Film Reviews by CS

Welcome to CS's film reviews page. CS has written 199 reviews and rated 531 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

28 Weeks Later

Rather limp, dull and boring!

(Edit) 13/02/2020

Apart from attempting to blatantly cash in on the success of the far superior '28 Days later', it's hard to understand why this film was ever made in my mind! The original '28 Days Later' by Danny Boyle, was a masterpiece in how to create a classic horror movie on a tight budget, with the brilliant Cillian Murphy and a fab British All Star Cast, Boyle created a classic modern day masterpiece! However this new follow on is so cliched, annoying, pathetically limp and so badly directed that it just becomes a farce, more of a comedy than a horror! With the usually good Robert Carlyle stepping into the shoes formerly occupied by Cillian Murphy and Director Juan C Fresnadillo (who?) taking over from Boyle, this offers nothing new, the actors appear bored and a bit hammy, the script is dire and even the usually powerful Idris Elba & Jeremy Renner, cannot salvage anything of worth from this production! Set in London, I'm not quite sure why they felt the need to bring in the American Army, rather than the British Army, apart from attempting quite feebly to possibly appeal to an American audience? What usually sets Danny Boyle's movies apart and gives them strength, is that he tends not to pander to the USA market and their egos, but instead gives us gritty true to life or at least believable, dramas, with a sense of empathy. The plot in this film is predictable, cliched, rather annoying and all in quite irritating! 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Angel Has Fallen

Just milking the franchise for more blatant American Egotism!

(Edit) 03/02/2020

The issue I have with films like this, is the blatant American Egotism, the false belief that they are 'The Greatest Nation on Earth' and 'Leaders  of the Free World' (sick)! So of course when a terrorist group want to strike at the Heart of Democracy, where else to go, but America of course and who to target but the American President, who in reality is just one of many world leaders! In this case it's simply more of the same, with this time for some strange reason, Morgan Freeman playing the part of the President, when previously it was Aaron Eckhart. What is closer to reality however, is the idea that certain Business interests are manipulating Military Contracts for their own gain and that people can actually cause war for profit, which of course we already know they do! The storyline is not new or original, it's been covered so many times before and so much better as well. This is an ok action movie, which is a bit slow in parts and very slow to take off, but builds towards the end. But it reminded me of so many other much better movies. This is really just another film in the series and personally I have always found the Idea that Americans liken The Whitehouse to Mount Olympus, mythical Home of The Gods, quite arrogant and farcical, but hey that's America for you!

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dora and the Lost City of Gold

A good if average family film, great for the Kids!

(Edit) 07/01/2020

Not quite what I was expecting, this is more or less a kids version of Raiders of the Lost Ark etc, with a bit of all those other classic explorer movies thrown in for good measure. Lighthearted and good humoured, this has nothing new or different to offer the genre, but it is an enjoyable and fun family film, great for kids and young adults.  Dora of course being taken from the animated series, 'Dora the Explorer', most of the cast appear to be South American and I didn't recognise any of the faces. This for me came across as a made for TV Movie, in a similar vein to all those Nickleodian or Disney movies aimed at children and young adults. I think the title says it all really, nothing new, nothing special, just a god fun family movie for a lazy Sunday afternoon!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Spider-Man: Far from Home

Awful, probably the worst Spiderman film made to date!

(Edit) 24/12/2019

This has got to be probably the worse Spiderman Film ever made, but in reality it's not a Spiderman film at all, just another in the Avenger series with Nick Fury! The storyline is really silly, full of holes and has very little continuity. Moving on from the end of the last Avengers movie, Endgame, this simply throws at us a preposterous and pathetic theory of what happened that does not make any sense at all. Then gives us what in essence is yet another re-hash of other movies. It's quite clear that Marvel appear to be concentrating so much on merchandising, that they've forgotten how to make decent films! They need to stop throwing lots of characters from different time lines and worlds together and go back to basics again, concentrate on one superhero and the time to give us a decent story, with some new and original ideas, instead of just mashing it all up and being lazy! All the PC boxes are noticeably and blatantly happily ticked, Muslim Girl, Black, Indian-Middle Eastern, East Asian, Jewish, Fat Cheery Guy, etc, ensuring no-one complaints that the film wasn't inclusive and allowing it to be shown in various world territories! And that's another thing, many film makers today seem to be so bent upon not upsetting certain markets, such as the Middle East or China, that any gritty or controversial elements are taken out or subdued, and this completely destroys any sense of gravitas that the film may have had. For me this film was really boring to watch, unoriginal, badly scripted, badly directed, the camera was all over the place, way too much CGI and I'm not sure there was much acting in it either!

2 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The War of the Worlds

Poor attempt at a classic, panders too much to Feminist Propaganda!

(Edit) 24/12/2019

This was originally shown on the BBC in three instalments. The first instalment came across as quite interesting, setting the scene and introducing the characters to us. With some very interesting and imaginative imagery and special effects. Very loosely based upon the novel by H.G.Wells, this is set in a kind of dystopian Victorian period, but unlike the original novel, this takes the woman 'Beth' as the lead and sidelines the male roles to simply supporting parts. In fact it dampens the male roles down so much,  that as the story develops, it comes across as simply yet another blatant attempt at PC'ness and promoting a Feminist viewpoint! There are some really annoying flash forwards which don't work and simply create a very disjointed and confusing time line to it all. The ending is pretty naff, with not much of an ending at all, or should I say one of those annoying endings that sets itself up for a sequel! When I first watched this i thought it as quite good and looked really interesting, but then as it developed it just got boring and silly and the Feminist nonsense just got in the way of what should have been a really good story. Not even the acting of Carlyle was enough to lift this. If you really want to see this story told as it should be, watch the original 1960's version, which is still by far the best adaptation for film of this classic tale!

8 out of 8 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Men in Black: International

Give it a miss - too much feminist and pc propaganda clogging up the plot!

(Edit) 27/11/2019

I thought the original first three films with Will Smith and Tommy Lee Jones were brilliant and it takes a lot to follow on from such a great trilogy! Seeing that Chris Hemsworth was in this, and his partner was now a Black Woman, I guessed instantly that his acting would be dull and that they would play up to the incessant and extremely annoying PC feminist propaganda that seems to be all so prevalent at the moment in cinema! True to form, I was not disappointed! Hemsworth literally sleepwalks through the film and acts so dumb, just like he did in the awful Ghostbusters reboot too. Tessa Thompson looks like the spitting image of Michael Jackson after he had all the facial surgery, I was so distracted by that fact, that I found it very difficult to see her as a person, that and the fact that the Black Feminist propaganda is so prevalent, that it takes over from everything else in the film! Also included are lots of not so subtle sexual put down references, like her gun is bigger than his, she's a better fighter than he is, she's just so amazing and he isn't (sarcasm intended)! The storyline, plot, acting, direction, not so special effects, are all over the place. This is a film that thinks it's funny but isn't, with constant feminist putdowns, obvious black casting, this film also feels as though it was made more for the Middle Eastern and East Asian markets, than for Europe or America and as a result treads very carefully around certain topics, whilst setting much of the film in North Africa! There are also lots of very obvious mistakes or things that don't make sense, such as the viewing platform at the top of the Eiffel Tower being the size of a concert hall, I think not! I think personally that the people making these films today have got so lost and wrapped up in PC'ness and the subject of race and gender, that they forget that what people are a race too and there are just as many men as women living here on the planet equality is just that, it's for everyone not just a select few!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Aladdin

A good generally tame family movie for the kids!

(Edit) 24/10/2019

Having watched this film twice now, just to make sure, I'm still not quite sure what to make of it! First time around I hated it, thought the songs were awful, that it was way over the top on both special effects and PC'ness, full of Feminist propaganda and that it really dragged on. Having watched it a second time, I warmed to it and now have a bit of a love hate relationship with the film!

Nothing new or original with the plot, script or storyline. Given that the original story, taken from the classic Arabian Nights, is actually very dark and that in Arabia if you stole food, you would have had your hand chopped off or be put to death, being Disney they make light of these little issues, unlike the original 40's to 60's films, which would have portrayed a time and place like this in all it's grim reality. It's quite obvious to see that the film is made to appeal to a wide variety of markets around the world, including the Middle East and China, so any real life historical references are conveniently left out. I remember all the old Chinese and Arabian adventures from my childhood being quite violent and bloody, being a more accurate reflection of cultural values at the time!

Some of the songs are quite upbeat, funky and energetic, but others are downright awful. Why all the male songs, chiefly sung by either Genie or Aladdin (Will Smith or Mena Massed) are uptempo catchy numbers, whilst the female songs, mainly sung by the Princes (Naomi Watts) are all awful warbling screechy power ballads ranting on about female empowerment and self belief, is beyond comprehension. I personally am not a fan of those awful power ballad operatic numbers, of which Frozen was full of them, droning on about feminist agendas, I prefer the classic sing-a-long poppy numbers that Disney used to do back in the 60's, in films like Mary Poppins and Bedknobs & Broomsticks! I could not help wonder if these female empowerment songs in this film, clearly slagging off male power, were directly aimed at the Muslim Community and current issue within those communities, which in itself is not a bad thing!

The costumes and scenery are great, but some of the CGI does get a little blurry and not so impressive or a bit OTT at times, such as when Prince Ali make his grand entrance to the City! But the Jewellery, which should be one of the main features in the film, all looks very cheap and tacky, like cheap costume jewellery, rather than the real thing. The acting is quite good and both leads give strong performances, as does the cheeky little monkey Jafar, but I feel that Mena Massad as Aladdin (Allah-Din), gives the strongest performance, simply because all Naomi does when she sings is warble incessantly! All in a very good family movie, some great highs and lows, not overfly funny, just a good live action film that I can see now being adapted for the stage!

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

John Wick 3: Parabellum

Awful, really badly made, Jackie Chan fight sequences and a silly over the top ending!

(Edit) 15/10/2019

The first two films were brilliant and I really enjoyed watching them, but I've read some very negative reviews of this third film in the series, as a fan of Keanu thought I'd give it a shot! Sadly there is no actual plot or real storyline of any depth in this film, the script is really basic and dire and they resort to using irrelevant and inappropriate swearing to prop up the lack of script! There is no actual plot, storyline or explanation as to why, but the entire film is literally fight sequences and people trying to bump him off. The script appears to think it's being deep and meaningful, when it's not, it's just very shallow, cheap and lazy! What makes a good action movie is knowing where and when not to use the action, sadly this film is all action, with continual fight scenes throughout and not a moment to pause or take a breath. The fight scenes are very badly choreographed and constructed, hammy, predictable and way too long and drawn out. The bad guys literally stand there waiting to be punched and why the womans dogs keep biting on mens crutches, when this simply would not happen to a woman is highly inappropriate, lots of inverse sexism throughout! This comes across more as a Jackie Chan comedy film and would have suited Jackie far more than it does Keanu. This reminded me of all the other films of this genre such as Underworld, Resident Evil, or a Liam Neeson film, where the plot is secondary to the action and fighting. However the film does appear to have a penchant for promoting gratuitous and senseless violence and comes across as more of a computer game than anything else! Which leads me on to the rather annoying and silly pc pandering to feminism which has become so apparent in so many recent films. In the past the woman would have simply been strong and good at kicking ass, but nowadays almost every action woman has to promote a feminist agenda and put down the man, for no apparent reason and it's getting really yawn some! I can see the woman in the movie, becoming the new female John Wick, just to appeal to feminists. And of course we also have the nowadays obligatory set up at the end for the next instalment in the series. If you like watching films which are nothing more than extended fight sequences from a computer game, then this is for you and I did get the impression that this film is aimed at the teenage market more than the adult market! However if you like well crafted, thoughtful action thrillers, then this is one to give a miss!

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Avengers: Endgame

Why bother!

(Edit) 15/10/2019

This film was much better than I thought it was going to be and better I thought than the last one! At almost three hours long, i thought it owed drag, but up until the last 20 minutes, it was actually quite good to watch, sadly the last 20 minutes and the final fight scene are just silly and really kill it off. One big mistake Marvel have made is turning the male character of Captain marvel female. Given that the original Captain Marvel was male and that this new female character is blatantly playing to feminist propaganda, she has virtually every superpower going and then some, so why did they even bother with the other characters when she could have done it all herself! There is far too much political correctness going on many films today and Marvel sadly have got hold of the wrong end of the stick when it comes to promoting so called Black and Feminist propaganda, because they have actually ended up giving us in many forms, what is known as inverse racism or inverse sexism instead! It just makes a complete mockery of the whole plot. And of course we have to have the obligatory set up for the next in the series, which is really yawn some!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hellboy

Nowhere close to the originals, but ok for a Saturday night in!

(Edit) 26/09/2019

After reading other reviews I didn't have high hopes for this film, and upon watching it I wasn't disappointed! The big mistake they have made with this film is to try and bring  an X-Men feel to it all and it simply doesn't work! The make up and special effects are very poor and stuck in the 1980's, how they have redesigned Hellboy himself is very poor and as soon as you see him, you just think, err no, that doesn't work or look right at all! Perhaps part of the issue is that the original two films by Del Torro, were so well thought out and executed, that it was just too difficult to match them anyway! But for me I get like I was watching an old 80's B Movie, with a low budget and a very Doctor Who feel to it all, I also thought it reminded me of many Stephen King films, because the witch in it really is right out of something else. I can't quite put my finger on it, but it was like a mash up of loads of other films, that in themselves were mash up's, like Vin Diesels 'The Last Witch Hunter' or ' Warlock' and so on! In all it just had a very dated and unoriginal feel to it and the acting was pretty poor too, as was the script, storyline and direction. An ok film, but it did drag on a bit and had nowhere near the kind of love and attention of the originals!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

G.I. Joe: Retaliation

Difficult to watch if you have a hearing loss!

(Edit) 31/07/2013

The first thing that you need to know is that there are no Subtitles or other languages available on this rental format at all! The only language is spoken English, so if you need Subtitles for hearing loss, as I do, you will struggle to watch this film.

As a result I'm giving it a big thumbs down, as it is unforgivable that being a new release, there are no Subtitles at all, especially when the version you can buy n the shops does have subtitles! So why are they not on the rental version?!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Alex Cross

Difficult to watch for those with hearing loss!

(Edit) 31/07/2013

The first thing that you need to know is that there are no Subtitles or other languages available on this rental format at all! The only language is spoken English or German, so if you need Subtitles for hearing loss, as I do, you will struggle to watch this film.

As a result I'm giving it a big thumbs down, as it is unforgivable that being a new release, there are no Subtitles at all!!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Get Out

A Classic Example of the Inverse Racism that appears to be sweeping America at the moment!

(Edit) 20/09/2019

To start off with, this has a very strong 1970’s ‘Stepford Wives’ feel to it, but that soon changes into something much darker. However far from being as original as the film tries to make out, the actual theme has been done numerous times before, predominantly in the 60’s and 70’s in cinema, but in fiction, harks right back to the turn of the 19th century!

This film is not about turning black people into sex slaves, which some reviews appear to falsely suggest, not wanting to give away the plot, the theme actually explores something much more sinister and has a very strong sense of ‘The Bodysnatchers’ to it.

Contrary to what some of the reviews suggest, this film for me does not explore the issue of racism, but rather suggests a form of inverse racism, whereby black people feel they are superior to the white man! This is made very evident by the numerous put downs of white people throughout the film and the suggestion that everyone wants to be black, because black is superior! Even making a comment about how Jesse Owens at the Berlin Olympics in 1939 showed up Hitler by winning the Olympics, thus suggesting that Black Americans are better, conveniently forgetting to mention that most countries apart from America, actually boycotted these games!

I am unclear as to how a blind person can become a successful art dealer when he cannot see the paintings or photos and there is one scene where the blind person even successfully bids for a body, when they are bidding in silence using sign language, so there are a few glaringly obvious mistakes such as this in the film, which again suggests the makers do not have such a deep grasp and understanding of such issues

This could have actually been quite a good film, if it hadn’t chosen to so blatantly play off the Black vs White agenda, which seems to have become quite prevalent of late, particularly from America, in such inverse racist films as ‘Black Panther’! Sadly for me, as a person of mixed ethnic heritage, it simply comes across as yet another Black American propaganda movie, promoting the false ideal of one skin colour being better than another, it doesn’t have anywhere near the kind of depth and complexity that it seems to feel it has. And I was left feeling quite uncomfortable, asking myself whatever happened to the concept of equality and respect for all, because this new wave of films seem to promote a sense of superiority for the other side, like many recent feminist movies, rather than the honest concept of true equality and a level playing field for everyone! 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Pyramid

Pretty Basic, Predictable and quite boring!

(Edit) 07/09/2019

I had never heard of this film before, so decided to watch it out of curiosity, my expectations were not high and sure enough this film does not disappoint on this front! Coming across as one of those awful films where someone is carrying around a camera, so you see it through the lens of the cameraman, like Cloverfiled and Blair Witch, this film delivers nothing new or interesting and really is quite predictable right from the start! It comes across as very cheaply made, with a very thin cast, all filmed mostly inside a studio. It reminded me of the low budget student films where a load of students at Theatre University receive a grant of a thousand pounds to make a film as part of their degree, so very low budget indeed! The acting is very hammy and mundane, the script dire, the plot wafer thin and there are so many holes in the plot. Not sure why I watched it until the end, I said to myself I do hope the ending is not really predictable, as I could literally work out within the first five minutes what was going to happen all the way through, and sure enough, the ending was just as predictable as I had expected! I worked our pretty quickly who and what the monster was and this reminded me far too much of Alien vs Predator and The Mummy. All in an ok film for students to watch in the evening with some beers and pizzas, but not a blockbuster by any means!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Cold Pursuit

Not a patch on the original!

(Edit) 07/09/2019

Having seen the original Norwegian version from 2014 called 'In Order of Disappearance', starring Stellen Skarsgard, which is absolutely brilliant in every way. This comes across as nothing more than a slow paced, pale imitation and I'm not quite sure why they even bothered to remake it when the original is so good? The role suits Liam Neeson very well, and the storyline is very good, but unusually for a Neeson film, this is quite slow, I was expecting a hyper pumped up version of the original and whilst the original is slow paced, it is so well done that doesn't really matter, because the original is such a great strong movie. But this was just boring and so slow to the point that a snail could have out run it! If you want to see this film, I strongly recommend you watch the original instead, which is brilliant and far superior to this hollywood remake!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
1234567891014

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month