Film Reviews by NO

Welcome to NO's film reviews page. NO has written 51 reviews and rated 54 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

China Moon

Neo Film Noir

(Edit) 11/06/2021

Excellent story similar line as Double Indemnity but a clever end twist.Strong performance from Harris & Stowe is beautiful as ever.Good entertainment.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

To Be or Not to Be

Polish Caper

(Edit) 05/06/2021

I could not make my mind as to whether this was a comedy or a serious war film.There were moments of humour mixed up with seriousness,then sheer silliness.I also never knew that Jack Benny acted in films,I had only heard him on radio.Tragically this was Lombards last film.Robert S tack looked so young,I did not regognise him at first.Rather

dated but worth seeing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Last Stand at Saber River

Sellick Shootout

(Edit) 30/05/2021

E njoyable Western but Predictable.Little girl was good & Sellick usual self.Little romance & gunfight rather one sided.Passes an Evening away.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Conagher

Realistic Western

(Edit) 25/05/2021

Not a Classic but most enjoyable.This made for TV film shows the hardship of living on the frontier and portrays the rough life of cowboys.No Hollywood shootouts but

people getting badly hurt in gunfights.Predictable but pleasurable.Typical Shepherd in his usual role with his real life wife playing the love inte rest .

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Foreign Correspondent

Typical Hitch

(Edit) 19/05/2021

Slow to start but gathers pace. Many scenes were later copied & became cliches .I liked the plane crash-well done & although it was propaganda at the end,it was

throughly enjoyable.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Irishman

Hoffa Hit

(Edit) 06/05/2021

Quite good story but rather too long.I had never heard the phrase-Paint houses before only whacks & hits.Both Al & Robert are re ally getting past it to play younger versions

of their characte rs.Didnt explain what happened to the body-it has never been found.Interesting how it showed that in real life what became of the gangsters they nearly all

were murdered.W ellworth watching b ut it should have been cut shorter.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Hills Run Red

Spaghetti Imitation

(Edit) 24/04/2021

Tries to be a Leone Western complete with rousing music & chorus but fails miserably.Poor fist fights & over the top acting.Duryrea is hardly in it & Silva overplays.

Disappointing,I expected better.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Black Mass

Whitey Bulger

(Edit) 14/04/2021

Powerful picture but confusing start.Did not explain how he was head of the gang & who was killing who.I did not recognise Johnny Depp at first.True story which got better

later but not the best gangster film.Look on Wickapedia for his assasination.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Two Jakes

Chinatown S equel

(Edit) 23/03/2021

Confusing start-earthquakes,shooting,hysterical woman, confusing names but it gets better although noway as good as Chinatown.Didnt recognise Madeline Stowe as a floosy although she looks herself in the Courtroom scene.Jack & Harvey Keitel are both good as usual Not much

action & I didnt follow the Police attacking him-the previous history of Jack-does it relate to the earlier film because I cannot remember.

Disappointing in a way but worth seeing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Brute Force

Painful Prison

(Edit) 10/03/2021

Violent but excellent prison drama.Hume Cronyn as the sadistic warden is at his best and Lancaster is his usual brilliant self as is Bickford.Good idea to show the women who put them there and the photography works well in B&W.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Big Clock

Taut film noir

(Edit) 01/03/2021

Slow start with confusing slick dialogue but gets better when the mistress comes on the scene.Very effective high contrast photography as the pace increases with the megalomaniac tyrant Laughton at his best.Enjoyable.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Beyond a Reasonable Doubt

Langs Film Noir

(Edit) 19/02/2021

A contrived story with good twists which I rather enjoyed.Rate it as 3i/2.Dana Andrews acts well as does Joan Fontaine.Good direction.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The American Friend

Highsmith Thriller

(Edit) 04/02/2021

I did not know it was from the novel Ripleys Game & was confused at start but gradually got intrigued.Hopper was excellent & the photography

was very film noir.Ending was strange but I enjoyed watching.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Big Steal

Road Chase

(Edit) 25/01/2021

Why did they colour it?As a film noir it should have stayed B&W.No scenery so colour does doesnt add anything.THis is basically a road film,no real plot,simple story but that said I enjoyed it mainly due to the interplay banter between Mitchum & Greer.Mitchum had just come out of Jail but the Mexicans kept offering him marijuana! Noway as good as their previous liason (Out of the past) but worth watching.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Seven Days in May

Tense Drama.

(Edit) 25/01/2021

No action but a good story which seems appropriate today.Held together by good performances by the 3 main actors.Lancaster & Douglas are always worth watching as is March.Ava still beautiful but only a small part.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
1234