Film Reviews by Harry

Welcome to Harry's film reviews page. Harry has written 23 reviews and rated 33 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

That Day We Sang

An unusually touching story with twists

(Edit) 22/09/2015

At first we wondered how the story was going to be developed, and unfamiliar with the camera tricks and angles, as well as the quality of the acting/singing. But we soon warmed to the story, and the manner in which it is told, and settled down for the journey. Some twists took us by surprise, but the film has a satisfying ending.

We knew Michael Ball, having seen him live at a BBC studio presenting one of his shows, but not the female lead. She was very good, both singing voice and acting - very believable. And as a couple of 70+ year olds, the era the story covers was very familiar to us.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Before I Go to Sleep

Gripping with very engaging plot

(Edit) 06/07/2015

This movie captivated my wife and I from the start. It made us aware of the difficulties amnesia can bring. The plot twists and identity switches kept us guessing, with some red herrings thrown in. Satisfying ending, and yet shocking to find out at last who was the real villain. Wonder how much the hotel scenes cost ( a real hotel was used) considering all the damage done during a desparate struggle for her life?

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mr. Popper's Penguins

Charming and funny

(Edit) 09/06/2015

A little slow getting started, but one the penguins arrive the action is fast and extremely comical. Carey exploits his gurning talents to the full, and some surprisingly good and sensible insights.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Punchline

Too fast and too course

(Edit) 21/05/2015

Its a pity Tom Hanks got into this movie - it doesn't sit well with his roles in Forest Gump or Castaway, which all the family could enjoy.

From the start it was fast-talking (as US movies and TV series often are) and we could not keep up with the lingo.

Added to that the language started to get course, though that may accurately reflect the world of American comedy at the level the film was depicting.

We were not enjoying it at all and abandoned it as unsuitable.

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Love Me or Leave Me

Funny and moving family flick

(Edit) 21/05/2015

This portrays Doris in a role demanding lots of action, skill and femininity rolled into one.

Full of action from the start as we see her strutting her stuff as a cowgirl, then move to a more demure and ladylike person.

The love interests kept us guessing throughout and the soundtrack did justice to the songs and the singer.

A good family film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Day to Remember

First class period depiction

(Edit) 08/10/2014

Having grown up in the 50s this was a trip down memory lane for me.

The characters were varied and fully beleivable. The juxtaposition of the two couples who eventually (we are led to believe) changed partners rang true to what I expected.

These "No Passport" day trips to France were still going in 1965, when I married, honeymooned in Folkestone and took my new wife to Boulogne. We even brought back a postcard of a little French girl with blonde curly hair, not unlike one of the characters in this film! So you can see why my wife and I enjoyed revisiting France.

P S Jim Carver was also the screen name of a policeman character in "The Bill" much later on.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Chaplin

Fully beleivable and gripping account

(Edit) 08/10/2014

We feel this film did justice to the both the life and times of Charlie. It was quite long but to really portray his early life and how it moulded his character and life choices it had to be. The choice of actors was very well done. We felt pity for Charlie being run out of the USA on flimsy grounds, but (in the context) we understood the reasoning of officialdom. How nice though to see the sweet wife Charlie found in Oona. Chaplins legacy will live on.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Looking for Eric

Boring and too much profanity

(Edit) 08/10/2014

Like KH we had heard this was an interesting study in human nature. We were put off by the bad language from the start, and didn't see much reason for persisting in hope of improvement. Even for 15 year olds I would not have given it that rating.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
12