Film Reviews by JT

Welcome to JT's film reviews page. JT has written 10 reviews and rated 255 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Private Property

Poor Casting

(Edit) 03/07/2019

Overall an enjoyable family drama but the casting was terrible.

How old were the sons meant to be. I picked up at one point teenage but they looked about 35.

Very odd behaviour between mother and sons, especially bathroom activity!!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Cherry Blossoms

Far fetched

(Edit) 11/01/2019

The film had great family dynamics with strong characters, but the story line was unbelievable

Started quite well with a terminal illness diagnosis but as the story progressed this illness become unconvincing

A character described as "unadventurous" trekking to Japan and exploring the city on his own was ridiculous

Having spent his life in very rural Bavaria it would have been impossible for this elderly gent to survive in the metropolis of Tokyo

Did enjoy the scenery and insight into Japanese life which I find fascinating and his friendship with the girl dancer was touching but again did not resonate with the earlier character

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Gook

Subtitles Needed

(Edit) 16/05/2018

I had seen good reviews of this film and its not the type we normally select.

Although it has potential story line without subtitles we had no idea what was being spoken!

Only watched about 20 minutes

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Human Flow

Compulsory viewing

(Edit) 26/04/2018

A beautiful filmed, compelling and disturbing film, which everyone should see. Puts your own life in perspective.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Spacewalker

Amazing

(Edit) 05/01/2018

Incredible film when we realised it was based on truth.

The acting and production were pretty grim, reminded us of Thunderbirds or old soap opera Crossroads!

But besides that the whole storyline was so amazing, and to discover it had actually happened just staggered us

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Manchester by the Sea

Dialogue

(Edit) 15/06/2017

Possibly a great worthy film but we struggled with the main character (Casey) who mumbled throughout. Subtitles would have been useful but did not work. Quite a shame.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Wave

Disaster?

(Edit) 13/02/2017

Certainly a great story line but the ending was very "Hollywood" and too nicely sewn up. Made a change to see this type of film in the World Cinema category though. Gave it a poor star rating for the ending alone

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dark Horse

Television documentary

(Edit) 20/10/2015

Was disappointed with the film, as I had been tempted with the trailer. Was not expecting a television-style documentary. The storyline had great potential but did not like the style of film at all.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

El Lobo

Poor Subtitles

(Edit) 27/05/2015

Great film which was marred by the sub-titles being positioned too low. Had to adjust TV set picture to a 'letter box' to make reading words possible.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Wall

Thought provoking and beautiful

(Edit) 21/05/2015

Contrary to the other reviewers we found The Wall to be engrossing.

Initially we thought another 'science fiction' story with admittedly beautiful surroundings but contemplating the film afterwards could see that the character's situation mirrored urban life and the confined nature we exist in

Feelings of being trapped and everyday struggles for survival consume many modern humans and not all have the benefit of canine company!

The film provoked many discussions between my partner and myself and has stayed in my mind for many days

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month