Film Reviews by midway

Welcome to midway's film reviews page. midway has written 8 reviews and rated 1466 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Kickboxer

Kickboxer

(Edit) 06/12/2006

where do i begin? a classic van damme masterclass and no mistake. a highly original plot where jean-claude must take revenge on the fighter who crippled his brother. to do this jean must learn the art of muay thai. but orthodox training will not do, for this he must have large coconuts dropped on him, having meat attached to his legs and getting chased by ravenous dogs and have his legs pulled apart by ropes. there are several true moments of genius in this epic film. firstly the subtle manner in which we find out why jean has a european accent and his brother, who looks like slater from saved by the bell, has an american accent. beautiful. secondly the sheer evil of the villain in this motion picture, tong po, makes the film such a winner. imagine if you will general zod from superman 2 with a ponytail and you will have a fair idea of the evil jean must tackle to avenge his pimp moustached, perm-mulleted brother. jean-claude gives one of his best perforamces ever in kickboxer and surely at least deserved an oscar nomination. in terms of performance it matches anything by day-lewis, pacino or de-niro.

but the greatest moment in this film and perhaps in the history of film is the scene in the bar where jean dances. he gets drunk and performs a classic, beautiful and life affirming groove. its all there-the boogle grind, the splits and the random hand claps. you would think you were watching an mc hammer video. i have many times tried to emulate his dancing techniques but have never come close.

so dont delay, add kickboxer to your collection today you wont regret it. if nothing else it will show how high up a gentleman can wear his trousers.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mercenary for Justice

It's Time To Fight Again!

(Edit) 02/04/2007

I watched this last night in bed and I thought it was ok but not his best effort. There is plenty of action in this with gun fights and martial arts action. The film is 1 hr 32 mins and is rated an 18. The storyline tried something in the beginning but in the end the film just turned out to be lets see how many action scenes we can fit into the films running time (in which Im not complaining about).

The story is:

When a deadly mission goes wrong and his partner and best friend are slaughtered infront of his eyes by Mercenaries, the CIA deny all knowledge of the incident, refusing to even pay compensation to the bereaved family.

Seeger is then forced back into action when the same band of Mercenaries kidnap his partner's family to ensure that he will cooperate with their evil plans. Seeger now only has four days to free a notorious crime lord, save his friends family and escape the CIA.

The special features on the disc are a making of documentary and a trailer for the film and thats it.

All in all its a good Seagal film but there is better films by him that are worth watching over this, but if u have seen them all or a Seagal die hard fan then this is essential viewing otherwise watch another.

Thank you for reading my review.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Belly of the Beast

Action which is funny at the same time

(Edit) 02/04/2007

When I first rented this film I wasn't expecting much, I usually rent Steven Seagal films just to laugh at Steven Seagal himself This was no exception, but I HAD to buy this film afterwoods.

There obviously hasn't been any attempt at coming up with an interesting story, its just an excuse to have massive gun fights and punch ups, which in my opinion is what Steven Seagal is best at anyway.

To me Steven Seagal is taking the micky out of himself in this film. It has all the stereotypical elements of his past films such as ridiculous odds of survival and exaggerated action scenes (what I find the most funny is when Steven Seagal dives through the wall of a train in slow motion on to a conveniently placed wooden pallet, constantly shooting for about 5 minutes without a single reload).

I think the fight scenes are great, but its not just Aikido he's using here which means more variety.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

All Dogs Go to Heaven

***brillent for all the family***

(Edit) 02/04/2007

I saw this as a kid and the memories have satyed with me, the story line remains breath takeing and retains high moral value. The songs are rememberal and have that join-along, toe-tapping quality. True the animation is not remarkable but its simplplicaty works in its favour. One for all the family!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Baby Boy

****Baby Boy****

(Edit) 02/04/2007

This is the third film in John Singleton's hood trilogy the other two being Boyz N Tha Hood and Poestic Justice and this one has to be the second best of the three cos Boyz N Tha Hood is a classic film.

This third film has a great cast also including Snoop Dogg Omar Gooding, Ving Rhames and Tyrese Gibson who is the lead. John Singleton wanted tupac for the lead in this movie before he died but then turned to Tyrese which was a good move as Tyrese is outstanding in this film as he gives an excellent performance and he is one of the highlights of this movie.

This film is a tough, honest and unflinching look at modern urban life and this film sees Tyrese as Jodi a 20 year old growing up in south central trying to live large but events which occur in his life which forces him to learn hard lessons about living, loving and surviving as a man in the hood.

Tyrese plays the part perfectly and this is a great film from John Singleton and if ur a fan of the other two in the trilogy this is a must for all fans of films that deal with this issue.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Boyz n the Hood

****Boys N The Hood****

(Edit) 02/04/2007

Hard to beleive that at only 23 a young john singleton can write and direct his first film and make it such a masterpiece.

The story is set around 3 black men in a violent hood were burglery, drug dealing and even murder happens on a daily basis.

The story is set mainly around one character Tre styles played by Cuba Gooding Jr who as a child is sent to live with his father by his mother to set him straight.

The story mainly plays out how tre's father convinces and helps Tre not to take the usual route that kids in the hood grow up and take the drug dealing, burglery and violence route but his father teaches him to grow up and be a respectable member of society and thehood paths lead to nothing but bad places.

With excellent casting, 5 star acting all around and such an in depth story that will keep you glued to the screen. This movie is at time funny, smart and very emotional, but is mainly very real to what message the film is trying to put across.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Night at the Museum

****Night At The Museum****

(Edit) 03/04/2007

Fan's of Ben Stiller won't be disappointed by this, his most recent outing. I watched this with my two children and found it a great experience. The story is basic: Stiller takes on a job as a night watchman in the local museum and stumbles across a plot to commit a crime whilst all the artifacts come to life past midnight. The comedy is slapstick, with Stiller's dead pan rhetoric steering the show and the plot holds few surprises. But this film's strength is that it doesn't take itself too seriously and entertained my family for an afternoon. Can't ask for much more, can you?

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Happy Feet

****Happy Feet****

(Edit) 03/04/2007

This is an animated film, based on teh day to day life of the penguin, focusing for much for the film on 'finding your song', as the song that expresses their soul. The main character can't sing but boy can he dance.

Main themes are falling in love and being true to yourself, with the back story of mankind's effect on the environment from over fishing.

The music is great - with vast montages / medlies / counterpoints and interplay of well known songs from all eras - which are truly a delight. The animation is amazing and there are also genuinely touching moments.

This may be more involved tahn some animated films and aimed as much at adults as to children - in fact adults will probably get more out of it than kids.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month