film about a bunch of rich Russian people with huge flaws who, despite this, are presented with some sympathy and affection . Even the worst character appears to have a 'soft' moment at the end of the film, suggesting there may be more to her. While it is beautifully shot and  individual performances are superb, the finished product is a wee bit uninspiring. Adapting the play, which is such a subtle affair, to the big screen is very ambitious- because some of the nuances are inevitably lost. Also my advice is if you don't like Chekhov, this film isn't for you.  

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Cold War

well filmed but implausible

(Edit) 20/05/2019

lovely filmed romantic plot, but unbelievably convoluted and wholly unbelievable- especially the second half and the ending

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Quiet Place

good idea but disappointing

(Edit) 20/05/2019

May be this film worked better on the big screen. I'm afraid it reminded me too much of Tremors and Kevin Bacon to be taken seriously.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Leave No Trace

wonderful film

(Edit) 09/05/2019

What's there not to like about this film? Its very gentle and thought promoting, brilliantly acted and such a change from the routine cinema we get most of the time

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12345

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month