Film Reviews by AB

Welcome to AB's film reviews page. AB has written 29 reviews and rated 269 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Predestination

Time to give up on this

(Edit) 01/03/2021

I normally like time-travel movies, but this one is incomprehensible during and even at the end of the film. The first 30 minutes of the film is just a conversation in a bar between the two main characters. I actually had to check that I had been sent the right DVD. My wife was as equally baffled as I was. It's a shame because Ethan Hawke is a talented actor.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Last Full Measure

Powerful and emotional film

(Edit) 17/01/2021

I agree very much with AA's review, except I give it 4 stars. The film has some real heavyweight acting talent in it and it shows. The true story has some similarities to Hacksaw Ridge, and it is just as good as that film. The last part is very emotional and my wife and I had tears in our eyes. Highly recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Back Roads

Dismal

(Edit) 13/11/2020

This is such a dismal, miserable film that we stopped watching after about 30 minutes, and we rarely do that. The characters are all unlikeable, selfish and self-destructive. Horrible.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Rainy Day in New York

Witty and upbeat

(Edit) 11/11/2020

This is a light-hearted, witty film, just the thing for dismal winter nights. Sure, it is dialogue heavy but mostly it is sparkling stuff. We laughed aloud at some of the typical Woody Allen gags. There are also amusing elements of farce in the mix. Good fun.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Bombshell

The misuse of power

(Edit) 10/07/2020

This is the true story of an ingrained culture of sexual harassment and abuse at Fox News. The chief abuser is the head of the organisation Roger Ailes, played with ruthless misogyny by John Lithgow. He uses threats, fear and promises of advancement to get his way. Three of the many women harassed by Ailes are played brilliantly by Charlize Theron, Nicole Kidman and Margot Robbie.

It takes one brave woman to take on Ailes, then many other women begin to come forward. This film is a powerful depiction of corporate silence about routine sexual harassment, superbly acted. Strongly recommended.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

In the Line of Duty

Frenetic action, poor story

(Edit) 26/05/2020

The action is frenetic, much of it filmed on a hand-held camera. I felt a bit seasick eventually. Poor Aaron Eckhart, playing the cop, must have run a marathon by the end of the movie. The problem is that there are so many glaring plot-holes and inconsistencies that by the end I just had to shake my head and laugh in disbelief. Would a cop really put a young woman in harm's way by allowing her to live-film him while he fights a dangerous killer?

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Le Mans '66

Thrills and Spills in the Ford vs Ferrari battle

(Edit) 22/04/2020

This is an amazing story, very well told. Henry Ford II, after being insulted by Enzo Ferrari, is determined to do whatever it takes to beat Ferrari at the 1966 Le Mans race. The two men tasked to do this are the wealthy sports car designer Carroll Shelby (Matt Damon) and the eccentric but brilliant Englishman Ken Miles (Christian Bale). The two lead actors are outstanding. Even if you are not into motor racing, the racing scenes are very exciting. A fascinating true story of triumph and tragedy.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Black and Blue

Tense thriller

(Edit) 09/04/2020

The plot-line here is familiar with vicious drug gangs and corrupt cops. However, it is extremely well done. The tension ratchets up until it is impossible to see a way out. It is good to see Naomie Harris in a leading role - she plays an honourable, vulnerable yet determined cop. The supporting cast are good too. A worthy thriller.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Last Christmas

A Likeable Rom-Com

(Edit) 18/03/2020

This likeable romantic comedy is just the thing to cheer you up during these worrying times. Emilia Clarke plays Kate, a selfish, careless young woman who meets Tom, a kind, compassionate man. We discover the reason why she is so cynical later in the film. Tom is mysterious and appears to be hiding something. We thought we had that figured out, but we were wrong! Emma Thompson plays an East European matriarch, Kate's mother, to great effect. Light-hearted, easy to watch, we really enjoyed it.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ad Astra

The Immensity and Loneliness of Space

(Edit) 20/02/2020

I want to counterbalance some of the very negative reviews of this film. My wife and I really enjoyed it. If you want a fast moving, thrill-a-minute film, then this is not for you. If you might like a slow, contemplative film that examines the psychology of a loner astronaut, then we think you will also enjoy it. The film gives a powerful recreation of the immensity and loneliness of deep space, and the bravery and resilience of the men and women who venture there. Brad Pitt gives a strong performance as the lead actor. A film to make you think.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Informer

Polished thriller

(Edit) 16/01/2020
Spoiler Alert

This is a taut, propulsive thriller about an FBI informer who has infiltrated a Polish mafia gang in New York. He is forced to go back to prison to carry out orders of the mafia boss. What follows is the informer, played very well by Joel Kinnaman, desperately trying to stay alive. There is strong violence and betrayal. Rosamund Pike plays a conflicted FBI agent. It is all done extremely well. Recommended.

5 out of 6 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Late Night

Late Night Crisis

(Edit) 30/11/2019

Emma Thompson is excellent playing the jaded, tyrannical talk-show host Katherine Newbury. Her show has become formulaic because her petrified team of male writers fail to come up with anything that will grab the attention of viewers. What is needed is a breath of fresh air, and this arrives in the shape of Molly, an enthusiastic young woman with absolutely no experience of scriptwriting. Molly is only employed as a token woman in a room full of men. Molly gradually shows that she can come up with ways to update and rebrand the show, much against Katherine's instincts. Emma Thompson dominates the film and once again shows her star quality. We enjoyed it - it's got lots of humour and a few laugh-out-loud moments. Not a bad way to spend 97 minutes.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Capernaum

Why did the little boy sue his parents?

(Edit) 12/09/2019

Eleven year old Zain, who lives in Beirut, decides to sue his parents. Watch the film and you will found out why. It is a heart-rending tale of poverty, immigrants, and the daily struggle to survive. Zain shows compassion, courage and creativity when he finds himself looking after an adorable toddler, with no help whatsoever. A tough but rewarding watch. Subtitled.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

At Eternity's Gate

Inside the mind of Van Gogh

(Edit) 31/07/2019

If you are interested in art, and particularly in Vincent Van Gogh, then do watch this strange and mesmerising film about his life. Willem Dafoe is perfectly cast in the role of Vincent. The film takes you into the artist's mind - you feel his passion, his madness, his sadness. You see where he drew his inspiration. The film has a beautiful, dream-like quality.

As Van Gogh presciently remarked 'Someday people will see the value of my paintings beyond the cost of the paints'. He only sold one painting in his lifetime. He died aged 37 years.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Arctic

Tale of endurance with something missing

(Edit) 26/07/2019

So this film is another mostly exciting, epic tale of endurance in glacial conditions. Mads Mikkelsen acts his socks off for most of the film. But I feel a bit cheated by both the start and end of the film. The start because the plane has already crashed and we get no back story about who Overgard (the Mikkelsen character) is, what he is doing in the Arctic, and how come he is so proficient in survival techniques. And the end because the film ends abruptly without telling us what happened to the two survivors - did they in fact both survive? Still, I think it is worth a watch. Oh, and if ever your plane goes down in the Arctic, stay where you are and wait for rescue!!

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.
12