Film Reviews by AL

Welcome to AL's film reviews page. AL has written 31 reviews and rated 121 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Welcome to the Jungle

Surprisingly good

(Edit) 05/09/2019

I'm a big fan of Cannibal Holocaust and Cannibal Ferrox and I wasn't expecting too much from this film at all, especially after finding Eli Roths Green Inferno massively underwhelming, well I was quite pleasantly surprised!

No where near as menacing and oppressive as Ferrox or Holocaust but a pretty good movie all the same. Some nicely done FX and quite a good build up. Not a great amount of action but still ok. If you like Cannibal stuff, well worth a viewing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Arctic

Cold survival

(Edit) 06/09/2019

I really liked this film. I liked the openness of the story; no back story or flashbacks to explain what went before and plenty of occurrences that could be taken several ways, love it! Makes a refreshing change from the formulatic rubbish that gets made recently.

Very minimal dialogue that just adds to the atmosphere and some epic acting.

Well worth a watch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mile 22

Action all the way

(Edit) 30/08/2019

Bored of pretentious or serious action films which seem to have very little action in them? If so this could be for you.

Loads of action, car chases, gun fights and fisticuffs!! Add to that a good bit of needless swearing and some gore, awesome!!

Mike Wahlberg is great and Iko Uwais (that fella from the movie The Raid) is awesome and has some great fight scenes.

Interesting from start to finish with very little needless over emotional/sentimental rubbish they usually shoe horn in.

Great stuff!!!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Happy Death Day 2U

Stupid, but fun for a one time viewing

(Edit) 26/08/2019

Stupid, no horror, no gore, a story you have seen before in the original, wow sounds awesome doesn't it!!

Well actually it's pretty entertaining, nothing awesome, but worthy of a one time viewing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Joe

Not the best film you will ever see

(Edit) 26/08/2019

Bit of an odd film, not a load of stuff happens in this at all but it is interesting. I kept watching it thinking it would get better, you know a bit more action going on, but it just doesn't.

Really well acted by everyone but just a bit slow throughout.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Professor

Funny, uplifting and a jolly good film.

(Edit) 22/08/2019

Despite the theme of this film we thoroughly enjoyed this. Depp is just great in fact there is not a bad performance from anyone.

Funny, enchanting, sad and brilliant.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Church

The Church review

(Edit) 19/08/2019

A film I watched when I was younger purely based on Dario Argento having something to do with it, he didn't direct it he was a producer and was involved in the writing of it and I can remember being disappointed.

Well turns out the film was better than I remembered, nothing special but not bad.

Fairly basic script but well shot and acted, stars a 14 year old Asia Argento and a bloke from Casualty! Some pretty decent FX too.

Overall not bad, not amazing but not awful either

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Shin Godzilla

All talk, little action

(Edit) Updated 15/08/2019

I used to watch the original Godzilla films years ago and enjoyed them for their slight cheesyness and big rubber monsters fighting each other.

This is a welcome return to the original look Godzilla, let's not mention the 1998 Hollywood anorexic version, but not much happens.

Not wanting to give any spoilers far too much talking, no where near enough monster action!!

When Godzilla is at full force he looks absolutely awesome but making it through all the talking was a bit of a slog with little payoff.

Not as good as I was hoping.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Farm

Yawnfest

(Edit) 11/08/2019

I love some low budget, badly acted films but certainly not this.

Just awful with not one redeeming that I can think of, I left it going and watched a bit of TV then went back to see if it had improved, it hadn't.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Cop Car

Surprisingly good low budget thriller

(Edit) 14/08/2019

I had never heard of this movie but thought I'd give it a go purely on account of Kevin Bacon being in it.

From the start it was just an intriguing enjoyable film. The 2 main characters are children and to be honest I quite often hate kids in films but these 2 just seem very natural and it's good just watching them.

Kevin Bacon is great though out.

Certainly worth a watch, a very enjoyable evenings viewing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Us

A great original watch

(Edit) 14/08/2019

I had no expectations of this film, I'm not one to compare directors bodies of work or judge a film based purely on a previous body of work.

Us is a great film, well acted, original (yes some parts can be compared to other films but show me a film that can't), and an all round good watch.

Tense at times, with a bit of gore and mayhem but quite mild by today's standards, thought provoking and thoroughly enjoyable.

Watch it for what it is and in a you will enjoy it too.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Classroom 6

Nothing new

(Edit) 07/08/2019

Absolutely nothing new to add to the found footage genre. Creepy setting, small number of people, hand held footage, lame backstory, people coming to investigate, the usual ramison happenings, just nothing new and nothing of interest.

Ok acting but just not effective in being creepy or scary in the slightest.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hatchet 4: Victor Crowley

Good old fashioned slasher fun

(Edit) 28/07/2019

Just like something from back in days when slasher films were awesome. No complicated trying to be clever script with some ridiculous twist or poignant politically correct message just good old fashioned fun!!

Movie starts out great and gorey then it's the mandatory 20 minutes of not very exciting story line, then turn up the gore, keep it going, the end!!

And as you would expect it's cheesy, stupid and funny too. Great splatter entertainment, the only thing different with this slasher compared to ones from the 80s or 90s is it's missing boobs ??

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Attack of the Adult Babies

Good British horror comedy

(Edit) 25/07/2019

For those of your who don't know this is directed by the guy who plays Paddy, the vet in Emmerdale, Dominic Brunt. He is a huge horror fan and has directed and even starred in quite a few horror films now.

As for what the film is like; low budget, mad gory fun. The acting isn't bad, the FX are damn good apart from the occasional dodgy CGI here and there but it is all enjoyable, weird, gross fun from start to finish.

Oh and it also stars Charlie Chuck! Donkey!!!!!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Guilty

Amazing performance

(Edit) 24/07/2019

What a great film, gripping from the start!

It amazes me how well this film is done considering the entire film is shot in 2 rooms with about 6 cast members and yet it seems like you have seen everything that you have actually only heard as part of a phone conversation, brilliant stuff.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
123

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month