Film Reviews by CD

Welcome to CD's film reviews page. CD has written 18 reviews and rated 20 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Canterbury Tales

Excellent Acting in Modern take on Chaucer's tales

(Edit) 11/11/2019

Disc 1: Fantastic performances by James Nesbitt (in the Miller's Tale) and Julie Walters in the Wife of Bath. Plenty of wit and fun in both although the Miller's Tale seemed a long way from what I remembered of Chaucer's original tale.

Less keen on the Knight's Tale but mainly because of the dark rendition of the plot in a modern prison - I am sure that some will like it as a tragedy as it is blessed again by great acting .

I'm looking forward to disc 2!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Nocturnal Animals

Good Characterisation and Interesting Plot

(Edit) 11/11/2019

I really enjoyed this movie which kept me interested till the end. It has a very good combination of great acting, interesting characters and enough action and plot . It splices together two tales in one. You're left wondering what is fictional and what is real, but the ending seems just right. Thoroughly recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Brad's Status

Enjoyable film for the 50 somethings

(Edit) 31/10/2018

Good acting and characterisation - I really liked the film. The sort of situations every parent might go through when universities are being considered, told with humour and sensitivity

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Passengers

Special effects lift the film

(Edit) 09/05/2018

The film was much better than I expected from the film critics. Special effects are imaginative and there is humour, ok acting and enough of a story to keep viewers entertained all the way through.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wind River

Gritty drama in the Wyoming snow

(Edit) 23/04/2018

I was impressed by this film - the acting is good and there are some clever directing moments in particular in the stand off between the security guards and the police officers. The landscape is suitably bleak but beautiful.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Dark Song

Strange film - but worth a watch

(Edit) 23/04/2018

The interaction between the main character and the occultist is interesting and keeps the film moving, The director has the usual problem of how to progress an occult type film without bringing in standard horror fare. I was ok with how it resolved itself but if you are looking for a lot of scary moments then this is probably not for you, but if you like a slightly more offbeat slow and tense film, you may like it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Witch

Intense and unnerving

(Edit) 17/03/2018

Great acting from the whole cast and the tension builds well throughout the film - the location setting adds to the brooding atmosphere - in many ways a shocking film but thought provoking as well

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Silence

Thought provoking

(Edit) 17/03/2018

This is a tough film to watch but the Christian faith shown, the counterviews from the oppressors and the ethical dilemmas presented are very thought provoking - well worth a viewing

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Bigger Splash

Clever film with fantastic lead role acting

(Edit) 04/03/2018

Ralph Fiennes really carries the film with a tremendously charismatic performance. The other characters are rather low key but the film works. Not one I would like to watch with my children as some rather embarrassing love scenes and it is only rated 15. A film that makes you think though around joie de vivre versus staying safe and being square. The music is fun, especially for Stones fans!

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

We Are the Night

A great film with tender moments

(Edit) 26/02/2018

Thoroughly enjoyed this film which has some great vampirish horror and special effects but many surprisingly touching and poignant moments. Acting is excellent and the story races along - highly recommended

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Goldstone

Worth a watch but rather slow moving

(Edit) 21/02/2018

The film falls between different genres and is not really strong enough on plot, characters or action to be really memorable. It is also very slow moving, not helped by the difficulty in actually hearing what the cast is saying! Still, some good characterisation and the outback backdrop is interesting.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A United Kingdom

"Worthy" Film but slightly old style

(Edit) 21/02/2018

I know several people who loved this film. For me, it was a worthy but rather predictable film that was mainly of interest for the Botswana background rather than the characters. I really tried to like it and stick with it, but unfortunately it did not capture my whole interest - well worth a watch though if you like good acting and a positive story.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

47 Meters Down

Just good enough to keep the interest

(Edit) 21/02/2018

The film lacks a true spark, but it has enough thrills and spills to keep you watching. I like some of the determination and ingenuity from the girls - but you have to wonder why they ever wanted to go on the boat in the first place, let alone in a rusty shark cage!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The South

Very atmospheric but rather slow moving

(Edit) 09/02/2018

I agree with other reviewers that this is an enjoyable and beautifully shot film but for me it dragged a bit in the second half - it becomes rather claustrophobic around the limited character set but the relationships are subtly portrayed - well worth a look.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Blair Witch Project

Still Disturbing nearly 20 years on

(Edit) 21/01/2018

I rate this film very highly having watched it about three times over the last 15 years. The gradual disintegration of the group of 3 is really powerful and the performances by the actors are brilliant. A growing sense of menace is built up throughout the film, without any cheap gore or effects - thoroughly recommend for the discerning horror buff

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month