Film Reviews by tezza

Welcome to tezza's film reviews page. tezza has written 8 reviews and rated 5 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Souvenir

true-seeming, but

(Edit) 14/03/2020

not very interesting or involving - great central performances, but just like you don't want novels about writers you don't want films about film-makers. Tom Burke fascinatingly horrible though.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Two for the Road

cars and scenery

(Edit) 16/07/2019

beautiful technicolor irritating couple's relationship over 10 years or so, nice old cars, some comedy, Finney particularly irritating

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Burning

fascinating mystery thriller

(Edit) 11/06/2019

beautifully shot wonderfully acted, starts as a meditation on class and opportunity and relationships then becomes a sinister thriller halfway through

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Western

beautiful film, don't understand the title

(Edit) 06/06/2019

A slow-moving lyrical film about incomprehension and human understanding. A lonely, rather lost German builder falls in love with a remote Bulgarian village. There's plenty of plot along the way, but it never turns out how you'd expect. Highly intelligent, Chekhovian even.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Man Who Wasn't There

terrific existential noir

(Edit) 07/03/2018

Terrific existential noir, with the Coen Brothers usual teasing ambiguity. A tribute to the great films of the '40s, but more than that, a strange psychological portrait. Billy Bob Thornton is wonderful as The Man Who Wasn't There. The back and white cinematography really adds atmosphere to a story that definitely isn't black and white.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Breathless

timeless classic

(Edit) 23/01/2018

Well '60s classic, one of Godard's very best, Jean Seberg and Jean-Paul Belmondp brilliant, and Paris and all those emptier boulevards and wonderful old cars.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Breathless

timeless classic

(Edit) 23/01/2018

Well '60s classic, one of Godard's very best, Jean Seberg and Jean-Paul Belmondp brilliant, and Paris and all those emptier boulevards and wonderful old cars.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Une Femme Mariee

intereesting, but

(Edit) 08/11/2017

this isn't the best pf Godard's great run of films in the '60s, though it has its points, especially in the quirky interludes. We see too much of the love triangle who are rather unattractive in a very French way - less verve and plot than usual, but a must see for fans.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.