Film Reviews by CD

Welcome to CD's film reviews page. CD has written 159 reviews and rated 164 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ad Astra

Space Movie lacking Sufficient Action

(Edit) 01/01/2021

I am big fan of Brad Pitt and Tommy Lee Jones, but this film gives them little scope to shine. It really falls between being a space movie with limited special effects and one that tries to analyse a father-son relationship, when the characters are not really developed enough to give it credibility. There are some clever and shocking moments, but the action sags badly at times in spite of bringing in quality actors such as Donald Sutherland in a brief but welcome cameo role.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mr. Jones

Moving Film based on Courageous Journalist

(Edit) 01/01/2021

I was impressed by this film. 1930s Russia is an interesting backdrop and the acting is generally excellent. The part of the film in the Ukraine is quite shocking and memorable. The script-writer does a good job in linking up to real life events and the end is well done. There are also some interesting asides to George Orwell and Animal Farm. I'd certainly recommend to others.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Rocketman

Sustained energy and some great songs

(Edit) 23/11/2020

I am not an avid Elton fan, but I rate this film very highly. The acting is excellent and the hits keep coming, sensitively positioned within a storyline that cleverly covers Elton's early life and his performances. The ups and downs are well captured with some great choreography and dance routines. It is funny in parts but also shows the personal challenges and strains from early family life through to stardom.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Kursk: The Last Mission

A Moving Film with Good Performances

(Edit) 23/11/2020

This film does a good job in bringing out the personal side of the Kursk tragedy and the bond between the men and between their families waiting on the shore. The difficulty that the leaders in the hierarchy had in communicating what was happening and in accepting any help comes across well. The claustrophobic and perilous environment in the sub is well shot and the main actors are strong. The heroism of the Russian crew comes through strongly, and the film avoids a simplistic judgement on the tragedy and the attempts at rescue.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

47 Meters Down: Uncaged

Disappointing Shark Adventure

(Edit) 09/11/2020

The actors do their best with a limited plot, constrained script (mainly via diving mask and intercom) and context. The shark sequences seem repetitive but the Mayan underground caves add a little bit of drama. The teenage characters are not too one dimensional which is a plus and there is a refreshing lack of cliche around who falls prey to the sharks. I stayed to the end as there was enough here to keep watching, but not quite enough to be entertained.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Paths of Glory

Well worth its accolades

(Edit) 07/11/2020

A really superb film with great performances across the cast.  Don’t expect to see much battlefield action but the balance of the film is brilliant with just the right amount of morality and emotion told through the views of the different characters.  Powerful stuff and I can see why this film has received such high ratings since its release.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The County

Gentle Feel Good Film

(Edit) 05/11/2020

Interesting to see an Icelandic Farm and appreciate the pressures on people trying to make a living from the land. The film has a predictable direction but it is enjoyable and flows along well. The lead character (Inga) is strong but there is a lack of other strong characters across the film to make it really interesting as a drama. Well worth a watch though.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Invisible Man

Promising Plot and Terrific Acting from the Lead

(Edit) 05/11/2020

The performance of Elisabeth Moss mainly earns this film 4 stars from me. The context of an abused spouse trying to escape an unhappy marriage is not an unfamiliar one in the movies (e.g. see the excellent Julia Roberts' film "Sleeping with the Enemy"), but The Invisible Man adds another sci-fi/ horror direction. There are some scary bits and a lot of action, but ultimately I found the plot a bit unsatisfying and the film a little overlong. The conclusion however is worth hanging around for, and there are plenty of little tricks and turns to keep the viewer's attention throughout.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Wolf's Call

Gripping Action Sequences

(Edit) 05/11/2020

I found the action sequences at the start of the film particularly exciting. The tension within the film of the claustrophobic world of the submariners and the need for swift decision making is quite gripping to watch, and also the almost super-human listening and identification capabilities built up by the specialist sonar operator. As other reviewers have commented, it was a shame not to have the original french language, but this film is well worth watching all the same.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Devil

Very well made horror movie

(Edit) 05/11/2020

I have watched this film a couple of times over the past 5 years. The acting is good and the plot and script work well. It does not deteriorate into obvious horror territory but slowly builds tension gradually convincing the policemen that all is not as a normal homicide incident. The lift itself and the limited scope for any doubt that the murderer is one of the passengers makes the finale scarier. Overall a clever film. Highly recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Tall T

Great Western of the 1950s

(Edit) 23/08/2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this western, having watched it alongside "Ride the High Country", also starring Randolph Scott. I had not really been familiar with Randolph Scott until seeing these films, but rate him really highly having now seen his portrayals of mostly good natured, positive characters. In "The Tall T" the support characters are excellent - a group of believable desperadoes, and an increasingly gritty Maureen O'Sullivan - and it is impressive as to how quickly these are built up in an exciting film of only 74 mins. The screenplay and scenery are top order and there is a satisfying conclusion. I like the way that Randolph Scott gives the same instruction to Maureen O'Sullivan as he gives to Nancy Gates in the film Comanche Station - "just keep shooting".

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ride the High Country

Top end western from the 1960s

(Edit) 23/08/2020

This film thoroughly deserves its high ratings. Joel McCrea and Randolph Scott are both excellent in the lead roles and it's great to see James Drury, a star of the Virginian, in a main supporting role. The film is quite philosophical from the vantage point of the seasoned lawmen, but has plenty of action, moving at a steady pace across the 90 mins. The supporting cast in the miner's camp is very good and the finale is well structured although not sure why quite so many people broke cover to be shot!

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Comanche Station

Overlong but quality shines through

(Edit) 10/08/2020

I enjoyed this movie - the scenery is beautifully shot and the old style hero (Randolph Scott) is convincing. The supporting actors do well and the music score keeps things trotting along nicely. 

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Rio Bravo

Highly rated by the critics

(Edit) 10/08/2020

This is a very highly rated movie which I felt just about lived up to its rating.  Dean Martin  is excellent and the chemistry between John Wayne, Dean Martin and Ricky Nelson is intriguing.  There is a young and very beautiful Angie Dickinson who falls for Wayne instead of the younger stars! The plot is fairly predictable but Walter Brennan as Stumpy introduces the necessary comedy at times - the baddies are bad enough to deserve what they get but not so bad that they spoil the overall good feeling around the movie.  John Wayne shows his usual grit to great effect.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hendrix

Enjoyable dive into late 60s pop culture

(Edit) 09/06/2020

I enjoyed this film much more than I expected. It seems to receive little critical coverage, but the characters and acting are good and the music at times really excellent. It takes a bit to get used to actors trying to represent legends such as Hendrix and Cream, but here it works well and I found the way the managers and promoters were displayed in the film as an interesting extra angle. I came away with a real desire to listen to more Hendrix music across all eras of his bands, so a good result I think for the fim-makers and for the great man himself.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
1234567891011