Film Reviews by None

Welcome to None's film reviews page. None has written 28 reviews and rated 107 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Star Wars: Episode III: Revenge of the Sith

Better than 1 or 2 but....

(Edit) 22/03/2006

This series has never risen to the heights of the first three and although it is a false comparison in some respects, it is inevitable. This looks good but never engages in the way the first series did. Decent enough action film but just not on the same level.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sahara

Enjoyable

(Edit) 17/05/2006

I can't help but feel that Clive Cusslers books make better films than books but that is on a very limited experience. This covers a lot of ground and is occasionally confusing but the paace fot he action and the evident fun that everyone seeems to be having helps make up for any gaps.

Not exactly a classic but good fun.

4 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Butterfly Effect

Super - Should be top of your List

(Edit) 29/05/2005

When I saw that this films star was Ashton Kutcher I was a little worried because of the non-comedy nature that he is so famous for. But I found myself enjoying this film very much so. The plot, storyline, cast and length were prefect. And the extras are also worth watching.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy

Over the Top & Boring

(Edit) 09/06/2005

I theory this film could be good but its not for the simple reason that its not funny, it far to over the top and the jokes are boring and sad. It may suit others but for me it was a bit boring.

3 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Biohazardous

Oh dear...

(Edit) 20/04/2006

The story and to some extent the script of this film shows promise - with a bit of work, it could make a fair film although there is nothing really original in it.

However, the acting and production values are so appalling that the story is never a concern. This is such a poorly made film that you keep hoping that something better will appear soon - but it doesn't. I'm sure with more money and actors who can act, this team might produce a film that is passable - but this certainly isn't it. Avoid like the plague.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Kangaroo Jack: G'Day USA!

Great for the Kids

(Edit) 08/06/2005

This film is a great one for the kids in the summer holidays, but it is not aimed at the same people as the first film. Great for Kids, not anyone else.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

My Boss's Daughter

Seen Better

(Edit) 09/06/2005

Yet another film trying to gain american pie status but failing. Its average, its a bit funny & a little sexy. The cast are good and play there roles to the limit but its just not good enough, I suggest american pie or van wilder.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Churchill: The Hollywood Years

Truely Average

(Edit) 29/05/2005

This film had the making of a classic, a super cast and a fantastic idea but it never really got going. The storyline was to slow and then didn't go anywhere it needed to be longer and have a clear plot. It was funny and had a very easy to follow storyline so it is worthwhile renting for a empty night but it should not be at the top of any list.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Magic Roundabout

Excellent adaption

(Edit) 22/03/2006

I was a great fan of the original TV series and this manages to create an equally good but different alternative. The animation is superb but the characterisation works very well. Good on many levels (but probably not quite so tongue in cheek as the original)

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

National Treasure

Exciting stuff

(Edit) 09/01/2006

The pace never flags, the plot retains a level of obscurity that allows belief to be completely suspended and it just doesn't seem like 2 hours before the credits roll. Great simple fun and hugely enjoyable.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Descent

Scary and exciting

(Edit) 15/04/2006

A little slow to start although it was all about setting the scene for what was to follow. The action summary is spot on and the film involves you and then gets progressively more claustrophobic and scary.

Excellent film - if you enjoyed Dog Soldiers, you'll enjoy this one too.

5 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Alone in the Dark

Disappointing.

(Edit) 03/01/2006

This promised to be good but rather failed to deliver. Christian Slater and Stephen Dorff are usually to be relied upon but they couldn't lift this rather confused offering. The plot was dificult to follow, the characters failed to involve you and there was very little excitement or tension.

On the plus side, it looked quite good (in a dark way!) and was well paced.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

xXx 2: The Next Level

Better than expected

(Edit) 09/01/2006

Enjoyed Vin Diesel in the original and wasn't sure how this sequel would fare but it worked very well. Not too sure that Ice Cube has quite the same charisma but the effects were seriously good and the plot (complete with plenty of inconsistencies) certainly raced along.

Pretty good.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Nanny McPhee

Great for children

(Edit) 09/05/2006

Very well put together and well acted film that missed being great by a whisker. I think there is just a little too much sugar at the end and the writing could have been a little tighter but overall excellent entertainment.

Emma Thompson in particular was splendid in the title role although all the performances were of a high standard.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Kicking and Screaming

Not bad

(Edit) 21/04/2006

This is good in parts and although the football action is, as usual, unbelieveable, it is still the best part. Will Ferrell is er, well, hmm - Will Ferrell but I thought Mike Ditka played himself very well. Not exactly much laugh out loud stuff in it but enjoyable.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.