Film Reviews by BY

Welcome to BY's film reviews page. BY has written 11 reviews and rated 18 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Honeymoon

ok

(Edit) 13/07/2016

as with the previous review, I agree, it started out quite good but went down quickly. so, the wife disappeared into the woods, yes, obviously the aliens got her, but it wasn't too clear. she became pregnant, and there was one awful scene where he pulled the alien baby out of her, (we all had to check this was a 15 rating - we'd have given it 18), and the ending wasn't exactly great. ok. for the first half, it's ok, 2nd half confusing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Across the River

Atmospheric

(Edit) 13/02/2016

At first, slow to start, but the tension and interest grows. When Marco is stranded in an old deserted village due to flooding, it is the start of a frightening series of hauntings for him. The desolution of the place appears to haunt him and he sinks into despair. Little dialogue, but very cleverly done to induce fear. Recommended.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Borderlands

Completely boring.

(Edit) 31/01/2016

This actually sounded quite interesting but, the film was dull. We actually said 10 minutes into it, if it didn't improve we'd put it off. It was a cheaply made low budget film, with a hand held camera. The first part wasn't filmed properly. The storyline could have been improved if handled better. And it was soooo.... slow. Hardly any action.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Musical Journey: Austria: Viennese Vineyards, Steyr and Gmunden

Quite good.

(Edit) 12/08/2014

I've been to some of these places in Austria years ago, so rented this video with interest. the Photography, especially the night time shots were very good in this. Would have liked to have seen more of Austria filmed for this one, but all in all, it was a really interesting and unusual video.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Invaders: Series 1

Quite good

(Edit) 12/08/2014

Some really interesting storylines and aspects to this series. Good acting. Different. would recommend you see it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Led Zeppelin: Legendary Performances

Good viewing

(Edit) 16/12/2013

this was a very good concert. We actually got to see performances rather than some videos that are more documentary. Filmed o.k. good song selection, excellent performances from band members.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Anna Karenina

Good story

(Edit) 16/12/2013

this film had a good story and was in the main well acted. The problem with it though was the confusing part where it was half filmed in the theatre. Maybe this was art house and the directors vision, but it was half film half theatre and for us didn't really work for that reason.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Lost Room: Series 1

Excellent

(Edit) 08/11/2013

Found this to be a very good thriller cum sci fi adventure. Very good acting, high paced, good plot line and original.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Red Violin

Mystery with a difference

(Edit) 25/02/2013

This film was an interesting mystery with a difference. It made quite compelling viewing. Starting with the tragic death of a violin maker's wife and child in childbirth, it tells the story of the violin and it's journey through different ages and the many hands it changes into, particularly the orphan boy who first learns to play it. The story is interestingly interwoven with modern times and Samuel L Jackson, who delves a little into its authenticity and then like the others before him, whose lives the violin has touched, he becomes obsessed with it, and he finally switches it for a substitute. This is a film with a compelling storyline, well-drawn characters and it certainly worth viewing.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

In the Valley of Elah

Interesting film

(Edit) 05/02/2013

We thought this was quite an interesting film. But you can't help feeling sorry for Hank (Tommy Lee Jones) who, on investigating his son's disappearance finds out the son was actually a cruel, abusive US soldier. Full of a few twists and the usual military cover-up. The cop is well portrayed who helps Hank out with the investigating. A little too long though, it might have been better if the film had been about 20 mins shorter but, still interesting to watch.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Edge of Darkness

good action thriller

(Edit) 05/02/2013

I saw this a few years ago and decided to watch it again. It is well acted with an interesting plot-line, plenty of twists and actions and does keep you on the edge of your seat.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.